All Comments for Edward House

Reviews 22 of 22
Most enjoyable
Shirley van Schalkwyk, South Africa - 30 October 2014
We stayed in the Mahatma Ghandi room, it was well furnished and comfortable. The bathroom was lovely and to add to the comfort a double French door led out to a private veranda, wonderful. We requested dinner and must say it was the most delicious roast lamb we had had in ages, and the pudding a real decadent treat. The breakfast was delicious with a choice of different plunger coffees and an array of teas to choose from. Most enjoyable stay. Thanks so much.
Edward House
Simon Hepburn, South Africa - 26 June 2014
A great place to stay with excellent service and facilities.
Home away from home
Nicole , South Africa - 08 June 2014
My husband and I had such a lovely stay and wished we could have stayed for longer. The room was perfect and bathroom amazing with the beautiful bath tub. We also enjoyed the breakfast very much. We will definitely be back!
Great
Michael Prescott, United Kingdom - 02 March 2014
This was the second time we have stayed at Edward House and can highly recommend it. Lovely rooms, very helpful hosts, great breakfasts. Perfect for those looking for accommodation near Pretoria/Johannesburg.
A wonderful Valentine's stay
Natasha , South Africa - 17 February 2014
Edward House is beautiful. The garden is luscious, the location is exceedingly convenient and the rooms are tasteful but luxurious. I was inclined to just stay in our room, enjoying the claw foot tub. Jenny is the perfect hostess, and her manner of presenting breakfast (choosing from a choice of meals the day before) is not only thoughtful, but also practical. I feel like I have discovered a wonderful gem.
Excellent price/quality
Marlé Buysse, Belgium - 25 April 2013
I should give this a bad review ...Why?? Because this exquisite four bedroomed B&B offers excellent value and ....If I give this a good review ..I'll never be able to book there again because it will be full all the time. We only stayed for one day but it was very enjoyable. Keep it up.
Wonderful
Mpho Ndebele, South Africa - 12 February 2013
Had a wonderful time. The place is very well run with warm hosts. Will definitely use it again.
Gorgeous!
Erika Van Dijkhorst, South Africa - 01 October 2012
We had a lovely overnight stay at Edward House! Everything was in immaculate condition, the room lovely, bathroom spacious, and the breakfast superb! Would recommend this place to anyone. Real value for money.
Excellent
JANA JACOBS, South Africa - 15 February 2012
Excellent accommodation. Definitely 5 stars. Friendly reception and service par excellence. Will definitely use again and recommend to anyone.
Excellent Stay.
Martin White, South Africa - 25 February 2010
We stayed in the Rhodes Suite for 7 days on a family visit from the UK. I could not fault anything about the experience. The room is lovely, the location just about perfect and Jenny is a wonderful host. I can recommend Edward House as a base for visiting Pretoria.
Very enjoyable.
Anonymous, South Africa - 02 November 2009
Room was clean, tidy and well equipped. Service was outstanding. Thanks a lot!
Recommended
Gerald Boting, South Africa - 12 September 2009
More than comfortable and extremely friendly. well situated and ample space to relax. will be back
Wonderful stay
Teresa Legg, Botswana - 21 May 2009
Our two night stay was wonderful and we will stay there whenever we are in Pretoria. The Cecil Rhodes Room is spacious and comfortable with a super bath and shower, white fluffy towels and luxury bath salts. Jenny cooks a great 'full English' too. Luxury at an affordable price.
The Edward is Magnificent
innocent Matepo, South Africa - 30 March 2009
It was just a one night stay on our wedding anniversary and it was worth every cent and more. It was everything we hoped it would be and even exceeded our expectations. The rooms were smart and exquisite and the hostess very accommodating.Thanks Jenny..
Amazing!
Mbali Mabizela, South Africa - 18 February 2008
Edward House is my "weekend getaway/private world" of choice! I have never felt so welcomed in my life...
I had a great stay.
Didi Janse van Rensburg, South Africa - 22 January 2008
The hospitality was excellent and I felt right at home! Highly reccomended guest house.
Amazing,
Grant Mc Intosh, South Africa - 07 December 2007
Everything was out of this world, we'll be back again.
Very good
Karl Engemann, Germany - 06 December 2007
Great setting in a great area. Very recommendable. Being in Pretoria again I would book again.
Home from home.
Rodney Cooper, South Africa - 29 November 2007
Really enjoyed our stay.
Very romantic
Erik Diefenbach, Germany - 23 November 2007
We enjoyed our stay at Edwards House very much and even though we made a mistake in booking our stay we felt welcome and very well treated. The guesthouse is very romantic and situated in a very nice part of Pretoria. Next time we´ll be there in time :-), U+E
Enjoyed our stay
Anonymous, South Africa - 25 September 2007
Everything was just excellent. Thank you very much and I will definitely make use of your service again.
Great food
Tracey Walker, South Africa - 23 August 2007
It was a lovely place to stay. The hostess is kind and her food is great! I loved the view and the room was great. I am looking forward to returning there.


Edward House
Edward House is a peaceful private world, which combines Edwardian hospitality with modern convenience. Our decor is quiet, refined, and characterized by moulded cornices, polished wooden floors, brocades, laces, tapestries, roll top Edwardian baths and solid furniture. Yet amidst this old fashioned serenity we offer free internet access, air-conditioning, laptop safes and minibars in each room. The guesthouse, which stands in the leafy streets of Waterkloof, is a fine example of the Edwardian style of domestic architecture in South Africa. Edward House is a favourite destination for travelers on the world famous Blue Train as well as the romantic steam train, Rovos Rail.

In keeping with the whole Colonial African experience, Edward House is designed for a hot climate. Three of our bedrooms open onto the romantic covered veranda that overlooks the fairways of the Pretoria Country Club golf course. Our guesthouse celebrates the important role that the Edwardian era played in the creation of modern South Africa. Rooms in the guesthouse are dedicated to, and reflect the personalities of four famous South African Edwardians; Jan Smuts, Olive Schreiner, Mahatma Ghandi and Cecil John Rhodes. We are surrounded by most major embassy residences. The British, English, French, American, German, Spanish, Italian, Dutch, and Danish residences to name but a few are either in the same street or not more than a few blocks away.

Edward House is close to both Menlyn and Brooklyn shopping centres and a wide variety of top quality restaurants, beauty salons, gyms, universities and the Pretoria Country Club golf course. Major tourist attractions in the Gauteng area such as the Union Buildings, the Cradle of Mankind, Melrose House, Smuts House etc. are also very easily accessed. Whether you are a discerning tourist, diplomat, golfer or businessman, Edward House is ideal accommodation. Keen golfers or tourists on the way to the Kruger Park Game Reserve find the guesthouse ideally situated. The golf course could not be closer and it is easy to access most major tourist attractions. For the more academically minded, we are also close to both Pretoria and Unisa Universities.


/go/EdwardHouse/