All Comments for Magalies Wild Game Farm

Reviews 50 of 50
Yvette van der Marwe, South Africa - 06 July 2016
It was an amazing experience. From the moment we arrived until our departure nothing was too much for the staff Andre and happy and so friendly. We were taken in an amazing game drive by Andre and he showed us amazing animals abd so much information on so many things. Andre thank you for making this a wonderful stay. We will definitely be back.
Bronwyn Partridge, South Africa - 30 June 2016
I stayed at Lourie House in Magalies Wild Game Farm with my family.
Absolutely amazing, to be able to walk amongst nature (that is still wild) instead of being in your car is an experience everyone should try.
Apart from the most pristine bushveld, the accommodation is everything you could need for a weekend away. Andre is brilliant and so helpful.

If you have kids and want to get them outdoors, they will love it here, a little gem of paradise on our doorstep

Thanks for the amazing stay!!!
Leopard Bush Camp is awesome
Jan Jan, South Africa - 18 April 2016
This weekend was awesome. If you want a quiet breakaway then this is it. Warm and friendly welcome. The bush camp is comfortable and the outdoor shower is so awesome. The host André was superb and friendly. You can ask him for help and he will go out of his way to assist. Lots of nice photo opportunities on the marked hiking routes. The pool is awesome with a nice view. I will definitely return anytime for longer
Visit 8-10 April 2016
Susan Ebersohn, South Africa - 11 April 2016

Thank you to Andre, he went the extra mile. We appreciated the wood and the kindness. The Loerie Unit is a disappointment. Needs serious cleaning and upgrading.

Regards

Susan

Great Stay !
Lynne Grisdale, South Africa - 29 March 2016
Thanks to Andre for all his help. The weekend was fantastic ! I thought the lack of TV would be a problem but it was a blessing. Took daily hikes, swam , star gazed and spent quality time with the family. Even our little yorkie had a ball. Great great stay ! Basic but perfect ! One suggestion would be the shower pressure at Sunflower hut but other than that it was heaven ! 
Leopard Bush Camp is Awesome
Tracey Swart, South Africa - 14 March 2016
What a hidden gem this is - if you like an outdoor kitchen, outdoor shower, a great big fire pit and the sound of jackal at night this is the place to go. The beds are super comfy and the walks were great with a stunning viewpoint well worth the visit. Andre is a wonderful host and we couldn't have asked for more. Loved it!
Quiet Peaceful Pet friendly
Daleen van der Westhuizen, South Africa - 11 January 2016
We had such an amazing stay at Magalies Game Farm that we stayed an extra day. Our fur babies enjoyed every second of it. The accommodation is clean and comfortable and the sunflower huts are so stunning. Andre is such an awesome host and very insightful on the game drive. This is a must if you looking for a peaceful break away not too far from home with the dogs.
A lovely getaway
Lee Cahill, South Africa - 04 January 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Magalies Wild Game Farm, although we were only able to be there for a few days. Our host, Andre, was very welcoming, friendly and helpful, even assisting us when our old dog developed an abscess on his paw.

His knowledge of the natural environment brought it to life for us - and he even taught us fascinating techniques for tracking both large animals and insects.



We stayed in Sunflower Hut, which has a lovely rustic feel to it and particularly enjoyed the farm's pool, which boasts a spectacular view of the Magaliesberg range.



We'd definitely recommend this as a bush getaway that's close to Joburg, but which offers a complete break from city life.

Friendly, affordable and comfy stay
Godfrey de Meyer, South Africa - 21 December 2015
We stayed in the Loerie Bungalow -clean, comfy, spacious, with a great braai area. It even has a mini-garden for the furry ones! Andre was very accommodating and also took us on a sunset game drive. He was extremely knowledgeable and impressive. Highly recommended are the walks which are not that difficult. The game (buck, zebra , ostriches and more) are plenty and easy to spot. A great break away from the city.
What a relaxing experience!!
Marble Seraki, South Africa - 14 December 2015
What a great and wonderful relaxing experience we had. Facility well kept  and clean. André a very friendly ,humorous and welcoming guy even made our stay and game drive more pleasurent .Will definitely go back again.
Home from home
Elmien Kruger, South Africa - 14 December 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much. The cottage, swimming pool, game drive and walks were very enjoyable. My two dachies also gave it a paw's up. The facilities are clean and the management excellent. Thank you - we will be back next year.
Sonia Briel
Sonia Briel, South Africa - 09 November 2015
What a wonderful, relaxing experience!If you want your batteries recharged this is the place to go!
A bird lovers paradise.I can recommend it !
AWESOME
Gordon Symons, South Africa - 26 October 2015
Facility is very well kept. Staff friendly and passionate.
Wonderful, pet friendly, place :)
Tracey Mulder, South Africa - 28 September 2015
We stayed in Sunflower Hut and it had everything we could need! There were even bowls for our furkid (in case we forgot to bring for her). We spent most of the weekend walking around and saw Zebra, Kudu, Blesbok, Ostriches and more! Andre was very friendly and helpful and told us which routes to avoid, because we had a 6 month old puppy with us and it was her first trip to a game farm. We look forward to returning :) 
GREAT GETAWAY
Kim Austin, South Africa - 17 August 2015

What an amazing place!  Took my son and his friend for a weekend away just to relax before writing their prelims and it was exactly what they needed.  Our guide Andre, could not have been more accommodating, his knowledge of the stars is outstanding.  Will definitely be going back! 

WOW!
benita van aardt, South Africa - 11 August 2015
What a great place to visit with you pets! Best pet friendly accommodation ever! Andre, the manager at the Wild Farm is so accommodating and friendly! He took us on game drive and we watch the stars with a telescope and learnt to  much! Will visit Magalies Wild Game Farm again!
Good time
Riaan VanTonder, South Africa - 31 March 2015
We enjoyed our stay.  Lovely lodge, good morning walks and beautiful pool.
Awesome stay
Rinesh Ramjettan, South Africa - 23 March 2015
If you require a place of peace and tranquility - then u sure have come to the right place ! We had awesome stay and will definitely return -
Just ensure that you are well stocked with what ever you need as shops are far off!
Great stay at Magalies Wild Game Farm
Dion Glass, South Africa - 03 March 2015

My family and I had an awesome stay at the farm. Great facilities, peaceful, and just what the doctor ordered. Andre was a great host and an insightful game ranger. One of the few places that is pet friendly, so we took our dog with us (he had a great time!!). I would recommend Magalies Wild Game Farm to anyone wanting a good break.

Adino Nelson, South Africa - 09 February 2015
Absolutely tranquil! A genuine bush experience.Highly recommend to anyone wanting to escape the city.
Magalies Wild Farm
Caroline Phillips, South Africa - 02 February 2015
This was our second visit to Magalies Wild Farm. Again, a peaceful and relaxing stay with a nice balance of hospitality and privacy. Our 6 month-old son was very comfortable in Lourie Cottage. Many thanks for such a pleasant stay. We hope to visit again.
Great weekend
Charyn Reitz, South Africa - 24 November 2014
We had a great weekend at the farm, the kids loved their time there and we were able to relax. Thanks Des and hope to see you again soon.
Superb!
Matthew Bray, South Africa - 25 August 2014
Thanks Jesse and Tony for an awesome stay. Wish it could have been longer. Great place, great walks and pool area and we'll definitely try to come back!
A place of beauty and rest
Lukas Kruger, South Africa - 04 August 2014
My wife and I enjoyed our stay thoroughly. A truly peaceful place, we enjoyed the bushwalks, the game drives and the sheer peacefulness and quiet. A beautiful room and living area, with a nice fireplace with a convenient kitchen area. We hope to return and would recommend Magalies Wild Game Farm for anyone.
Magalies Magic
Julia van Schalkwyk, South Africa - 02 June 2014
We absolutely loved our stay. The accommodation is charming and well equipped. The dogs on the farm are well socialised and made friends with mine straight away so I had no worries. The secluded pool area was a great place to have a G&T and watch yet another beautiful bushveld sunset. The walks are good too. Well marked and not heavy going. It was such a privilege being able to walk through the bush and get up close to Kudu, Zebra, Rooihartebees and Blesbok.
Theresa stacey, South Africa - 24 March 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Magalies Wild Game Farm. The highlight was the wonderful walks around the Game Farm and viewing the game up close. The view and picnic sight was wonderful to sit and relax and watch the abundance of bird life. A relaxing weekend - it just went by too quickly.
Beautiful place
Alison Lailvaux, South Africa - 20 March 2014
It was the most peaceful place we have ever stayed. The complimentary game drives were a real treat. The cottage has everything you need and the game farm is really stunning. Our dog had a great time too. We will definitely be back!
Fantastic!
Candice Popplestone, South Africa - 16 December 2013
We had a lovely time! Amazing place and we will definitely be back soon!
Wonderful time
Margaret Dixon, South Africa - 09 December 2013
Had a wonderful time and would recommend everyone to go for a holiday. The welcome we received was wonderful - both Jesse and Tonio are great people - and have a really wonderful place to stay. cannot speak to highly of the time we spent with them. A real home from home - with the African Experience. Looking forward to a return visit.
Amazing weekend
Michelle Gerber, South Africa - 25 November 2013
My friends and I had an absolutely amazing weekend's stay at Magalies Wild Game Farm and enjoyed every moment. The cottage is stunning and equipped with everything you could possibly need. I would recommend Magalies Wild Game farm to anyone looking for a nice getaway. Thank you to Tony for being such a friendly and helpful host. Will definitely return.
Great weekend away!
Marcelle Warburg, South Africa - 21 October 2013
We had a really wonderful stay at Magalies Wild Game Farm. Our hosts, Tono and Jesse were very welcoming and we also loved our complimentary game drive on Saturday afternoon. The lodge we stayed in was comfortable and well appointed. There were quite a few light bulbs that needed to be replaced, which would have helped lighten the rooms up a bit. It was a great stay and we also really appreciated the late check-out time.
Nice
mark ternouth, South Africa - 24 September 2013
Very quiet and relaxing
Out of this world
William Matlhobole, South Africa - 16 September 2013
The lodge is out of this world. Not to mention our hosts (Jesse) and the husband. they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome.
Lekker getaway, great views and game viewing
Andries van Vuuren, South Africa - 05 August 2013
Thank you, we enjoyed our stay! The cottage is well equipped, very neat and clean (sure you'll fix the dripping tap) We thoroughly enjoyed the game drive and walks with magnificent views, especially from picnic area and wonderful pool. We also appreciated the privacy granted, whilst still having the security of being close to the farm house.
A nice hideaway
Henry Riley, South Africa - 22 July 2013
A nice secluded spot with no hordes of people. Basic comfortable accommodation. Tono, Jessie, and not forgetting granddad Morgan, are very nice friendly and helpful hosts. Nice walks in the bush and some stony mountain bike trails. Birding is good and should be excellent in the summer. Cheryl and Henry July 2013.
Didn't want to leave
Hendrik Neethling, South Africa - 15 July 2013
Easy to find, surprisingly luxurious and very friendly people. The animals are abundant and in great shape, and the hut is spacious and comfortable. Can't wait to go again!
It was lovely!
yateen natha, South Africa - 10 June 2013
Perfect just to unwind in the natural beauty.
5 Stars on privacy
Anita Bester, South Africa - 14 January 2013
I rate 5 stars for Privacy, 3 Stars for accommodation. I really like that there is not a lot of accommodation, this weekend we were the only couple there it felt like the Farm belonged to us, I really enjoyed the early morning bush walks with the breath taking scenery and the fact that the resident dog Paco joined us for the walk. The view from the swimming pool is also just wow! The owners Jesse & Tony are very friendly and welcoming. I go many places but I have really enjoyed this weekend a lot.
Excellent
Andre Van Greunen, South Africa - 07 January 2013
Paradise in Magalies. What an awesome time we had, relaxing and enjoying the nature, thank you to Jesse and Tono for their hospitality and the opportunity that they give the man from the city to see and experience the wild life. We will be back soon.
So relaxing
Mark Fensham, South Africa - 10 September 2012
Jesse and Tony received us so friendly and the staff was the best. This was a great time.
Magalies Wild Game Farm
PAUL BESTER, South Africa - 27 August 2012
Jesse and Tono are such lovely hosts. If you want to recharge your batteries this is the place to go. Thank you for the game drive, it was amazing. To sit and watch the sunset was unbelievable. Everything blends together at this place and it is very beautiful. Thanks again!
Wonderful
Pam Olivier, South Africa - 02 May 2012
A wonderful place to relax and unwind. Just what we needed, especially living in the fast lane. And so near home!
Great escape
Leonie van der Westhuizen, South Africa - 03 February 2012
I went for a weekend of quiet, and believe me, that's what I got. The owners invited me to join in the drives, and made sure I was fine, but otherwise I was left to my own devices. Couldn't ask for a better place to recharge.
Absolutely wonderful
mpho mmako, South Africa - 03 January 2012
What an absolutely wonderful stay. Perfect place to forget about the city and enjoy nature in all its glory. I would highly recommend it to friends and family. The accommodation has everything you possibly need. I am thoroughly impressed with everything. What a beautiful place and the free game drive is just the cherry on top.
Lovely
ANITA MEEK, South Africa - 13 December 2011
Many thanks for a lovely visit. We enjoyed the game drive as well as the beautiful people.
Perfect for a simple, intimate weekend away
Melody Chowles, South Africa - 13 December 2011
The unit had everything we needed, it was very cosy and private. The hosts were friendly, helpful and welcoming. The weekend turned out to be very cold and rainy and we were unprepared, but they supplied us with extra jackets which we thought was really kind. It's not the kind of place for a luxurious weekend away - rather the perfect spot to spend time with family with activities for the whole family. A really special spot!
Peaceful stay
steven orsmond, South Africa - 05 December 2011
Fantastic, peaceful weekend and very quiet place. Great breakaway from busy city life. Enjoyed it.
Great breakaway destination
juan watters, South Africa - 14 November 2011
The hosts, Jesse and Tono, were both great, very friendly. They left us to our own devices, we never saw them unless we looked for them. This was exactly what we wanted, a private weekend away. The game drive was also very exiting. The long walks in the bush were great. The room was luxurious and had everything you could think of. I am looking forward to our next visit.
Stunning weekend away
eric cotton, South Africa - 05 September 2011
If you require a peacefull weekend away with great company an ad-hoc game drives. Go and visit the megalies wild game farm.
Best
Ziva Taitz, South Africa - 15 August 2011
Best holiday place and best hosts. Thank you for the wonderful weekend. Looking forward to spend some more time at Magalies Wild Game Farm.


Magalies Wild Game Farm
Magaliesburg Wild Game Farm is situated in the old Magaliesburg Nature Reserve and bird life is abundant. Game includes kudu, blesbok, impala, hartebeest, zebra, ostriches, grey duikers, warthogs, as well as night prowlers such as porcupines, honey badgers, servile cats, jackals. Easy day drives to Maropeng, Pilansburg, Sun City, Rhino and Lion Park, Sterkfontein Cave, Harties, Rustenburg. There are many quaint shops and restaurants in Magaliesburg area. Magaliesburg is 20km from the farm. Activities on the farm include walking or hiking in a safe environment with a marked Forest Walk, Mountain Bike trail, secluded bush pool overlooking the magnificent Magaliesburg Mountains, a picturesque picnic area in the bush with amenities etc. You can bring your mountain bike but rather leave the motorcycles at home the animals are used to people close to them and we would like to keep it that way. The fully self-catering accommodation on the farm is in the form of: - Loerie Cottage is a luxury cottage that sleeps four to six people in two en-suite bedrooms and loft. - Sunflower Huts sleeps four in two wooden cabins with own kitchen and bathroom facilities in fenced area. - The Leopard Bush camp has two cabins and rooftop tent. Sleeps four to six people and is a real bush experience - no electricity, solar powered lights, gas stove and geyser. Note that the Bush Camp is in the bush and your luxury vehicle might not get there without having a tummy scratch. A Game Drive may be booked should the driver be available. The first crate of firewood is provided thereafter you can purchase more on the farm. There is a Jack Russell and Staffie on the farm and occasionally two more friendly staffies. On day of departure you may stay on the property until early evening if there is no booking for the following day.

/go/MagaliesWildGameFarmMagaliesburg/

Register



Send me your awesome newsletter?
Already have an account? Login here