Welcome to SafariNow. Get off your accommodation booking by paying with the voucher code before .

All Comments for FrancolinHof Guest House

Reviews 37 of 37
Heavenly
Géne - 18 March 2017
Its been wonderful to return to Francolinhof and still find the perfect Hosts in the perfect serene setting between mountain and sea. The breakfast was divine and the views from the breakfast table nothing short from spectacular. The mini date muffins with jam and yoghurt was a pleasant surprise. Thanks for having us! Well definitely return again and again.
Great Accomodation and Stay
Andrew - 15 February 2016
We stayed for one night on a weekend trip down the coast. From arrival we had a warm welcome, dinner was booked for us at one of the local restaurants upon consultation. The accommodation was top notch. Comfortable, clean and beautiful. Lots of little details. Breakfast was 5/5 and the dining area has great views and service.
Can’t say good enough things about this place. Just great!
Very nice guesthouse
Wolfgang Groetz, Germany - 29 October 2015
very comfortable room, Bellevue over Hermanus,
Warm hospitality, very good breakfast, 
Good
Ms Thango - 03 October 2014
I had a great stay. I enjoyed it very much. I would recommend it to others as well.
Never disappoints
Leo Langeveldt, South Africa - 12 August 2013
As always, a great stay at probably the best guest house in Hermanus.
Very nice
Anonymous, South Africa - 14 February 2011
Francolinhof is a very well run, beautiful guest house. I think it is located in one of the prettiest spots in Hermanus with great views of the mountain and the sea. It's close enough to the town without being too close, so it's always nice and quiet here. The breakfasts are amazing, so delicious, and the staff are really friendly and give excellent service. I would highly recommend Francolinhof.
High expectations well exceeded
Andre Coetzee, South Africa - 14 November 2008
What I look for in a guest house is a clean bathroom, a good night's sleep, and a square meal. Francolin excels at the basics. Add to this a few luxuries and wonderfully hospitable hosts Mary and Jean, in a truly magnificent setting, and you can't go wrong.
Visit Francolinhof
Mr Oosthuizen - 09 November 2008
What an experience. There was a storm in Hermanus, we received a call from the proprietor to enquire if we where ok. The breakfast menu was in English and German for the German guests.
I will definitely stay there again. Thanks 2 all.
Excellent
Rainer von Knethen, Germany - 13 May 2008
No complaint at all - we enjoyed an excellent stay
Highly recommend.
Leo Langeveldt, South Africa - 17 March 2008
I highly recommend a stay at the guest house if you're on vacation or just looking for a break from city life. The surrounds are stunning and serene and the staff are helpful and pleasant.
Excellent accommodation.
Charmian Clarke, United Kingdom - 07 February 2008
We were only able to stay one night but premises were in a lovely location.
Fantastic
David Walker, Germany - 04 December 2007
Wonderful, couldn't be better. Many thanks to Mary and team.
Unrivalled luxury
Leon Barnard, South Africa - 14 October 2007
The guest house should be registered as a 5 star. Unrivalled luxury and service. The best views in Hermanus.
Excellent stay
Mark Wilson, United Kingdom - 24 September 2007
- very hospitable and lovely house. Will come again!
Excellent accommodation and friendly host
Simon Tydeman, United Kingdom - 17 September 2007
A beautiful setting overlooking Hermanus and the bay. The rooms were beautiful, the hosts extremely welcoming and the breakfast hit the spot. We were only there for one night but would certainly return for longer.
Beautiful
Washiela Harilall, South Africa - 07 May 2007
It was an absolute pleasure to be a part of this little heaven!
Delightful hosts
John Wood, United Kingdom - 11 April 2007
I thoroughly enjoyed my recent stay at Francolinhof. Jean and Mary are delightful hosts and were very welcoming. The accommodation is first class and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts are varied and delicious. The setting of the house is a major plus, affording super views of the bay and the mountains.
Familiar
Mr Tenzler - 14 March 2007
We had only one rainy day during our holidays in Hermanus, while we stay in Francolin Guest House. The breakfast was so delicious, we forgot about the bad weather. After breakfast the sun came out.
Mary and her husband are really nice guys, we will come back soon.

Wonderful stay
Fam. Engberts, Netherlands - 24 February 2007
Beautiful surrounding and guesthouse. Mary and Jean are absolutely lovely people. It made our mothers 50th birthday really special with champagne and a home made carrot cake! We can recommend this to everybody!
Fabulous Hospitality
Maria Mills Shaw, United Kingdom - 19 February 2007
Thank you Mary and Jean for being such warm and hospitable hosts during our weekend break at your lovely B&B. The location, the peace, the super accommodation and those marvellous breakfasts - really we couldn't have had a better time.
COULD NOT BE BETTERED
Peter Adams, United Kingdom - 27 January 2007
What a find! beautiful room - LOVELY view, Jean and Mary the perfect hosts. Breakfasts were perfect and Marys little extras at breakfast (eg flapjacks) will stretch the willpower of anyone seeking to diet. Stay here and eat there !
Wonderful
Ryan, South Africa - 10 December 2006
We had a magnificent holiday in wonderful surroundings. Mary and Jean were welcoming and helpful without being obtrusive. All of Mary's recommendations (for restaurants, day trips, wine farms) were excellent. The breakfasts were amazing, as were the rooms and views. As per one of the comments on the guestbook... "a lesson in hospitality". Will recommend this guest house to all our family and friends.
Fabulous!
Ferenc Varga, Netherlands - 28 November 2006
We were staying with seven persons at FrancolinHof in November and had the best time! Rooms are beautiful and service excellent, we can recommend it to anyone, you will feel right at home.
FrancolinHof Guest House
Linda Woollard, United Kingdom - 16 November 2006
This is the best B & B we have ever stayed in - our only regret is that we had booked it for just 1 night on our journey towards Cape Town. The hosts were excellent and the standard of accommodation was out-standing. We had excellent views of the whales in Hermanus Bay from our own bedroom balcony - what more could you ask?!! Breakfast the next morning by the patio was superb. We would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone travelling along the Garden Route - just don't book it for one night only!!!
Our stay in Nov. 2006
Iris Slaby, Germany - 14 November 2006
Highly recommended. Our expectations were high, but Mary and Jean managed to exceed them by far. The rooms are lovely, the food is great and the service is even better. Mary managed restaurant reservations, trips and whatever came up during our stay. We really enjoyed it and many thanks for the warm hospitality.
Overnight stay
penny fisher, United Kingdom - 17 October 2006
Mary arranged restaurant and whale cruise bookings soon after our arrival which maximised our time .The guest house is superb as is its location.
Very comfortable
Neethling, South Africa - 26 September 2006
Very comfortable accommodation. We enjoyed our stay thank you
Francolinhof Guest House, hospitality & great views!
Ms Leidelmeijer - 16 September 2006
Great service and personal care from the owners of the Francolinhof Guest House made our last days in South Africa very memorable. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, and the view was so great (yes, even from our luxurious bathroom!).

The breakfast was very good and every day a surprise.

But what we will remember most of all was the hospitality of the Jean & Mary Faure and their staff!
The perfect Guest House
Olivier Hanotte, Kenya - 13 August 2006
A family of four (including two children below ten). We stay five nights and we really love it. The place is just wonderful. The breakfast were delicious, the comfort of the room five stars. An unforgetable stay, we strongly recommend it
Excellent
Mike Trangmar, United Kingdom - 23 March 2006
The service offered by Mary and Jean was first class. Their property was of the highest standard and the location was perfect. She even arranged a dinner reservation for us on our first evening. Can only recommend this accommodation to any one. Safari Now were fine
One of the best
C.A, United Kingdom - 02 March 2006
If you are staying in Hermanus this has to be one of the best places to stay. The rooms are wonderfully appointed and have everything a seasoned traveller needs. Being up on the hill the view overlooking the bay is beautiful (especially at sunset). The nature reserve is on their backdoor and we saw many species of birds including many Francolin! Overall it is an excellent place with friendly owners and superb breakfasts.
Fantastic
Janet & Buks Nel, South Africa - 27 January 2006
Our stay at FrancolinHof was the highlight of our Holiday. We would certainly recommend this guest house for a truly homely but luxurious experience. Hermanus stole our hearts with the lovely views from every corner, every window in the house... The beautiful breakfast was fit for a king and the service fantastic.
mrs burger
celeste burger, South Africa - 15 January 2006
you walk out of you bedroom door and are immediately in the mountain where we had access to wonderful walks. After this we sat down for a wonderful breakfast! This is certainly a worthwhile stop in Hermanus and we enjoyed every minute of the 8days we spent here and our host were outstanding!!!
This place has it all!
mike chatterton, United Kingdom - 13 December 2005
Furnished in style and providing maximum comfort and hospitality. Your hosts could not be more helpful and accommodating. The location suited us perfectly as it was close to a splendid beach and cliff walks with magnificent views. The centre is only a short drive away and advice on where best to dine is available and, in our experience, always sound.
Francolinhof Hermanus
Michael Sawyer, United Kingdom - 05 December 2005
Excellent Service and excellent accommodation+ food. Best guest house we stayed in in South Africa.
Holiday Review
Anonymous - 25 November 2005
Mary, the owner of FrancolinHof Guest House was extremely welcoming and very friendly, as was her husband - a really nice smiley face on our arrival. The accommodation is truly superb - very classy and tasteful - all new since July 2005. The bedroom and bathroom are stunning, the crisp sheets fabulous. The personal touches are lovely i.e. a glass of port on your return to the guest house in the evening, the chocolates on your pillow, the homemade cakes on the tea tray in the bedroom - all so very welcome and certainly not expected. The view from the dining room is lovely whilst having breakfast. Mary was so excited for us, once we'd managed to spot the whales in the bay! I'd have no hesitation in recommending this guest house.
FrancolinHof Guest House
carol smith, South Africa - 21 October 2005
A lovely place for a peaceful getaway. Beautiful views from our bedroom. I loved the indigenous garden just outside our room. Delicious homemade goodies for breakfast, interesting books in the rooms. Lovely decor.


FrancolinHof Guest House
FrancolinHof Guest House overlooks one of the loveliest views in Hermanus of both Mosselberg Mountain and Walker Bay, with each four en-suite rooms having stunning mountain and sea views.

Thanks to its fine position bordering Fernkloof Nature Reserve, guests can step off the doorstep onto a variety of mountain walks for both the energetic and not so energetic. Birds, proteas and other fynbos are prolific in and around our grounds. In addition, the Blue Flag Grotto Beach is just a 10 minute downhill walk away, and the Old Harbour in the centre of Hermanus is a 10 minute drive away.

Wake up to nature in comfortable luxury, far from the noise of traffic yet close to the restaurants and other places of interest. FrancolinHof is also ideally situated to reach other places of interest in the Overberg and Western Cape.

The comfortable lounge with fireplace, and inter-leading breakfast room open onto the patio and are for the use of guests to relax in and enjoy the peaceful and beautiful surroundings. Enjoy breakfast while watching the birds, or sighting whales in the bay in the distance. Breakfast includes healthy and hearty options, and we use home-made and local produce.

Fax and Internet facilities are available, as well as barbecue facilities. We can also arrange a variety of picnic, sundowner, and barbecue baskets on request. In addition, one of the bedrooms is also wheelchair friendly, and we are the proud holders of the first Gold Rating for Universal Accessibility in the Mobility Category awarded by the TGSA to a guest house in South Africa.


/go/francolinhofguesthousehermanus/
WEB07