All Comments for Mvuradona Safari Lodge

Reviews 70 of 70
Couples get away
Vanessa Frankiewicz Frankiewicz, South Africa - 29 September 2014
Gorgeous Lodge! Amazing service from Dumi. Great food and an overall amazing experience. Will definitely return soon! Vanessa
Honeymoon suite
Bavelile Vilane, South Africa - 26 May 2014
Wow! We had a spectacular timeout with my hubby. Excellent host - Dumi, knows how to treat guests, delicious food from day one until the last day, we had breakfast outside on the beautiful sun. If you are looking at spending time in the bush Mvuradona is the place to stay. Cleaness and wood furniture, I really love the place walking distance to Crocodile River.
Amazing and incredible!!!
Michelle Butorac, South Africa - 07 November 2013
Wow, I am so impressed with the service, cleanliness and personal attention we received at Mvuradona.
Excellent!
Ann Grill, Sweden - 04 November 2013
It was lovely days, generosity and good food, comfortable beds and all good place to stay, close to the Crocodile river and all the sounds of animals!
Best private lodge
jacqui seema, South Africa - 08 July 2013
We enjoyed our stay at the lodge, it was so relaxing exactly what we needed away from all the city noise. The hospitality was also great, Dumi was the best. We were really taken care of.
Excellent host - Dumisane
Deon Blignaut, South Africa - 03 May 2013
We enjoyed every aspect of our stay: - good food - well informed host - close position to Kruger - easy walk to Crocodile River for sight seeing - beautiful Out of Africa wood furniture makes for a relaxed environment.
Fantastic
steyn Rossouw, South Africa - 18 March 2013
We had a fantastic time, way to short.
Mvuradona is not a private game lodge
David hargreaves, South Africa - 21 December 2012
Is a three bed-roomed guest house in Marloth Municipality. Food is very average and facility is very much in need of being refurbished. House keeper was very friendly but resort is in desperate need of professional management. Will not return.
Review of Mvuradona Game Lodge
Shanritha Indurjith, Belgium - 20 August 2012
Very friendly staff, excellent meals and very clean.
Fantastic honeymoon destination!
Eileen Gey van Pittius, South Africa - 26 March 2012
We had a fantastic stay at Mvuradona for our honeymoon - it was pure bliss! The food was delicious, the attention we received superb and the surroundings just perfect for relaxing and getting back to nature. We certainly hope to be back!
A great stay!
Pieter Erasmus, South Africa - 24 October 2011
Apart from excellent meals, friendly and welcoming service, an inviting setting and the roar of lions in the evening, it was only 36 km from the Crocodile Bridge entrance to the Kruger Park. What a great stay! We will see you soon!
Very peaceful
Evelyne Degryse, Mozambique - 06 September 2011
We had two nice evenings at the lodge and went for walks around it. It was very peaceful. A great experience.
Great
Maritza Vermeulen, South Africa - 18 July 2011
We celebrated our wedding anniversary. Mvuradona's staff made a lot of effort for us to make the weekend special. The chef is excellent, we loved the food. This is a wonderful place to just relax and take in nature and forget about the everyday bustle. Had a great weekend.
Amazing
Anne-Marie Smal, South Africa - 03 May 2011
We enjoyed our stay - every minute of it. Everybody was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinners were very delicious. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean.
Great
Timol ibrahim, Reunion - 27 February 2011
We had a great stay at Mvuradona Lodge. Sandra and Myriam were very wonderful hosts and always free to give advice and assistance. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean. Breakfast and dinners was very delicious. We will definitively recommend this private lodge to others.
Good
Vuyelwa Masweu, South Africa - 03 January 2011
The stay was good and very exciting. We enjoyed the wildlife there. Weather conditions are a big challenge there, so we therefore recommend that air conditioners be installed in the rooms. Otherwise the place is worth visiting again. And big up to the management and staff of Mvuradona. Other places can learn from you. Thank you for the unique experience.
Our stay at Mvuradona
Hilary Weed, South Africa - 27 December 2010
Excellent service - staff - especially Sandra was warm, welcoming and knowledgable. The food was delicious - home made and yummy. We cherished every minute. It was wonderful... We will be back.
Stay at Mvuradona
Tammy Horne, South Africa - 04 August 2010
Sandra and Miriam went to huge efforts to make our stay as pleasant and special as possible. They set up dinner tables in different romantic locations around the lodge every night. The setting is extremely beautiful, and you are constantly surrounded by game. The rooms and the lodge itself are beautifully done with luxurious and tasteful furniture. The only negatives are that most of the activities happen outside of the lodge, which requires you to drive around a bit. The food was also a bit disappointing, and didn't quite live up the the mouthwatering descriptions given on the website.
Great stay
Maurella Della Seta, Italy - 03 August 2010
We had a great time at Mvuradona Lodge. Everything was perfect.
Perfect Private Lodge
Jash Mak, South Africa - 03 May 2010
Mvuradona is located perfectly, close to the best entrance of the Kruger Park. If you're looking for a quiet, beautiful and romantic time with your loved one dont look any further. Sandra and Marriam were there to make the stay absolutely amazing. From helpful hints about the Kruger to mouth watering breakfasts and 3 course candle light dinners, they made the stay very special for us. Planning on coming back the next opportunity we get!
Excellent stay
Johan Van Aarde, South Africa - 25 April 2010
Sandra and Miriam was GREAT. I would recommend them for anything from Honeymoon to just a relaxing time away. Thanks a million for an EXCELLENT week.
The food was excellent.
John Gelling, South Africa - 09 April 2010
We had a most enjoyable 3 night stay at the lodge. For the first night we were the only guests, The luxury room was huge, and we were served dinner on the day of our arrival on our private balcony. The food was excellent. The lodge is not on the river, but only 1 minute walk to the boundary fence of the Kruger National Park is needed. We saw buffalo, water buck, and impala right against the fence. Sandra, the manageress, provided personal service.
Fabulous
Janine stephen, South Africa - 25 January 2010
We were super relaxed, and really enjoyed our stay. thank you to Sandra who was professional and has great advice, everything was taken care of for us.
Honeymooning at Mvuradona
Nivashini Ramjathan, South Africa - 05 January 2010
Honeymoons are suppose to be magical and unforgettable and that is exactly how it was. Mvuradona is a perfect place for a honeymoon as it is quite and very relaxing. My husband and i got to spend a lot of intimate time together and really enjoyed our time spent there. Dumisani was an excellent chef and prepared the most delicious dishes for us. He is such an awesome person and really made our stay at Mvuradona unforgettable.
Comfortable for all
Derek Perryman, South Africa - 29 December 2009
We all had a fantastic time thank you. The house was an absolute pleasure to stay in and was comfortable for all.
Mvuradona Lodge -Highly recommended
Janice Richard, Canada - 06 November 2009
My sister and I stayed at the lodge from Oct 13 - 17th, 2009. Sandra (the manager) greeted us as we pulled into the drive. Our bags were taken to our room as we completed check-in and were informed about the lodge and the many things to do while we were there. We were given the grand tour by Sandra and then shown to our room to get ready for dinner. The lodge is secluded, serene and provided a true "africa" feel. It was beautiful. Our first night on the terrace, we could hear the lions "calling" in the distance, it was wonderful. Obisani (the chef) presented a delicious dinner and Sandra was the ever-attentive hostess. The same can be said for the remainder of our stay. I would highly recommend Mvuradona as the service was excellent, the meals were plentiful and the ambiance was warm.
Mvuradona Guest Lodge
Kgomotso Masoga, South Africa - 22 September 2009
Very nice and quite getaway. Service is excellent. A bit far out from the tarred road and the gravel road is very bumpy. Hope this will get sorted later on
Mvuradona
Morven Williamson, Mozambique - 31 August 2009
We are not fans of Marloth Park but Mvuradona surprised and delighted us. On the Crocodile river with views over to Kruger and endless game coming down to the water. Great walks along the river but fenced so totally safe. Perfect for us with our 2 and 3 year old but also perfect for a couple wishing peace to walk for miles just looking for the next exciting sighting. Staff were great as was our lovely dinner in cosy boma. This lodge is affordable luxury and I would recommend it to everyone.
What a beautiful place!
Anine Kotzee, South Africa - 13 July 2009
We stayed at Eland Lodge for 3 nights. We were greeted by our friendly hosts at Mvuradonna, who told us about our surroundings and about entrance to the Kruger Park. We were then taken to our lovely lodge. It is beautifully situated on the Crocodile River with a view right into the Kruger Park. Is a beautiful place outside and inside and we enjoyed every moment of our stay.Luxury and comfort together with a beautiful view! We had a great time!
Highly recommended...
Richard Waghorn, South Africa - 19 May 2009
What a great place to stay - every thing was arranged and tailored for me, and nothing was too much trouble.
Mvuradona Private Game Lodge'
Bryndis Magnusdottir - 14 March 2009
Me and my family stayed two days at the Lodge in February 2009 and found it very nice indeed. The hostess, Sandra, is an extremely nice lady and we were very well taken care of. There was a French gourmet cook there who served us excellent dinners, zebras came to the Lodge in the late afternoon so the whole thing was just like an adventure. It was very very hot though, like 42 on Celcius.
Kruger Veld Haven
Anonymous, ---Not Specified--- - 05 March 2009
Mvuradona was absolutely perfect for our visit to Kruger National Park. The setting was so close to the park yet felt so isolated that we could easily forget that there were any other people nearby. Sandra and David took great care of us and Sandra's husband Kobus was a wonderful game ranger for our safari. The absolute highlight however is Chef Christian's catered dinner, well worth the trip from Malaysia just for his cuisine (and the stories).
Welcoming and Friendly
Nadine Bergman, United Kingdom - 29 January 2009
We stayed at the Lodge for 4 nights and have really enjoyed our stay. We were made very welcome, the accommodation was nice and clean and the colonial dining was fantastic. We also managed to see so much wildlife and heard the lions roar nearby which was an amazing experience...
First Class!!!
Siggi Schrot, United Kingdom - 10 January 2009
Myself and two friends of mine stayed at Mvuradona in December and had a fantastic time. The lodge is beautiful and has a lot of charm, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and beautifully furnished. The manageress Sandra was extremely welcoming, knowledgeable and professional and simply a great person! The staff looking after us were also amazing, every meal prepared by them was fantastic! I have nothing bad to say about our experience there and would come back any time. In fact, I wish we could have spent a lot longer at Mvuradona.
We had a lovely time.
Mariane Roux, South Africa - 18 December 2008
Sandra is a wonderful hostess and treated us like royalty. The room was spacious and private, the food was well and freshly prepared. A good selection of wine, and lots to do should you be interested in anything the area can offer. Kruger is close by and we had a wonderful day visiting the park!
Fantastic!!!
Bernadine Spice, South Africa - 20 October 2008
Will definitely return with the family.
Time-out
Ntsako Mokwena, South Africa - 18 September 2008
Zandi and I really enjoyed our stay and I guess what stood out for us the most was the warm reception and the friendliness of the staff throughout our 3 night stay at Mvuradona. It was Zandi's birthday on one of the days and it was made so very special. Sandra went out of her way to make sure that we had a memorable stay - which we did. We would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a time out in an establishment that caters to your every need - even those that you are unaware of.
Fantastic
Anonymous, South Africa - 23 June 2008
The food was absolutely faultless. Sandra and Kobus were knowledgeable about the area and the animals and were very accommodating.
We had a great time.
Kenneth Peters, United States of America - 16 February 2008
We had been in Maputo for 10 nights doing surgery and coming to the Lodge was fantastic. The facility is beautiful, the staff great and the food wonderful. Our safari trips were easily organized and great animals were seen. Only wished we stayed longer.
Very good
Gordon Muir, United Kingdom - 30 January 2008
Very welcoming staff and lovely site. Zebra and warthogs in garden a bonus.
100% fantastic!!
Laura Mockett, Canada - 20 January 2008
We adored our stay at Mvuradona Lodge...A wonderful experience...The house is everything a lodge should be...The Hospitality was fantastic...Jay the owner was approachable and friendly...Sandra the manager attended to our every need and Jessica cooked fantastic gourmet cooking...This was a luxurious experience at pretty affordablle rates...We would recommend esp. for couples...We even heard lions roaring at night! Went on safari and saw the big 5 incredible experience! The little things in the Lodge were just a bonus e.g sitting on the verandha in the afternoon and Jessica bringing a tray of tea and goodies! Loved it all want to go back asap!
Fantastic
Bruce Muller, South Africa - 04 January 2008
Absolutely fantastic stay at Buffalo Bush self catering, would highly recommend it to anybody. The boma, pool and look-out were amazing and the game viewing spectacular - elephants, giraffe, buffalo, wildebeest, zebra, kudu and more without even leaving the house! The staff were extra helpful and ensured our stay was unforgettable. The photos on the website do not come close to capturing the actual experience. Fantastic!
Recommended!!
David Ortega, Spain - 06 December 2007
I work in a Travel Agency and I prepare a trip to South Africa for three gentlemen. Few days in Johannesburgo, Kruger National Park and finally Cape Town. In this moment, they spend their last days in Cape Town. I contacted with them and they told me Mvuradona Private Game Lodge's experience was fantastic. The kindness,good service, the accommodation, etc, an excellent experience. They recommended Mvuradona Private Game Lodge!!!!
Fantastic
Willi Willson, India - 20 November 2007
A great place and very welcoming. We had one day of great game viewing and another of mediocre, so overall got what we came for. A relaxing place and just ideal to get away and "into the bush" for a couple of luxury days!
Fantastic
Donna Abraham, Israel - 17 November 2007
What can I say - I came looking for an authentic African experience, and I ended up with a new extended family! I travel a lot, and I cannot ever remember feeling more at home and more welcome and taken care of than at Mvuradona. The care taken regarding details of everything from the activities, to the food to the Cadbury chocolate on my pillow every night was incredible. Jay is one awesome lady, Sandra and Jessie are the perfect hostesses, the place is gorgeous, perfect location - nice being outside Kruger because it allowed for flexibility in activities. And we had visiyors - zebras, warthogs, birds and even a few I heard at night but didn't see! I can't recommend this place highly enough!
Recommended
Anonymous, Zambia - 07 November 2007
We had 2 wonderful days at Mvuradona. Our hosts understood perfectly well what kind of tourists our family members are (two children aged 7 and 9, one young lady aged 20, and Mom aged 46) . They proposed and organized the most beautiful excursions for us. I only missed real coffee for breakfast.
We will be back!
Kirsten Murphy, South Africa - 04 November 2007
We had a lovely time at Mvuradona. Real homestyle cooking and hospitality. The lodge is tastefully furnished and the beds comfy. The best thing, however, was the genuine warmth and hospitality that Sandra and Jessica exuded. Thanks a bunch, we will be back!
Our stay was excellent
malcolm hughes, United Kingdom - 28 October 2007
The best place we have stayed in, in Africa for many years. Sandra Jessica and David could not be more helpful and friendly during our stay. Jessica's cooking is out of this world we recommend it to anybody visiting Africa and will most certainly return.
Thoroughly enjoyed
Thomas Widenhouse, South Africa - 09 October 2007
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and really had an opportunity to unwind while seeing many animals.
Memorable
Anonymous, South Africa - 01 October 2007
We had a wonderful relaxing experience, our hostess Sandra and the staff really made us feel welcome and treated us like "royalty" I would definitely recommend the Kruger drive with Kobus in the open top safari vehicle, memorable.
Perfect Peace!
Christopher Parker, New Zealand - 24 August 2007
It's hard to fault this lodge. Lovely atmosphere, great food, comfortable bed. The staff were charming and nothing was too much trouble. Our only downside was not allowing ourselves a few more days to enjoy the peace and quiet, the huge sunrise and those clear blue African skies.
Recommended
Florian Schmidt, Singapore - 08 August 2007
We enjoyed our stay at Mvuradona tremendously. The lodge itself was superb as was the food. Jay was an outstanding host, great to talk to, and took us for a most intriguing trip into Mozambique. I can unreservedly recommend Mvuardona. Best regards
The bush in style....
Jennifer de Ravel, Mauritius - 06 May 2007
We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Mvuradona, and what an experience that was! Jay and her team are fantastic - Jessie and David thank you for everything - the bush experience in the Marloth is something I've never experienced before - the animals, although not tame are so at home in the natural surroundings, they walk right up to your lodge (or right in if they spot an apple lying around!!) Our children were indeed privilidged to experience their first time in the African bush so "hands on" I wish I were more eloquent, as I can't seem to find the right words to properly convey our experience. As for the accommodation at the Lodge - refined colonial elegance I think best describes it - all comforts are present, and the attention to detail is unreal...As for the dining experience...well that's a whole other chapter! Breakfasts are great and just what you need before heading out for the day - dinners are elaborate three course feasts - from Mussel veloutés to thick T-bones grilled on the boma fire - we were spoilt! Jay really goes out of her way to cater to your every whim, and is a great guide and very knowlegable on the area and Mozambique - she made us feel right at home, and we all felt we were leaving an old friend, you are amazing Jay, thanks for everything - we love you, and Mvuradona, the piggies, zebras and all other visitors will be forever in our hearts... Thanks from Jen, Bruno, Pat, Maurice, Chris, Eva, Vaness & Olivia
Sister's stay at Mvuradona
Helin Kuhn, South Africa - 26 March 2007
Charmaine and I (Helin) enjoyed our stay at Mvuradona and special mention must be made of Jessica and David who did everything they could to make our stay so special. Viewing the game from the fence proved worthwhile as we saw 2 rhino amongst other game. Thanks for a great stay! It was also incredibily hot and humid - a pool would have been great to cool off in.
Beautiful game lodge
Sara Draper, United Kingdom - 03 March 2007
This game lodge is truly stunning in an excellent location and beautifully furnished. The people are fantastic and made us feel really welcome, we can't wait for our next visit.
What a pleasant stay!!!
Blessing Sokhulu, South Africa - 26 February 2007
Jay, David, Maria and Phanuel!!!! what a pleasure to have been part of your world!!! We had a wonderful stay and we believe we have found a home away from home!! Peaceful environment where we became one with nature. What a fabulous weekend!!!
African Pamper
LEON ABRAHAMS, South Africa - 08 November 2006
Magical venue, great, friendly and professional service, will definitely go back Jessie - What a wonderful cook Aidan - The perfect host (Dankie baie Boet)
Amazing quality of food
Frances Wilde, South Africa - 19 June 2006
Probably the most outstanding feature of the weekend was the amazing quality of food. We have stayed in many Private 5 star Lodges and truly not experienced cuisine like that at Mvuradona. Louise, Jessica and David were wonderful hosts and it was a super weekend. There are not really any bush walks to be had and if you want to do some game viewing you would need to go into the Kruger Park - but for a total relaxing getaway - its lovely.
First class
Anonymous - 20 May 2006
We really enjoyed the experience and appreciated the hard work of the managers at the lodge. Food and accommodation first class. We would recommend to our friends.
Superb
Lisa Chaters, United Kingdom - 01 May 2006
We had a wonderful time here. We were well looked after by hosts John and Ingrid who went well beyond their duties in looking after us. The food was excellent and would definitely recommend this lodge to our friends.
Satisfied
Tib Matcau, Germany - 23 April 2006
Satisfied, very friendly and good service
Brilliant
Robert Lumholst-Smith - 28 March 2006
The overall experience was brilliant. John and Ingrid were fantastic and it was amazing to walk around and appreciate the wildlife around the lodge. We had zebras on the lawn that made our day wanting us to feed them apples. What an experience. Our guide for the game drive was incredibly knowledgable and found us all the game we wished to see. Fantastic. It was d star value fir money and the web site extremely efficient. We will use you again.
A wonderful experience!
Rense van Dijk, Netherlands - 30 October 2005
A very nice lodge with everybody genuinely trying to make our experience as special as possible, which was no doubt accomplished. We really felt at home and had a wonderful time. The quality of the cooking deserves special mentioning, the meals are fantastic.
Enjoyable
Claus Paetzold, Germany - 19 October 2005
We enjoyed our stay at Mvuradona very much. It was a real colonian atmosphere, fine food and very nice and helpfull stuff. Also the tour we booked to Kruger National was a pleasure, Karlien is an excellent, very friendly guide. All in all best value for money, we hope we can come again. Thank you for the easy and comfortable booking. Kind regards , Claus and Uta
Great Time
Ian - 08 September 2005
Yes we had a great time and Winsome was really impressed.
Wonderful Stay, Helpful Staff
Paul, Melissa and Sarah, United Kingdom - 27 August 2005
My family and I just returned from a three day stay at the Mvuradona Lodge. The family loved it! We especially appreciated the personalised attention and delicious food - not to mention seeing all the BIG FIVE on our game drives! A great family holiday
Not bad at all!
Peggy Chongwe, South Africa - 22 July 2005
The game lodge is not bad at all. The service supplied by SafariNow.com is good, value for money (I would not comment about that). Generally we did enjoy our stay at the lodge.
Happy Camper
Mark Jones, Canada - 05 June 2005
My wife and I had a wonderful time at Mvuradona. We were upgraded to a nicer suite free of charge which was nice of them. The meals were tasty as well. Simon was very knowledgable of almost everything and was on hand constantly to answer questions. The view overlooks the park as well. Overall, a very nice experience.
Excellent Food
Maureen Masuku, South Africa - 03 June 2005
Thanks for the warm welcome,everything went well the place was nice and the food was excellent
Exciting
Zira Ferreira - 03 June 2005
Our stay was an excellent, enjoyable, friendly, very exciting experience. Thank you Zira


Mvuradona Safari Lodge
At Mvuradona you are guaranteed to experience the peace and tranquillity of the bushveld. Your stay with us will leave you relaxed, well rested and filled with memories of an unforgettable wild life experience.

Mvuradona lies in the heart of the bushveld with wildlife on our doorstep. Sit back, take a stroll or ride a bicycle while you enjoy sightings and sounds of hippos, elephants, lions and much more from the Crocodile River.

Our riverside accommodation depicts an authentic African thatch lodge with suites beautifully appointed in white linens and teak furniture. Large rooms and open communal areas promote a warm atmosphere and a feeling of personal space. Currently guests can choose between the Honeymoon Suite, the Double Suite or the Twin Suite. For ultimate privacy and relaxation you can hire out the entire lodge on either a self-catering or catered package. Our four new chalets should be completed middle June and we will then be able to accommodate 14 adults.

Dining is always a special and intimate affair at Mvuradona. We take great pride in delicious wholesome meals that are served with a smile. Whether you are being spoiled with a refreshing breakfast outdoors accompanied by the cheerful birdsong or being warmed up by the crackling fire and treated with a mouth-watering three course dinner, it’s always a memorable delight. After dinner sink into a chair around our fire-pit and relax while identifying the nightlife sounds of the bush and the bright stars of the African night sky.

Our pool deck overlooks the bushveld where our guests can relax and enjoy the frequent visits of the resident zebra, giraffe, warthog, impala and other little creatures like the mongoose and franklin. This is the perfect spot to spend those hot summer afternoons.

Relax, take a deep breath, and enjoy the splendour of Mvuradona.


/go/MvuradonaSafariLodge/