All Comments for Thaba Thipa

Reviews 33 of 33
Great experience
mosa Maebaneng, South Africa - 19 December 2014
We had a very great experience at the lodge. We enjoyed it. The only problem was the road inside the lodge as we were going up, because our cars were lowered.
Super
mmapule Kgosi, South Africa - 17 December 2014
We enjoyed our stay and it was beautiful, more especially that we wanted some peace and quite.
Weekend Stay in Impala
Pieter Nel, South Africa - 03 November 2014
It was a pleasure staying in Impala Chalet as it was clean and well maintained. Due to floodings in the past the number of wild is drastically reduced and very dry for this time of the year.
Family weekend out
Refilwe Msiza, South Africa - 20 October 2014
Thaba Thipa is s very quiet and relaxing place. If you want to escape the rush and the noise of the city, it's the go to place. The only noise you will hear is the animals and birds. You'll come home revitalised. The room were clean and well equipped. Friendly and helpful. Had a blast!
Relaxing escape from civilization
Andre Baladi, South Africa - 28 September 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at Thaba Thipa. The best thing for us was how relaxed the atmosphere was and that we saw no one else for almost the entire stay. It really felt as if we had escaped from civilization while still enjoying the comforts of it.
Good but a little disappointed
Aston White, South Africa - 25 September 2014
We had a relaxing time but were disappointed that lawn wasn't as green and lush as presented in the pictures. The pool had sand on the floor and just wasn't what we expected.
lindsay grant, South Africa - 21 July 2014
The service was not as we expected. The braai area was only cleaned after the second day, so if we had wanted to braai on day 2, we would have had to clean the ash ourselves. Also, cobwebs in the chalet, broken floor tiles outside our front door, and no lights on outside one night when we went out. I guess you get what you pay for.
Long weekend
Carel van der Westhuizen, South Africa - 18 June 2014
It isn't too far from town and activities, and the people were really welcoming. Not too much happening at Thaba Thipa itself, as the hot pool was broken. Still found good value for money. Self-catering and dstv worked well.
Great time
Juliana , South Africa - 09 December 2013
I had a quiet, great time. A beautiful scenic place, perfect for a quiet family getaway.
Perfect weekend
gumani july matshetshise, South Africa - 25 November 2013
Its was a perfect weekend, peaceful and relaxing and Veronica was welcoming. It was home away from home
Thaba Thipe
Amanda Pooley, South Africa - 25 November 2013
A lovely place for an out of the way break away. Everything you need for a home away from home. Loved the Eland and Impala that roam free. Great but unobtrusive hospitality - even Quinn the beautiful Irish terrier made us feel welcome. Will definitely return.
Away from the city buzz
Frans Delport, South Africa - 11 November 2013
We enjoyed our stay at Thaba Thipa, The reception was friendly, the surroundings very quite and peaceful. Just enough to relax from all the city buzz.
We enjoyed our stay
naledi motloung, South Africa - 22 August 2013
We enjoyed our stay
Rustige naweek
Johann Meyer, South Africa - 22 July 2013
Die ondervinding wat ons beleef het was beter as verwag. Die gasheer en gasvrou het ons op die hande gedra en ons goed versorg. Die plaas het soveel om te sien as mens lief is vir die natuur. Dit moet fantasties wees in die somer. Baie warmer as in die stad!
June 2013 stay
Brenda Knowles, South Africa - 24 June 2013
We enjoyed our stay and the animals are a nice attraction but the cleaning lady is quite rude.
One night in paradise
Robin Perrin, United States of America - 20 April 2013
One night was clearly not enough. Perfect for the three of us as a stop over en route to Legend Golf and Safari Resort. Peaceful surroundings... fabulous star gazing.
Wonderful time
khensani teffu, South Africa - 15 April 2013
We had a wonderful time at Thaba Thipa with my friends. We will definately visit the place again
Weekend Break
Paul Evans, South Africa - 08 April 2013
Thank you for a great stay and a easy booking system. We will definitely return to Thaba Thipa again. We loved the heated pool and the animals was a treat for us and especially our toddler daughter. Thank you Veronica !
Wow, great!
Michel stroobants, Belgium - 20 March 2013
Home away from home! A beautiful chalet (Impala), fully selfcatering. a cold and a heated pool. a nice estate with eland, impala etc... about 10 km from Bela Bela with its shopping facilities. Very warm reception and personal contact.
Good
Mohammed Mohammed, South Africa - 06 January 2013
Yes it was good, we was enjoy to much. Thank you.
Total bliss
Lebogang Lebopa, South Africa - 13 December 2012
Thaba Thipa is absolutely beautiful. We had a great time away from our busy lives,just relaxed the entire week. My gals loved playin wit the Dog. We definitely will be coming back.
Lovely weekend
Thandi Kubeka, South Africa - 03 December 2012
Our stay was lovely, very peaceful place and friendly owners.
Wonderful
Leonie Lubbe, South Africa - 19 November 2012
Wonderful and quiet. Perfect for a weekend getaway.
What a holiday!
LYDIA MOAGI, South Africa - 01 November 2012
We have a very very good time. The staff and the owner were nice to us. The place was clean and more comfortable and relaxing. We really enjoyed ourselves. Thanks very much!!
Awesome
Bongani Mahlangu, South Africa - 08 October 2012
We really enjoyed our stay at Thaba Thipa..Max (the dog) took care of us constantly checking up on us...It was fantastic!
Holiday nightmare
Reagan Matthews, South Africa - 21 June 2012
Worst holiday ever, the pool was not heated as it was advertised. No help and unfriendly staff and owners. Not like we even got to see who they are. Rats in the chalets. Dust that was there for years, the place was not cleaned properly. Holiday nightmare. Will not go back there.


Establishment Response:

We have a heated pool, not a hot pool. In summertime it reaches a temperature of 34 to 36 degrees Celsius. During the winter months, June and July, the temperature is down to a maximum of 28 degrees Celsius due to the fact that the water cools off during the chilly nights and only reheats during the day. We are going to get a "bubble blanket" to cover the pool during the evenings to minimize heat loss.

Management and personnel are at all times friendly and assist where possible. In this case, assistance has been requested out of our scope of service, like the washing of clothes.

Our chalets are serviced daily. It will however be appreciated if guests can report to management when their chalet hasn't been clean properly in order to attend to their complaint immediately.

We can assure any of our prospective guests that there are no rats at any of our chalets. The accommodation is on a farm and we have several species of wildlife. A group of bush babies have for example made a nest at the back of that chalet under the carport roof. We also have squirrels. We are of the opinion that the Matthews family have mistaken either the bush babies or squirrels for rats.

Refreshing experience
Margie Hamel - 11 June 2012
Our stay at Thaba Thipa left us relaxed and well rested. The delightful surroundings and interaction with the farm and wild animals was a tonic. Wish our stay could have been longer and would love another visit in the future.
Awesome time
Koena molekwa, South Africa - 12 April 2012
We did enjoy ourselves at Thaba Thipa, what a nice place. Thanks for a warm stay at Thapa Thipa, it was wonderful there. The room and the pools are awesome.
Enjoyable
Elize Venter, South Africa - 02 February 2012
We enjoyed our stay at Thaba Thipa very much! Lydia is so friendly and helpful. Thanks. You will see us again.
Great getaway
Talita Snyman, South Africa - 22 November 2011
We had a great weekend on the farm.
Peaceful weekend
samantha naik, South Africa - 19 October 2011
Thank you! We needed a restful weekend and that's exactly what we got. The surroundings were peaceful. The Eland were stunning - roaming around the property. A short drive from Bela Bela with many interesting craft shops on the way.
Very nice
Sanjiv Daman - 03 October 2011
Very quiet and beautiful place. Friendly owners. Nice place to relax and rest. Warm pool is definitely the highlight. I spent the whole day there with my kids.
Great stay
TInyiko Manyike, South Africa - 29 August 2011
As a newly established place, they are doing well. Hopefully after another year from now, they would be one of the best places to visit.


Thaba Thipa
Thaba Thipa, which means "Mountain of the Knife", is situated on a 22-hectare farm in the heart of the bushveld, just 10 minutes north from Bela Bela on the road to Modimolle. The name Thaba or "mountain" originates from the mountain the farm is situated on. Hiking will result in beautiful scenery and offers an exquisite view of the surroundings.

Accommodation consists of a log house with beautiful views and three chalets set in a tranquil surrounding. All the units have private bathrooms, TVs with full DStv access, fully equipped kitchens and private barbecue areas. For guests' pleasure, there is also a heated swimming pool and a jungle gym for the kids.

The emphasis at Thaba Thipa is on tranquility and relaxation; cool off in our refreshing pool after conquering the bush trails, or watch the sunset while looking at the eland coming down from the mountain while you prepare a fire for the evening barbecue.

The farm offers many game species including eland, impala, duiker, klipspringer and bush buck, to name a few. In addition, over 100 bird species have been recorded on the farm, presenting a wonderful opportunity for birdwatching.


/go/ThabaThipaBelaBela/