All Comments for Thaba Thipa

Reviews 45 of 45
QUIET WEEKEND
LIZANE HENNING, South Africa - 22 June 2015

Hi Veronica,

Thanks for a lovely weekend at Thaba Thipa.  We enjoyed it a lot.  The view on the mountain is amazing and we've also enjoyed climbing to the top. 

My son started crying when we left because he wanted to stay longer and said that he'll really miss the place - thought it was our new home . . . :)

Thabea Modise, South Africa - 17 June 2015
Did not enjoy our stay at Thaba Thipa, The rooms are fine but someone tried to break into our cottage whilst we were sleeping which made us not to be relaxed throughout our stay there and the load shedding for more than 12 hours did not also help, therefore we left before the end of our holiday.

Establishments Response:

We are sorry for the unfortunate incident which made Thabea not to enjoy their stay at Thaba Thipa.

Fortunately, as a result of our strict security, the potential house breakers couldn't get into the cottage.
Harmon
Kieran Harmon, South Africa - 27 May 2015
Extremely relaxing and close to all amenities and game farms. Accommodation was functional and clean.
Imojean Inggs, South Africa - 18 May 2015

The Impala chalet were clean and we enjoyed our stay.  Veronica was very friendly and we had a peaceful weekend.

Motlatsi Khumalo 20 - 22 March 2015
motlatsi khumalo, South Africa - 23 March 2015
I had a lovely weekend with my family , the chalet was clean and the place is child friendly, it's a home away from home and the buzz of the city.
Overall, we all enjoyed our stay
David Nkoni, South Africa - 10 March 2015
The place is very nice but the only negative is that the Advertising Board outside is not visible. We went past the venue twice and were lost for over 15 minutes. They should also have a landline as we could only phone Veronica who we could not get hold off since she is using a cell phone. But overall, we all enjoyed our stay all weekend.
Charmaine Du Preez, South Africa - 28 February 2015

Was super.  Very relaxing atmosphere.  For a break away from everything it was most enjoyable.  The cottage was well equipped and the staff friendly.

Thanks for a super few days.

Wonderful stay
Elsie Ballard, South Africa - 25 February 2015
We booked at Thaba Thipa from 20 to 23 February in the Impala chalet and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was very peaceful and quiet and we enjoyed the tame pig, goats and dog that visited us and even took a stroll with us on the property.  We will certainly book again and recommend this establishment to our family and friends. Nicky and Elsie Ballard





nomathamsanqa nongauza, South Africa - 24 February 2015
It was nice got lizards as visitors in the house but it was quite an experience, if you want peace and quite then that is the place to be.
Lovely stay
Elsie Ballard, South Africa - 24 February 2015
We wish to thank Veronica and staff for our lovely stay we had at Thaba Thipa - Impala Cottage.
It was very quiet and peaceful and we returned home completely relaxed and ready for work again.
It was very hot but the fans in the cottage helped a little to relieve the heat.
We loved the pig, the goats and the dog that were walking freely on the property and were very tame and loveable.
Thank you again for our lovely stay, we would definitely recommend your establishment to family and friends.
Kind regards,
Nicky and Elsie Ballard
Carina Sawala, South Africa - 09 February 2015
Pictures on the website and what one can do at Thaba Thipa are not the same as on the pictures. We were a little disappointed.
ndumi Maboya, South Africa - 06 February 2015
We had an epic time very private since we were the only people visited at that time
Great experience
mosa Maebaneng, South Africa - 19 December 2014
We had a very great experience at the lodge. We enjoyed it. The only problem was the road inside the lodge as we were going up, because our cars were lowered.
Super
mmapule Kgosi, South Africa - 17 December 2014
We enjoyed our stay and it was beautiful, more especially that we wanted some peace and quite.
Weekend Stay in Impala
Pieter Nel, South Africa - 03 November 2014
It was a pleasure staying in Impala Chalet as it was clean and well maintained. Due to floodings in the past the number of wild is drastically reduced and very dry for this time of the year.
Family weekend out
Refilwe Msiza, South Africa - 20 October 2014
Thaba Thipa is s very quiet and relaxing place. If you want to escape the rush and the noise of the city, it's the go to place. The only noise you will hear is the animals and birds. You'll come home revitalised. The room were clean and well equipped. Friendly and helpful. Had a blast!
Relaxing escape from civilization
Andre Baladi, South Africa - 28 September 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at Thaba Thipa. The best thing for us was how relaxed the atmosphere was and that we saw no one else for almost the entire stay. It really felt as if we had escaped from civilization while still enjoying the comforts of it.
Good but a little disappointed
Aston White, South Africa - 25 September 2014
We had a relaxing time but were disappointed that lawn wasn't as green and lush as presented in the pictures. The pool had sand on the floor and just wasn't what we expected.
lindsay grant, South Africa - 21 July 2014
The service was not as we expected. The braai area was only cleaned after the second day, so if we had wanted to braai on day 2, we would have had to clean the ash ourselves. Also, cobwebs in the chalet, broken floor tiles outside our front door, and no lights on outside one night when we went out. I guess you get what you pay for.
Long weekend
Carel van der Westhuizen, South Africa - 18 June 2014
It isn't too far from town and activities, and the people were really welcoming. Not too much happening at Thaba Thipa itself, as the hot pool was broken. Still found good value for money. Self-catering and dstv worked well.
Great time
Juliana , South Africa - 09 December 2013
I had a quiet, great time. A beautiful scenic place, perfect for a quiet family getaway.
Perfect weekend
gumani july matshetshise, South Africa - 25 November 2013
Its was a perfect weekend, peaceful and relaxing and Veronica was welcoming. It was home away from home
Thaba Thipe
Amanda Pooley, South Africa - 25 November 2013
A lovely place for an out of the way break away. Everything you need for a home away from home. Loved the Eland and Impala that roam free. Great but unobtrusive hospitality - even Quinn the beautiful Irish terrier made us feel welcome. Will definitely return.
Away from the city buzz
Frans Delport, South Africa - 11 November 2013
We enjoyed our stay at Thaba Thipa, The reception was friendly, the surroundings very quite and peaceful. Just enough to relax from all the city buzz.
We enjoyed our stay
naledi motloung, South Africa - 22 August 2013
We enjoyed our stay
Rustige naweek
Johann Meyer, South Africa - 22 July 2013
Die ondervinding wat ons beleef het was beter as verwag. Die gasheer en gasvrou het ons op die hande gedra en ons goed versorg. Die plaas het soveel om te sien as mens lief is vir die natuur. Dit moet fantasties wees in die somer. Baie warmer as in die stad!
June 2013 stay
Brenda Knowles, South Africa - 24 June 2013
We enjoyed our stay and the animals are a nice attraction but the cleaning lady is quite rude.
One night in paradise
Robin Perrin, United States of America - 20 April 2013
One night was clearly not enough. Perfect for the three of us as a stop over en route to Legend Golf and Safari Resort. Peaceful surroundings... fabulous star gazing.
Wonderful time
khensani teffu, South Africa - 15 April 2013
We had a wonderful time at Thaba Thipa with my friends. We will definately visit the place again
Weekend Break
Paul Evans, South Africa - 08 April 2013
Thank you for a great stay and a easy booking system. We will definitely return to Thaba Thipa again. We loved the heated pool and the animals was a treat for us and especially our toddler daughter. Thank you Veronica !
Wow, great!
Michel stroobants, Belgium - 20 March 2013
Home away from home! A beautiful chalet (Impala), fully selfcatering. a cold and a heated pool. a nice estate with eland, impala etc... about 10 km from Bela Bela with its shopping facilities. Very warm reception and personal contact.
Good
Mohammed Mohammed, South Africa - 06 January 2013
Yes it was good, we was enjoy to much. Thank you.
Total bliss
Lebogang Lebopa, South Africa - 13 December 2012
Thaba Thipa is absolutely beautiful. We had a great time away from our busy lives,just relaxed the entire week. My gals loved playin wit the Dog. We definitely will be coming back.
Lovely weekend
Thandi Kubeka, South Africa - 03 December 2012
Our stay was lovely, very peaceful place and friendly owners.
Wonderful
Leonie Lubbe, South Africa - 19 November 2012
Wonderful and quiet. Perfect for a weekend getaway.
What a holiday!
LYDIA MOAGI, South Africa - 01 November 2012
We have a very very good time. The staff and the owner were nice to us. The place was clean and more comfortable and relaxing. We really enjoyed ourselves. Thanks very much!!
Awesome
Bongani Mahlangu, South Africa - 08 October 2012
We really enjoyed our stay at Thaba Thipa..Max (the dog) took care of us constantly checking up on us...It was fantastic!
Holiday nightmare
Reagan Matthews, South Africa - 21 June 2012
Worst holiday ever, the pool was not heated as it was advertised. No help and unfriendly staff and owners. Not like we even got to see who they are. Rats in the chalets. Dust that was there for years, the place was not cleaned properly. Holiday nightmare. Will not go back there.


Establishment Response:

We have a heated pool, not a hot pool. In summertime it reaches a temperature of 34 to 36 degrees Celsius. During the winter months, June and July, the temperature is down to a maximum of 28 degrees Celsius due to the fact that the water cools off during the chilly nights and only reheats during the day. We are going to get a "bubble blanket" to cover the pool during the evenings to minimize heat loss.

Management and personnel are at all times friendly and assist where possible. In this case, assistance has been requested out of our scope of service, like the washing of clothes.

Our chalets are serviced daily. It will however be appreciated if guests can report to management when their chalet hasn't been clean properly in order to attend to their complaint immediately.

We can assure any of our prospective guests that there are no rats at any of our chalets. The accommodation is on a farm and we have several species of wildlife. A group of bush babies have for example made a nest at the back of that chalet under the carport roof. We also have squirrels. We are of the opinion that the Matthews family have mistaken either the bush babies or squirrels for rats.

Refreshing experience
Margie Hamel - 11 June 2012
Our stay at Thaba Thipa left us relaxed and well rested. The delightful surroundings and interaction with the farm and wild animals was a tonic. Wish our stay could have been longer and would love another visit in the future.
Awesome time
Koena molekwa, South Africa - 12 April 2012
We did enjoy ourselves at Thaba Thipa, what a nice place. Thanks for a warm stay at Thapa Thipa, it was wonderful there. The room and the pools are awesome.
Enjoyable
Elize Venter, South Africa - 02 February 2012
We enjoyed our stay at Thaba Thipa very much! Lydia is so friendly and helpful. Thanks. You will see us again.
Great getaway
Talita Snyman, South Africa - 22 November 2011
We had a great weekend on the farm.
Peaceful weekend
samantha naik, South Africa - 19 October 2011
Thank you! We needed a restful weekend and that's exactly what we got. The surroundings were peaceful. The Eland were stunning - roaming around the property. A short drive from Bela Bela with many interesting craft shops on the way.
Very nice
Sanjiv Daman - 03 October 2011
Very quiet and beautiful place. Friendly owners. Nice place to relax and rest. Warm pool is definitely the highlight. I spent the whole day there with my kids.
Great stay
TInyiko Manyike, South Africa - 29 August 2011
As a newly established place, they are doing well. Hopefully after another year from now, they would be one of the best places to visit.


Thaba Thipa
Thaba Thipa, which means "Mountain of the Knife", is situated on a 22-hectare farm in the heart of the bushveld, just 10 minutes north from Bela Bela on the road to Modimolle. The name Thaba or "mountain" originates from the mountain the farm is situated on. Hiking will result in beautiful scenery and offers an exquisite view of the surroundings.

Accommodation consists of a log house with beautiful views and three chalets set in a tranquil surrounding. All the units have private bathrooms, TVs with full DStv access, fully equipped kitchens and private barbecue areas. For guests' pleasure, there is also a heated swimming pool and a jungle gym for the kids.

The emphasis at Thaba Thipa is on tranquility and relaxation; cool off in our refreshing pool after conquering the bush trails, or watch the sunset while looking at the eland coming down from the mountain while you prepare a fire for the evening barbecue.

The farm offers many game species including eland, impala, duiker, klipspringer and bush buck, to name a few. In addition, over 100 bird species have been recorded on the farm, presenting a wonderful opportunity for birdwatching.


/go/ThabaThipaBelaBela/