All Comments for Fish River Lodge

Reviews 11 of 11
Great Stay
Peet Vorster, South Africa - 12 January 2014
We had a great time
Cora Van Vuuren, South Africa - 22 December 2013
Breath -taking views! Awesome place. Excellent service.
Comfort on the edge
Adrian Goldstone, England - 15 October 2013
This was an excellent lodge in all ways. The views the comfort the food. Above all however the staff were all superb. We have been to lodges where the staff seem to be reading from a script or are just not comfortable there, but at Fish River Lodge the staff really knew what they were doing and were enthusiastic and very friendly. We loved the drive to the bottom of the canyon and our guide, Ben made the day very interesting.
Excellent service!
Roseann Manning, South Africa - 03 April 2013
We stayed at the Lodge for two nights and were very impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. Very accomodating of our children and adjusted the menu for them. The lodge is situated in a unique setting on the edge of the canyon and is truly spectacular. The road to the Lodge (19km) is an adventurous drive as advertised but not impossible in any vehicle if you take it slowly. Highly recommended, we will be visiting again.
Accomodation/stay
Julian Birch, South Africa - 06 January 2013
Unbelievable setting - definitely worth the visit. Could have supplied tea/coffee facility in rooms but otherwise perfect. Food was also great.
Great time
Tanya Wiesner, Germany - 13 December 2012
One of the most beautiful places in the world. The staff is great and lovely. Be sure to take the tour down to the rock pool. Totally worth it. Bring ear plugs because the wind is very strong in the nights. Thanks Adam, Ralph, Matthias, Ben, for that great time.
Fantastic
James Smith, South Africa - 05 September 2012
Had a fantastic stay at the Lodge. Unbelievable vista from the lip of the canyon. The best staff of all the lodges we visited in Namibia. Very friendly and attentive. A rather long drive from the main road but absolutely worth the effort!
Awesome place
Wally Bergmann, South Africa - 16 April 2012
Eco-friendly resort situated right on the lip of the canyon. Good accommodation service and food. Away from the crowds with no other lights visible at night. Star-watchers paradise.
Wonderful
Lidija Bakovic, Botswana - 25 October 2011
Despite it being only a one-day stay at the lodge, it was completely and utterly worth the drive in and out. The scenery is stunning, to say the least, and the food was very good. Ruth was very attentive, as were her colleagues. We would recommend the lodge as one of those places you have to stay at if in Namibia.
Amazing view
Dina Rai, South Africa - 10 October 2011
Our stay at Fish River Lodge was very good. We had a long journey to the lodge, and the road seemed never ending. However, we were welcomed very well by the lodge staff. They provided us with a welcome drink and complimentary tea. At dinner, the main course was beef. I do not eat beef, and told the waitress. She happily provided me with an alternative. Food was very good at the lodge. Though we were tired of the journey, it all paid off after looking at the view. Anyone who visits this lodge should spend more than a night. The only thing was, when we woke up to have a shower, there wasn't any water.
Stunning location, highly recommended
Andy Froggatt, South Africa - 09 September 2011
After a 12 hour drive and one border crossing, we were shattered when we arrived, but the view when walking through to the pool area was stunning and uplifting. Well worth staying for a couple of nights, to give you time to explore with the different options that are made available to you on arrival. All rooms have a great view from the edge of the canyon.


Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge in southern Namibia is the only lodge perched directly on the rim of the Fish River Canyon, offering guests breathtaking views of the canyon from sunrise to sunset.

Twenty spacious chalets are positioned along the rim with sufficient distance between each other to ensure privacy and quiet at all times. Dry-packed stone walls cover the outer chalets and large windows offer light and views over the canyon whilst at night, guests can watch falling stars through the rooftop windows above. Each chalet has a separate shower, dressing facility, double basins, toilet and fan, whilst an additional outdoor shower offers a chance to cool down under the stars on warm nights. An outdoor 'bed' is available to guests who would like to sleep under the stars.

The main lodge caters for indoor and outdoor living given the extremes of weather that can be experienced throughout the year. Good home-cooked food with stylish touches is served on glowing handcrafted tables from reclaimed wood next to crackling fires in winter or outside on the deck in summer. Drinks can be enjoyed in the indoor or outdoor bar area overlooking a swimming pool.

Experience first hand the geological forces that unfolded 300 million years ago, when the Fish River began to etch its way through hard quartzite, forming a Canyon 90 kilometres long, 549 metres deep and 28 kilometres wide in some places, making it the world's second largest Canyon.


/go/FishRiverLodge/