All Comments for Malala Lodge

Reviews 56 of 56
A really comfortable stay
Matthias Ziegler, Germany - 22 March 2014
We enjoyed the tranquil and private atmosphere. The accommodation, the pool and the surroundings are great, like a little nature reserve. The dinner was the best we had in SA. Thank you for the kind hospitality.
Excellent stay at Malala Lodge
Carolyn Lochan, South Africa - 06 January 2014
A wonderful family getaway. Cosy accommodation. Excellent food. Our hosts, Jane, Paul and Pete, are the greatest! We will definitely be going back.
Lovely, down-to-earth accomodation
Ralph Pickering, United Kingdom - 16 May 2012
We'll definitely be planning a return visit next time we're in SA. The hosts were friendly, accomodating and knowledgeable about the surrounding area, so really helped us make the most of our time. The accomodation is fairly basic, but clean and comfortable. Food was great. All in all a great place to stay when exploring Hluhluwe and St Lucia.
Fabulous
Philippa Davis, South Africa - 15 July 2011
Thank you to Peter, Jane and Paul for an absolutely idyllic break in a little piece of bush paradise. From the comfy beds, awesome showers and peaceful surroundings to the hospitality of the Harvey family and the awesome meals, the game drive and the boat trip - everything was perfectly lovely, unpretentious, down to earth and incredibly good value for money. We will be back, time and again.
This place is very nice.
Oliver Maggard, United States of America - 04 July 2010
The staff are engaging and are very helpful. The cottages are clean and nicely appointed. The food was good, a nice variety of everything. he bar was a nice touch, allowing us to relax after a hard day on safari!
Really a part of South Africa.
René Geers, Netherlands - 07 March 2010
Good accommodation and game drive. Excellent meals and a nice family that takes care of every need. To be recommended with many activities in the neighbourhood.
Raymond and Nanda at malala lodge
Raymond Oosterbaan, Netherlands - 28 September 2009
We really enjoyed staying at the Malala lodge. The food was very good. And the rooms were clean and big. We also likes the game drive with Pete, he told us a lot about the animals. We had even to attacks of rhino's. Because of the 340 acres we could nicely walk on their property. Its wonderful to see zebra's, impala so close.
Recommended
Millicent Reid - 24 January 2009
The Harvey family made us feel most welcome.Jane's home cooked meals were delicious,service excellent, ambience restful & homely.Pete's Game drive was so informative we learned things we had missed during 2yrs. in Kenya!Thanks also to Paul for directing us safely to & from KZN. Wish we could return soon!
Divine food
Sithembile Myeni, South Africa - 22 December 2008
It was lovely, good friendly service, peaceful environment, divine food, clean accommodation. Malala Lodge met our needs. Lovely clean pool.
Highly recommended
Sally Grierson, South Africa - 15 October 2008
Very pleasant indeed. Accommodation excellent. Large spacious room. Accommodation not too close to other premises and afforded privacy. Meals first class. highly recommended. Attention to detail appreciated.
Malala Lodge
Anonymous, South Africa - 05 October 2008
It was very enjoyable. The safari drive was great. It was a tranquil setting with wonderful hosts. Home-cooked meals were lovely. Hope to visit again...
Friendly lodge
judith Baker, United Kingdom - 20 September 2008
Excellent...made to feel at home...good food... great company and no pressure! Great to get away and stay at a very good and friendly lodge... Thanks!
Fantastic
Anonymous, South Africa - 12 August 2008
Became the launching pad to exploring the Elephant coast.
A very good stay,
Ann Moore, South Africa - 21 July 2008
Very enjoyable! Well managed, very comfortable and good value for money.
Very good.
geraldine hearn, United Kingdom - 03 June 2008
Enjoyed our stay, the food, the company and the arranged activities
Highly recommended
Lizel Nienaber, South Africa - 03 June 2008
Pete & Jane made us feel very welcome. Food was excellent. Met a lovely couple from the UK. Gamedrive was great. Overall it was a most enjoyable experience. Highly recommended for a great breakaway.
Perfect
Arnout van IJsseldijk, Netherlands - 29 May 2008
Our stay was perfect. In May 2008. We were the only guests for 2 of the 4 nights. Game drive and Boat trip were great, arranged by the Lodge.
Highly recommended
Judy Schroeder, South Africa - 27 May 2008
The grounds were spacious and well-kept. The hostess, Jane was extremely helpful and friendly. She prepared a delicious dinner, and even offered chicken tenders for our young boys which we really appreciated. The cottage was very clean and well-equipped for all of our cooking, bathing and sleeping needs. We found the Malala Lodge to be conveniently located for our day trips to the St. Lucia Wetlands Park and the Hluhluwe-iMfolozi park. Yet the lodge is also in a quiet and peaceful setting of its own with much wildlife present. We really enjoyed our stay there, and would highly recommend it!
A nice lodge,
Ferry Versteegen, Netherlands - 13 May 2008
- very private, and in wonderful surroundings. The meals were very good; buffet-style dinner and breakfast in a nice area, also including a reference library with interesting books about the country and its animals. The driveway to the lodges is worn down, so the bottom of our passenger car touched the middle of the road. At night you can see the the most beautiful sky, filled with stars! The house wasn't the cleanest; our shower drain was blocked, a lot of cobwebs on the ceiling of the thatched roof, and mice droppings around the fridge. Apart from that the house was reasonably clean. ***Response from establishment - The drain was subsequently cleared and sorted out in 15 minutes by myself. We are a bush lodge with high-pitched thatched roofs which spiders love to build webs in. Our staff are under instruction to regularly clear the webs but the spiders can literally re-build them in 6 hours. What he is actually referring to is gecko droppings (there are no mice in our units). Similar to the spiders, our units do get geckos in them and they are attracted to the warmth of the fridge. Again, our staff daily remove any droppings left behind, but before the unit is cleaned the following day there are bound to be a few more.
Fantastic
Janet Battersby, United Kingdom - 12 May 2008
Made most welcome by our hosts. Peter's knowledge on the game drive made the experience one never to be forgotten. Many thanks and good luck for the future.
Very good
Bourgault Odile, Mauritius - 01 May 2008
The place is pleasant, but the hosts make it even more valuable. The team there is calm, quiet, friendly... a nice way of living.
Wonderful
Carol Wener, South Africa - 29 April 2008
Thank you we had a wonderful stay. We were very comfortable and well-looked after. We even extended our stay by another day. The game viewing was great, even at 6.30am! Will recommend Malala to others. Thanks.
Really fantastic
Stuart Barnard, South Africa - 13 April 2008
Really fantastic. From the personalized greeting to the fabulous meals. Pete and Jane have created a fantastic experience.
Most enjoyable.
Colonel Basil A Carlston, South Africa - 05 April 2008
We will certainly return.
Fantastic
karena cuthbert, United Kingdom - 18 February 2008
The family at Malala lodge were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. My daughter is vegetarian, and they made a special effort to accommodate her. We would like to say a big thanks to Jane, Peter and Paul for making our stay so very special. We loved the place and will definitely come back it was so magical to go to the pool area and look up at the sky to see all the stars you cannot see in England. Thank you all very much the Cuthbert family
Wonderful break
jacquelynl lowe, Spain - 07 January 2008
We really enjoyed our stay, the cottage was lovely, clean and set in a way that we did not know we had other people near us. The food was excellent and our hosts were great and friendly. Game drive was well worth it, Paul made it very interesting for us and we saw lots of game. Overall, it was a wonderful break from the city and I would like to go back some time in the future.
Very good
Angus Westley, South Africa - 28 December 2007
Lovely, friendly people and good food. Nice lodge.
Definitely 5 star!!!!!
Sharon Roettger, Germany - 03 November 2007
Our stay at Malala Lodge was brilliant. The lodges/chalets were beautifully furnished and very clean. The staff were very friendly, the food excellent (and plenty of it). We also took part in the safari which was organised by the staff at Malala Lodge and our guide Peter was very informative throughout the drive and due to his wit and humour made it very enjoyable. Thank you all at Malala Lodge - definitely 5 star!!!!!
Fantastic,
louise Moore, United Kingdom - 31 October 2007
My 1st time to South Africa - it was great. Malala lodge was everything we hoped for. Pete,Jane and Paul were very friendly and made us feel at home. The accommodation was very clean and pleasant to stay in. The food was super and the surroundings very relaxing. The safari trip was great and saw lots of wildlife was hoping to see some elephants but they were not around the day we went. A lovely stay was had by all of us.
Enjoyable stay
lloyd price, South Africa - 30 September 2007
We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. The amount of privacy was perfect as were the hosts,the meals where splendid and we enjoyed the game drive with Pete very much. The one down side was that we only spent a weekend, but we can sure fix that. Hope to see you again next year. Keep up the good work. Lloyd, Chris and Stuart
Quite Refreshing
Thabang Tsontsi, South Africa - 13 August 2007
Our stay was very relaxing and my kids enjoyed life out in the bush. The unit and the facilities provided made it difficult to think about our home as we had everything we are used to. To Paul and Jane - Thank you for making our stay enjoyable.
Hospitlity
Helen Marks, South Africa - 08 August 2007
We were made at home on arrival by Paul and Jane. Accommodation was good and clean. The food was second to none. There is nothing to beat home cooking with a difference I would come again in the opportunity ever came up again. Good value for money.
Happy Bunch in Malala
Siyabonga Khanyeza, South Africa - 23 April 2007
We enjoyed every minute there. Privacy is the key to the success of every holiday and this lodge was very much condusive to that. Man I'm goin' back there when I get another chance.
Wonderful Time
erich mayer, Austria - 13 April 2007
We had a wonderful time at Malala Lodge. The owners are very friendly, the rooms are very clean, comfortable and especially quiet. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. We enjoyed to stroll around the estate. Thank you.
A wonderful experience.
Yvonne Balchin, United Kingdom - 27 February 2007
We had a very enjoyable time at Malala. Nothing was too much trouble if you had a query, food was excellent, rooms the cleanest we had on our trip, well maintained and comfortable. Would recommend to anyone wishing to enjoy a peaceful break in superb surroundings, Thanks to everyone.
Totally amazing
Sally Wemyss, South Africa - 16 January 2007
This was really a stunning place to stay. It is honestly the most relaxed that I have been in a long time. It was amazing to watch the amazing bird life, and being so close to everything you could hope to do on this section of the coast, was fantastic. Thank you Malala lodge for a wonderful time.
Truly Home from Home
Helen Veenendaal, South Africa - 15 January 2007
Malala was a very pleasant surprise! The chalets are clean and well kept, the entertainment / pool area an absolute haven in the heat and the food divine! The personal attention afforded by Jane, Pete, Leslie and Paul made us feel very welcome. We will definitely be going back in the cooler months to do the trails and walks......
Great surroundings
Guus van der Veek, Netherlands - 05 January 2007
Our stay in Malala lodge was very pleasant. The boat trip and the safari were both very interesting and enjoyable. Dinnners and breakfasts of a high standard. Great surroundings at the lodge with its own wild life.
Quiet and Comfortable
John Kilpatrick, Tucson, Arizona, USA - 24 October 2006
I was really impressed by the Lodge and found it very relaxing and comfortable. The food was very good and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
A great time
Betty and Tony Grimley, United Kingdom - 04 October 2006
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Malala Lodge. From our first meeting with Lesley and Jane, we felt at home. The food was excellent, the accommodation comfortable, the situation unique and the scope for activities extensive.
Thank you
Robert Fallenstein, South Africa - 05 September 2006
We had a wonderful time at Malala Lodge. An excellent place to enjoy your holidays. Very friendly and helpful people there.
Welcome home to Malala
Trevor Loader, United Kingdom - 19 August 2006
A stay at Malala is more like visiting friends than a tourist establishment. The atmosphere is informal and relaxed, and the family really do go out of their way to help and advise guests with absolutely anything (my toe was broken but is much better thanks). On our first evening we were greeted not only by Lesley but by a troop of mongeese foraging at the back of our chalet. Unforgettable. You really feel you are staying in the bush (with home comforts) and the stars in the night sky are simply spectacular. We took the 'Safari Special' option and had a very informative, amusing (courtesy of our host) and entertaining tour of Hluhluwe Reserve. Being surrounded by a herd of elephants in the first five minutes, on the alert for signs of restlessness, is an experience none of us were prepared for! The reserve has a much more 'native' feel than the bigger, more commercialised park we visited further north, and we actually saw more game. You simply have to go whale watching if you are there in season. Words can't describe how awe inspiring it is to see these animals close at hand. It's expensive, but go, it is a once in a lifetime experience. The Zulu village down the road was informative and the dancing very energetic and entertaining. Even our teenage daughters were impressed. Do try the Zulu beer - it was actually quite good! Our only disappointments were: not staying longer and the tour of the wetlands was a bit dull (once you've seen one hippo you've seen 'em all). The food is very good and plentiful, I can't fault the 'home style' cooking, but something a wee bit more adventurous or a choice of starters/deserts would appeal to a more international clientele. Saying that, I never heard any complaints in the dining room. I would definitely recommend Malala and go back again, maybe when it is sunnier and we can use that fantastic pool. Thanks to everyone, and I wish you every success.
Really enjoyed the tranquility
Millicent Brink, South Africa - 02 August 2006
We really enjoyed the tranquility of the bush, and the lodge is not to far from other places we wished to visit. It is the ideal place from which to visit the Hluhluwe-Umfolozi Game Reserve. A light at the outside braai would be an improvement. Thank you very much for your hospitality and the very friendly manner in which we were welcomed.
A good place to stay
Andrea Klingler, Germany - 25 July 2006
We enjoyed the perfectly equipped chalets, the atmosphere at the bar and in the dining room, walks around the lodge, a great game drive and the short distances to many things to see in the region and last but not least the hospitality of the owners. But after three dinners with rice and potatoes in the same style we would have appreciated a more inspired kitchen.
Ostern 2006
werner griesser, Switzerland - 16 May 2006
Die Malala Logde ist ein absolutes Spitzenerlebnis für den Tier und Pflanzenfreund. Für das was sie anbietet ist sie zuden sehr Preiswert! Wer den Hluhluhwe Tierpark besuchen will hat gute Chancen alle 5 grossen afrikanischen Tierarten aus nächster Nähe zu sehen.
Deep in the bush
Christine Brekenfeld, Germany - 13 May 2006
Malala Lodge is a great place to experience the feeling of a night in the bush and days in the splendid atmosphere of comfort and excellent hospitality. Only a few kilometers to Hluhluwe National Park and the Greater St. Lucia Wetland Park it is the perfect starting point for interesting tours in this area.
Peaceful
Anonymous - 02 May 2006
Peaceful and quiet. You can walk between the game
Our Views of Malala Lodge
Lesley Smith, South Africa - 16 April 2006
Excellent place to stay if you appreciate peace and quiet. The service and food was superb and we will have no hesitation in going there again. The Tour of Hluhluwe Game Park was above the normal that we have experienced in similar parks.
Malala Lodge
Martijn Oomkes, Netherlands - 20 December 2005
Malala Lodge was the top of the lodges we visited during our 3 weeks of holiday in South Africa. We can recommend the 3 days 'Safari Special' arrangement, although even this is too short time. Great hospitality, very good cooking, and the tranquillity of a 30 ha private game park made our stay unforgettable.
good time here
Marcus Gruendel, Germany - 02 December 2005
fantastic! I enjoyed it so much!
Excellent experience
Gaston Cornelis, Belgium - 01 November 2005
The 3-day deal is real value for money. Lesley found the urgently wanted dentist for a broken tooth and Pete spotted the leopards in Hluhluwe for us. A repeat visit to Zululand will certainly include this well managed family business.
Super - a home away from home
Astrid Berg, Denmark - 19 September 2005
We had a great stay at the Malala Lodge.
Lovely
melissa ault, United States of America - 08 September 2005
We really enjoyed our stay at Malala Lodge. The hospitality was wonderful, the rooms we great and they are not too far from nice places of interest. They were also very accomodating.
Malala Lodge
Anonymous - 05 September 2005
Excellent hospitality.
Malala Lodge Review
Joerg Kleindienst, Austria - 26 August 2005
Really nice stay in the middle of the bush. Very quite, very nice hosts. Perfect Breakfast and dinner. We've got the Safari Special, so more value for money.
THE PERFECT PLACE
George Burns, United Kingdom - 27 July 2005
the Malala lodge is just the most perfect place to be if you want tranquility or like me you want to see the game reserves. Lesley and all the staff treated me like one of the family, I felt so much at ease. Food is top notch, you do not get cafe type food there it is superb and plenty of it. The rooms are well equipted and very clean. They even have wild life in the grounds ,you can walk and meet Zebra, impala, and wildebeest. The Malala Lodge deserves all the praise it gets. and I for one will be going back!!


Malala Lodge
Malala Lodge offers you, the discerning visitor, and true Old World hospitality set within the splendour of untamed Africa. This owner-managed lodge, which nestles amongst tranquil sand forest, abundant Lala Palms, rolling grasslands and thriving wetlands, provides a perfect base for visitors to explore the vast and singular beauty of the Kingdom of the Zulu.

Malala Lodge is located on a 300-acre private estate in the Bushlands area, 10 km south of Hluhluwe, between the world renowned Hluhluwe Umfolozi Game Reserve, Mkuze Game Reserve, Sodwana Bay and St. Lucia. Malala Lodge is in the centre of the birding hotspot of Kwa-Zulu Natal, with over three hundred and fifty species of bird having been recorded in the area. We are also ideally located for interesting day trips to cultural villages.

The main lodge area overlooks indigenous forest where guests can relax around the cosy bar or sparkling swimming pool. Guests can also enjoy a leisurely stroll through the tranquil sand forest and grassland of Malala Lodge on well-maintained and marked walking trails.

Malala Lodge can accommodate guests on a self-catering basis, or if you would prefer, indulge yourself in genuine home-cooked meals either in the attractive thatched dining room or under the stars in an open-air Boma.

Accommodation is provided in various types of units, set in and on the verge of the sand forest, and comprises of four private, thatched, open plan chalets all with en-suite shower facilities. The chalets can accommodate two adults, or two adults and a child. All the chalets come with fully equipped kitchenettes, ceiling fans and barbeque facilities.

A self-catering chalet equipped with en-suite shower facilities, lounge, kitchenette and ceiling fans and barbeque facilities. The chalet accommodates two adults sharing. Two self-catering family cottages each comprising two en-suite bedrooms, lounge, kitchenette equipped with ceiling fans and barbecue facilities. These units can accommodate up to four adults sharing. All of the accommodation units are supplied with tea/coffee facilities and all linen and towels are provided.

A host of activities can be arranged on request; these include game drives in our open game viewing vehicle to the well-known Hluhluwe - Umfolozi game reserve. This gives guests a superb opportunity of viewing Africa’s Big Five and a multitude of other mammals, birds, reptiles and plants. Day trips to the parks and beaches of St. Lucia, Sodwana Bay and Cape Vidal for boat cruises, kayaking, snorkeling, diving and whale watching. Walking and/or horse trail through nearby parks and reserves, and Cultural Zulu Village tours where visitors can gain first-hand knowledge of traditional Zulu culture and lifestyle.


/go/malalalodge/