All Comments for Touch of Africa Lodge

Reviews 8 of 8
Couples retreat
lorraine mokgadi, South Africa - 10 December 2014
Recently visited Touch of Africa as 12 couples for two nights and we had a fantastic time. The rooms we've lovely, great ambiance - the staff was extremely polite and ever ready to assist. The lodge has a homely feel as even the owner is readily available if you need anything. Would definitely visit the lodge again!
Touch of Africa Lodge
Jack Paul, South Africa - 21 October 2013
Not looking good at all. Has deteriorated drastically since my last visit.

Establishment's response

My response is that he thought the place had been sold. This is not the case. There is a for sale sign at the top of the road 1/2km away.

The Lodge has an indigenous garden and it has been very dry in Gauteng so it is like being in the Kruger Park in winter. We have since had rain and everything is shooting green leaves and looking good.

The client told me personally that he could not tell me exactly why he thought it had deteriorated but the food and service were very good.
Great staff
Glynis Domingo, South Africa - 14 January 2013
I stayed in the lodge for 5 days from New Year's day. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and rooms are a pleasure with comfortable beds. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would definitely go back again. Improvements - breakfast: There were no cereals, juices etc.
African experience
Ruby Pretorius, South Africa - 28 September 2012
I found the lodge to be good value for money, very close to Lanseria Airport, private, with a huge bedroom and beautiful bathroom. There are no shops close by and only basic meals and drinks are supplied by the lodge, so if you need anything more, come prepared. In hot weather, ask for a room far away from the stables if a few flies might upset you, but the novelty of being close to beautiful horses is worth this small inconvenience. I would definately stay at the lodge again.
A man's world of no soap and dirty cups
Alexandra Duval Smith, South Africa - 06 September 2012
Sorry but I didn't like it. No soap or toiletries in the room. Asked for a mug to have a free cup of coffee and was handed a dirty one. Staff friendly but I got the impression they were out of their depth and working for Louise who was much more interested in her horses than in her guests. Have a feeling that with all those pilots and engineers staying there, they just don't have to make an effort. For instance the duvet cover on the bed was upside down so one had metal buttons in one's face: a case of staff not being trained and supervised properly?
Thank you
Ntokozo Justice Biyela, South Africa - 04 September 2012
Very nice place; that needs to be given the 4 Star rating. One thing that needs to be looked at are the directions on the road.
Good
Carlo Martemucci, South Africa - 07 July 2012
Thank you for good service, comfortable and clean accomodation and a reasonable rate.
Rejuvenated
Eleri Morgan, South Africa - 19 December 2011
We travelled to Johannesburg for a wedding this weekend and stayed here for two nights. We had the most relaxing, chilled time. We came home feeling like we had a proper holiday which wasn't our intention at all. We were really just looking for somewhere to put our heads down for the night, but we got so much more than that! The lodge was easy to find. What I didn't know was that there was a Lion Park just around the corner, so was an absolute bonus to be able to visit that while we were up there. The room was beautifully done - I wasn't expecting such an enormous bed, so that was a lovely surprise. The gardens are beautiful, with indiginous plants everywhere. I find Johannesburg can be quite dry, so these plants everywhere were amazing, and had a great cooling effect. We ordered dinner there on Friday night, and we were both completely satisfied! Delicious lasagna. Breakfast was also very satisfying and prepared us for each day. The staff are very friendly and the owner, Louise, has such a lovely manner which we thought was amazing. We had lovely chats with her and found out about her plants, how they make their hot water and how she made her pool. I found the pool to be a quiet, peaceful sanctuary. I was quite impressed that they made an effort to use non-Eskom power for the hot water. This was rather inspiring for us as we would like to move away from total dependance on Eskom power. We would definitely visit again, and I highly reccommend this place to others who are looking to take a break away from city life.


Touch of Africa Lodge
Touch of Africa Lodge is located adjacent to Lanseria International Airport, making this the perfect venue for pilots and engineers. We are close to local function venues, and ideal for weekend breaks.

The ambiance as one walks into the lodge is very African, the music is relaxing and helps one feel at home immediately. When entering the main entrance of the lodge, the lounge area is inviting with leather couches and a rustic bar. The quietness one feels is very unusual for a lodge in such close proximity to a large airport.

The dining area has a homely feeling and guests can enjoy all their home cooked meals, breakfast lunch and dinner here. After dinner, the outside patio lends itself to a peaceful evening under the African stars.

Each room in the lodge has been uniquely decorated with an African theme, yet very upmarket and comfortable. Visitors are invited to enjoy staying over in comfortable rooms and feasting on home cooked meals.

Guests can take a short walk in the lodge grounds and view the aircraft taking off and landing. With Touch of Africa Lodge team’s warm hospitality and the unique African environment, you can rest assured your stay will be most enjoyable.

A true African experience is only a call and booking away.


/go/TouchofAfricaLodge/