All Comments for River View Cottages

Reviews 16 of 16
A little Paradise
Philippe Tellier, South Africa - 16 December 2013
What a nice little spot, out of the way and so relaxing. The swim in the River was great, and the cottages are well equipped and very comfortable. Definitely a spot to stay.
Amazing
Mike O'Shea, South Africa - 27 November 2013
One of the occasions that one gets both more than one expected and great value. Would definitely return
Fantastic
Paul van Dam, South Africa - 16 October 2013
Absolutely fantastic, piece of paradise, great facilities!
Treasure
Jaco Geldenhuys, South Africa - 12 September 2013
We are very happy to have discovered this jewel of a place. The accommodation is immaculate and comfortable - everything had been thought of! Our hosts were super-friendly and the dogs were a treat! Thoroughly enjoyed the quiet and beauty and we're definitely going back.
Heartland
Martin Oosthuizen, South Africa - 19 August 2013
Ancient landscapes, silence, peace. We have never stayed in a place which enchanted us more. The simplicity of the cottage gave it grace - and yet it had every comfort: unobtrusive, sophisticated, thoughtful and charming. The fireplace in the bedroom is a winner.
Lovely and peaceful
Jacques Cronje, South Africa - 14 August 2013
Clean, quite, lots to do, friendly and beautiful. We could really relax and recuperate.
Outstanding
nicky page, South Africa - 13 July 2013
An outstanding place. What a pleasure to find a self catering cottage that's not filled with somebody's leftover furniture, but rather, stylishly put together for comfort and pleasure. Attention to detail from long matches for the indoor fireplace to a deliciously cozy bed spread to a hammock on the stoep. It really is just perfect. Thank you so much for giving us the pleasure of being able to stay there.
RVC south
Francois Zietsmann, South Africa - 06 May 2013
Excellent place with lovely hospitality by Colin and Bronwyn. Thanks so much!
Wonderful
Johan Haasbroek, South Africa - 28 December 2012
What a wonderfull place! We loved every second of our stay! See you again soon!
Awesome
Gerhard Schlenther, South Africa - 02 December 2012
We had a great time!
Amazing place, take a fishing rod
Martin Roots, England - 19 March 2012
A really glorious spot with paths around the hills marked out in white stones. The cottages are basic but comfortable. Brai outside with wood ready to go. There was a canoe to explore the river. Take a fishing rod. Our hosts were fantastic. Road gravel not tarmac but in good nick. Strongly recommend this for a beautiful out of the way experience.
Ultimate in relaxation
Birgit burtscher, South Africa - 02 January 2012
On arrival we were greeted with peace and quiet, nothing but beautiful Karoo scenery and a cosy, rather modern cottage with lovely finishes. We enjoyed our walks with 'Jock'. Enjoyed watching Bronwyn and family take a leisurely drive on their tractor and trailer with kids, and Wippets following behind - it is lovely to see them relax too! We really, really loved the stay. The only little problem we had was the comfort of a too soft mattress that had us aching the following day. We would love to return even for long weekends often, but the mattresses need serious attention. Further more this getaway deserves a 10-out-of-10 rating and I wish them all the best with their little paradise. Thank you so much for a beautiful stay and I hope you let us know when you get comfy mattresses, and we sure will be back in a jiffy.
Very good
marina Erasmus, South Africa - 22 August 2011
Ons sal vreeslik graag wil teruggaan, maar vir langer. Dit is pragtig daar. Bronwyn is baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Net een ietsie, die matras was baie sag - miskien kan julle daarna kyk. Geen ander klagtes nie. We would love to visit again, but for longer. It is beautiful there. Bronwyn is very friendly and helpful. The mattress was a bit soft - maybe you can look at that. N other complaints.
Great place
Joe Crouch, South Africa - 20 April 2011
Without doubt the best stay of our three-week trip. Superb, wild location, lovely cottage, tranquility, birds, the lot.
Attention to detail
Corlie Smart, South Africa - 24 March 2011
We stayed at the cottages for only one evening and Bronwyn were so kind as to inform us that we could leave the next day whenever we wanted to as the cottage was not booked. We had a lovely stroll along the river, sat on the raft under the willow trees, and had a lazy last day of our weekend. The accommodation was stunning! Attention to every little detail is evident everywhere. From the stunning huge wooden chopping block in the kitchen to the fireplace already packed with wood, just waiting for a match to be drawn. Value for money is an absolute understatement. I would love to go back there. In the perfect world I would have liked the cottages be further apart. But that doesn’t mean that the neighbours were within earshot. Having said that, I would not want anyone to get the impression that it is not private enough, I just love wide open spaces around me.
Be back soon!
Gerhard Swart, South Africa - 01 January 2011
White, crisp, fresh linen. Cottages 5 Star. Be back soon.


River View Cottages
River View Cottages overlook a sweeping bend in the Gamka River. The three cottages are situated in the Matjiesvlei valley on the River Farm in the heart of three world biodiversity hotspots near Calitzdorp in the Little Karoo.

Come and enjoy walking amongst the Karoo koppies, swimming and fishing in the river, the wildlife and livestock of the River Farm, and the view from your patio of the river and the expansive Swartberg Mountain Range. At the end of the day, watch the sunset and the stars appear as you barbecue in the boma.

River View Cottages are three self-catering, free-standing cottages. Each is unique and accommodates up to two guests. The bedroom has a double bed with en-suite shower, and bed linen and bath towels are provided. The living room contains a comfortable lounge area, dining table and a fully-equipped kitchen with spring water on tap. All you need to bring is food. Each cottage has an indoor fireplace and an outdoor barbecue facility. There is also a central boma with barbecue facilities, ideal for groups of friends occupying the cottages.

River View Cottages are situated in the heart of a world biodiversity hotspot. This means that they are situated in one of the most biologically-rich and most endangered areas on earth. There are 35 such areas in the world and three of them, namely the succulent Karoo, Fynbos and Subtropical Thicket, intersect in this area. For an area to be declared a biodiversity hotspot, it must contain at least 1500 species of endemic plants or animals, and have lost at least 70% of it’s original habitat. This is what gives it it’s special conservation status and makes it especially interesting. Eco-tourism and the interested involvement of as many concerned visitors as possible, is an essential part of biodiversity hotspot conservation.

You can take leisurely walks on the farm roads, along the river’s edge and explore the Karoo koppies. If you feel more inclined towards further exertion, there are a variety of challenging hikes which take you into the pristine wilderness of the area. One such challenging hike is the ‘Poort Hike’, up the Gamka River through the gorge between the Klein and Groot Swartberg Mountains into Gamkaskloof. The Poort Hike requires some preparation and is best undertaken with a guide or at least GPS route co-ordinates.

The yellowfish in the Gamka River provide many passionate fishermen with their favourite fly-fishing. There are also black bass, mogga and eel for those who prefer stationary fishing. The area is a bird watcher's paradise with over 118 different species spotted. The resident pair of fish eagles share a view of the river with you. The Grey heron, hamerkop, cormorant and various kingfishers also favour the elevated vantage point above the river. Smaller birds like weavers, bee-eaters and swallows are always active between the river and the vegetation. The region also boasts the highest concentration of Pale Chanting Goshawk in the southern hemisphere. High over the Swartberg the black eagle can be spotted gliding in search of prey.


/go/riverviewcottages/