All Comments for Eddie's Self-catering and B&B

Reviews 35 of 35
Wonderful Stay
Alison Du Pont, South Africa - 08 October 2014
We had a great stay. Dawn is very friendly and welcoming. The place is homely and well equipped. It was a pity our stay was so short.
Cozy and very comfy
Adri Venter, South Africa - 01 September 2014
Eddie's B&B is very affordable, clean and super cozy. Lovely staying with you guys. Will definitely visit again! Thanks a million!
Karen Croucamp, South Africa - 24 July 2014
We has a great stay at Eddies, unit is very well appointed and clean, with amazing views of the mountains. Would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Eddies.
Very pleasant!
Angelique Henderson, South Africa - 14 July 2014
The little flat was neat cosy on arrival. Dawn was very welcoming. When we got back from breakfast, the room was already cleaned and neat and tidy. We had a very pleasant stay.
Tammiene de pierres, South Africa - 07 July 2014
Lovely place, well looked after and very welcoming
Great Stay!
Stephanie Abrami, South Africa - 13 June 2014
Dawn was very helpful in recommending things to do in the area. Stayed in the June unit with my sister and her husband and really enjoyed it. Great use of space. Appreciated having the little kitchen prep area and so many warm blankets and heaters for the winter chill. Would definitely stay again, great deal!
When in Clarens....
Natasha Bryant, South Africa - 10 January 2014
... Stay at Eddies. We had a wonderful stay at Eddie's. It's ideally situated, being a short walk from the town. Dawn is a fantastic host, in that she was willing to take us on walks, and help us out with any information we needed regarding the town. We highly recommend Eddies to anybody that stays in Clarens.
Rehet
Rehet theron, South Africa - 12 August 2013
We had a wonderful stay. Very cozy it feels at home. We are definitely going back
Brilliant!
Erik Buitendach, South Africa - 12 August 2013
We had an amazing experience. Went there for our anniversary. Dawn, the owner, was kind enough to upgrade us to a bigger unit at no extra charge. The place is extremely neat and well maintained. Brilliant and affordable cleaning service. Amazing views of the mountains. Free daily walks up the mountain. Could not have asked for better accommodation.
Fantastic B&B, lovely owner
Zoe Raffray, South Africa - 27 May 2013
After booing this accommodation based solely on the reviews I read, I have to say I agree with everyone who says it is a gem in Clarens. We arrived on the Friday afternoon and were greeted by Dawn the owner. She is absolutely lovely, knows everything there is to know about the do's and don’ts of Clarens and is willing to give any of her guests’ advice. We stayed in the unit called Santa: very cosy with a fireplace, heated blankets and our own little kitchenette. And for only R30 a day the room gets cleaned, dishes done, beds made etc. We were really impressed with the quality of the room; the bedding was lovely as was the mattress. We will most definitely consider Eddie's again if we return to Clarens.
Lovely guest house
Stefan Dreyer, South Africa - 05 March 2013
Really enjoyed our stay, will certainly make use of Eddie's again.
Absolutely out of this world
Clifford Letsolo, South Africa - 18 December 2012
Accommordation was superb. Very clean and I liked the fact that the staff goes an extra mile, like washing and ironing clothes without any extra charge. Dawn(owner) took us for a mountain walk of which I think was very adventurerous for "Gautengers" and has taught us a lesson that no matter how hard the climbing can be, ones you have reached your peak, the rest will just be smooth. Thank you Dawn.
Thank you
Paul herbst, South Africa - 01 October 2012
New, nicely decorated, neat, friendly people. However we tried to change booking from 12 to 8 people but were refused and we had to settle the full bill for 12 people only to hear that accomodation was desperately needed for the weekend (weddings etc). We could have saved some money and others could have had accomodation if only the request to change the booking could have been granted. It is recommended that the policy on changing bookings be reviewed.
Home far away from home
aldi ahza, South Africa - 19 July 2012
My family spent one night at Eddie's and absolutely loved it there! It was more than what we have expected and we're really glad that we chose Eddie's. We stayed at the unit called June. It is a two bedroom, self-catering unit. The unit is well equipped, cozy, clean and homey. The view from the units (in particular June and Santa) is spectacular! Overlooking the Maluti Mountains. The owner, Dawn, welcomed us as we arrived. She is such a warm, friendly person and quite an artist too - beautiful paintings inside the unit are painted by her. We definitely recommend Eddie's to anyone coming to Clarens. Can't wait to plan our next trip to Clarens and looking forward to stay at Eddies again!
Very comfortable stay
steven Adendorff, South Africa - 05 March 2012
Recommended accommodation, well-equipped unit, clean and comfortable.
Lovely stay
Sarah Taylor, South Africa - 30 November 2011
We had a lovely stay. Dawn was very friendly and we felt very welcome. Accommodation was very neat and well equipped. lovely views of the mountains. Just a pity we didn't have a longer stay.
Great
Jan Mostert, South Africa - 21 September 2011
The accommodation was clean, well appointed, comfortable and well equipped for self-catering. The establishment is within easy walking distance of the town center and restaurants. The upstairs apartments have stunning views of the mountains. Our stay was enjoyable and we recommend Eddies without reservations.
Excellent
Philip Kapp, South Africa - 01 August 2011
Excellent value for money and hospitality. Very comfortable accommodation.
Great
Guillaume Oberholzer, South Africa - 02 April 2011
Vier van ons, twee afgetrede pare, het twee aande hier oorgebly. Dit was 'n baie lekker en genotvolle ondervinding. Alles was pragtig skoon en netjies; Dawn was baie vriendelik en behulpsaam. Ons kan Eddie's sonder voorbehoud aanbeveel. Four of us, two retired couples, stayed here for two nights. It was a very nice and enjoyable experience. Everything was beautifully clean and neat; Dawn was very friendly and helpful. We can recommend Eddies without reservation.
Recommended
Sonika Bothma, South Africa - 14 March 2011
We enjoyed our stay. Dawn was very friendly and helpful. The unit itself was very cosy. It was also nice that they cleaned the unit every day. We would refer other people to her.
Great
Doug Laurie, South Africa - 05 January 2011
My wife and I stayed in the June unit which has a great view. Though basic, the unit was clean and had everything we needed. It's also just a short walk to the town centre, so it was convenient while also being quiet. And Dawn's price was excellent. We had another quote for the same nine days that cost R9000 more - needless to say we didn't accept it. Dawn was away for most of the time but stand-ins Francois and Jan looked after us very well. (And as a footnote, if you are taken ill in Clarens (which my wife was), the Hoogland Medi-Clinic in Bethlehem deserves the highest praise. It's like hospitals used to be!)
Enjoyable B&B
Pauline Prinsloo, South Africa - 03 January 2011
Clarens is a very cosy town, and Eddies was comfortable, hosts, friendly and accommodating and helpful - really had a good stay even though shorter than anticipated. Just one small suggestion - the small units could do with a fan or air-con - it was very hot inside the unit as it was a scorcher of a day until later the evening when it cooled off with the rain.
Ideal
Sidney Mountjoy, South Africa - 28 December 2010
Accommodation was ideal for what we needed as we were only travelling through. Reception on arrival was great and settling in was fine. Do hope to stay longer next time.
Eddies Self-catering
Chris Roberts, South Africa - 07 October 2010
It was a wonderful relaxing stay, with the most spectacular views.
Eddie's B & B
Chava Caplan, South Africa - 28 September 2010
Staying at Eddie's B&B was wonderful experience, the location, rates and accommodation was very helpful and hospitable. Staying up late on Thursday to welcome us and organised a late supper for us. Really great place - highly recommended.
Eddies Anki
Hans Brits, South Africa - 02 August 2010
We got married in Clarens Methodist Church 7 years ago. It is tradition to visit Clarens since then for our aniversary annually. We (two adults and two kids) managed to book ANKI at Eddies during the weekend of 30 August -1 September 2010. This was without doubt our best experience of Clarens. The main contributing factor was the luxurious facilities of Anki with her spacious rooms, well equipped kitchen, fire place, the best view of the Maluti's from the stoep - where we shared as family good memories while we enjoyed good wine and the tranquility of this precious pearl of the Free State. The overall cleanliness of the unit, the secure parking area, the fact that we were at walking distance from the major shops, restaurants and attractions added to our good memories of our stay. One thing is sure, we will visit Clarens again and we will ensure that we stay next time again at Eddies.
Thank you for a wonderful stay!!!
Anonymous, South Africa - 10 July 2010
It was really our money well spent. Everything was excellent! A very cosy place and very friendly people!
Stay at Eddies
Gavin Dun, South Africa - 22 June 2010
It was brilliant! Definitely one of the best. I shall go back again!!!
Comfortable stay
Anonymous, South Africa - 17 June 2010
Friendly host, comfortable accommodation.
Wonderful
Chantel Holtzhausen, South Africa - 31 May 2010
Relaxed. Loved the mountain view. Felt right at home.
Eddies aan te beveel
Karin Kruger, South Africa - 19 April 2010
Heerlik tuisgegaan by Eddies die afgelope naweek. Dawn is 'n knap gasvrou en haar liefde vir die pragtige omgewing is aansteeklik. Sy is vriendelik en professioneel en ons sal beslis weer soontoe kan gaan
It was very nice
Elize Van Wyk, South Africa - 12 April 2010
All that we needed were there. We love you Dawn.
Eddies Guest house, Clarens
Angus Snowden, South Africa - 18 March 2010
Very hospitable welcome from Dawn who made sure we were well looked after and had good knowledge of the village
Recommended
Heidi steyn, South Africa - 08 March 2010
Very nice accommodation - neat and clean and comfortable. Dawn was wonderful !
Very nice.
Joanita Gunter, South Africa - 01 February 2010
Neat. Close to everything. Thank you for a great stay!


Eddie's Self-catering and B&B
Eddie's Self-catering and B&B, owned by Dawn Trevelyan, offers affordable style and comfort with great mountain views and many activities. If you are looking for accommodation in Clarens, you have come to the right place. Eddie's B&B is central to the many art galleries, restaurants, pubs and interesting shops in Clarens and is only a five-minute walk away from the centre of town.

From Eddie's B&B, guests are able to view the many atmospheres found in the surrounding mountains. Atmospheres caused by thunderstorms, rain, veld fires, mist, full moon, sunset and sunrise. It is not only the external environment that will appeal to you, but also the Eddie's art gallery and the various artists' paintings, which are exhibited in all the units.

Five self-catering units sleep a maximum of 16 people. Each unit is equipped with a microwave, fridge, toaster, kettle, cooking and eating utensils, as well as outside braai facilities and a Wi-Fi. Breakfast and meals can also be arranged, if required.

The units June, Santa and Anki have stoves, as well as fireplaces, and linen, towels, dishcloths, coffee, sugar, tea and toilet paper are provided. All units have activity lists with contact details on what to do in area and in Clarens. The units are daily serviced, and electric blankets and heaters are provided for guests' comfort. Secure off-road parking is also provided.


/go/EddiesSelfcateringClarens/