All Comments for Barra Lake and Sea

Reviews 16 of 16
Not happy at all!
Jacques Anderson, South Africa - 29 September 2013
The pictures tell a different story. Their is trees in front of the whole lake with no view what so ever. The owner said the kids can canoe in the lake yes and fall in the lake with all the water snakes I think not !! The house inside is horrible old and outdated not the picture you see with the 2 chairs nicely looking over the lake:( They have generators and no electricity we paid R3000 and when we arrived and viewed the place we phoned the owner later that afternoon and decided this is not the holiday place we wanted to stay at we phoned the owner and told him the story and he said they don't refund accommodation bookings even though they lied on their pictures. We didn't sleep their and booked the rest of our holiday at Bay view estate. What a disappointment!

Establishment's response

Jacques,

I read your review on SafariNow and just want to reply on that.

It is a pity that you didn’t speak to Abrie before you left the premises and only phoned after you already left. Children as little as 3 years old snorkel and swim in the lake, and row on the boards or in the canoe’s without anyone ever been “attacked by a snake”! The Snake Sea Cucumber that you find in the lake is harmless. When we take people to the reef for snorkeling we do a thorough session where we inform them on the do’s and don’ts. You were informed by Abrie that you are the first guests to have electricity for your full time of stay(the guests before you only had 3 days out of their 8 days of stay), on your arrival.

And still you mentioned in your review that there is no electricity! The unit you were suppose to stay in was build after the advertisement was placed and therefore the 16-sleeper appears on the photo’s. The view is as mentioned in the advertisement, I’m afraid you didn’t stay long enough to appreciate it!

You didn’t react on the e-mail which asked for full payment to be done before arrival(as most places do) and didn’t read the conditions of cancellation as stipulated.

If you were not satisfied with what you received for what you paid, then it is a matter of preference! The house that was next to you belongs to a person from Austria, who stayed at Bay View the first time he visited Barra. When he came to Barra Lake and Sea for the first time, he fell in love with the place and decided to invest in a place for himself. He stayed in the same 6-sleeper that you were suppose to stay in for a few times while building his own place, and never complained although he is a world traveler and has no shortage as far as money is concerned. That’s why I say- a matter of preference!

My I please request that in future, before you get in your vehicle and drive away from a place of accommodation if you are not pleased(and then phone after you left to insist for a refund of your deposit), to rather go to the owner/manager and sort things out face to face. That is the right thing to do!

Regards

Irma

Barra Lake and Sea

PS. As we could have rent out the place a few times for the period that you booked, it is unfortunate that you deposit is not refundable.

Barra Lake and sea stay
Nicolette Davids, South Africa - 21 August 2013
The accommodation was quaint and just what we needed. The view was breath taking, those who assisted us were friendly and helpful. Met the owner briefly on our last day - seemed like a friendly person. The only suggestion, is to have MUCH more clear signage on the sand road leading to the accommodation. It was our first trip to Mozambique and we arrived late and nearly missed the sign on the tree. All in all, enjoyed our stay.
Very good description of the place
Johannes Moller Nel, South Africa - 21 July 2013
It was a wonderful 8 days that we spend at Barra Lake and Sea. The owner and Host Abrie was very kind and his hospitality was magnificent! The accommodation, atmosphere, view and there seafood meal at the restaurant was excellent! I will certainly recommend the place and will go back there to stay even longer as soon as possible!
Home from home
mandy hogg, South Africa - 08 April 2013
What an awesome experience. The most magic couple who own/run this resort. Felt like we were with family - the kind that bends over backwards! We thought, after taking a day trip to check out the other resorts, that BARRA LAKE AND SEA had much more to offer than some of the "fancier" resorts. The view, the snorkelling, dhow trip and friendly attention! I have already recommended the venue.
Barra Lake and Sea
Sanri Kotze, South Africa - 05 April 2013
We had a wonderful stay at Barra Lake and Sea!Nice view of the Lake! The hosts Abrie and Irma went the extra mile! Nice comfortable beds! Maybe you can add a microwave, fryingpan steakknives and Casserole for the "Braaivleis" to the kitchen! We enjoyed every minute and will visit yu again!
Amazing
Lauritz van der Merwe, South Africa - 14 March 2013
The dirt road getting there is rough, but not impossible for a 2X4. The rooms at the lodge are very clean and spacious. It also has a big kitchen and the whole lodge is well stocked with cutlery and linen and all you need is your own towel. The staff, especially Abrie, are very friendly and helpful and if you need anything all you have to do is ask. The snorkelling on the reef was fantastic and the boat trip to the island unforgetable. The view is fantastic over the lake and they have a very unique little bar and restaurant with a swimming pool that you have to experience. There are paddle ski's available free of charge and rowing on the lake is an amazing experience. And as far as I know they are also the only place that supplies you with a free pizza on arrival and breakfast the next morning. If you really need to kick back, unwind and relax this is the place.
Lovely and awesome
WENDY RABIE, South Africa - 30 October 2012
Lovely house, well equipped! We had everything we needed and more. Locals sell their fish to you right at your front door. Bought tiger prawns at Tofo. Awesome!
Nice
Jean Britz, South Africa - 16 July 2012
What a nice, quiet break away from city life situated next to the lake. It was a wonderful experience not to be missed, especially the dhow trip to Porcos Island and the interaction with the locals there. The snorkelling at the reef with the sea horses and sea stars were great as well as the trip to Pansy Island. For sure a vacation not to be missed! Abrie and Irma are two amazing people who looked after our needs! The dogs, Pumba and Jack, also made deep paw prints in our hearts!
Great
Michael Smulian, South Africa - 11 January 2012
I had a great experience at Barra Lake and Sea. The staff were friendly. The dogs were friendly, especially Pumba. The rate included the use of the kayaks and snorkeling in the reef. It was all a pleasant experience and I will certainly be back. It definitely contributed to making my holiday the best thus far - truly unforgettable. Thanks to Ambri, his wife and company.
Fun in the sun
Stean van der Walt, South Africa - 05 January 2012
After our recent stay at Barra Lake and Sea, I can honestly say that I will go back there whenever the opportunity arises. This is great accommodation with friendly staff, and the greatest view in Mozambique. The tranquil atmosphere makes Barra Lake and Sea one of the better lodges in Mozambique. Thank you Irma and Abrie, we had a great time!
Amazing holiday
Gary zwanepoel, South Africa - 22 October 2011
Absolutely wonderful! Abri and his staff are great hosts and did everything in their power to make us comfortable and relaxed. We will definitely visit again and again. For a true Mozambique experience, I would advise anyone to visit Barra Lake and Sea.
Awesome place
Moolman Van Aarde, South Africa - 04 May 2011
This is a must for anyone who wants to explore the Barra area. Safe, friendly, comfortable and relaxing. Just arrive and enjoy!
Awesome
Viren Maharaj, South Africa - 03 May 2011
It was an awesome holiday. Abri and Irma are absolutely wonderful people and very helpful. We enjoyed the snorkelling and the beaches were amazing. Will definitely be back.
Amazing
Alethea Oosthuizen, South Africa - 29 January 2011
We had an amazing time. This was a great place with great views and great people. Thanks to Abri and his family for a lovely stay.
Excellent stay at barra lake and sea
Hannes steyn, South Africa - 19 December 2010
This was the best stay ever in my life. The owner of the place made it so great for us, it felt like we were part of the family. I will most definitely go back there. Thank you for a great holiday.
The Lodge is in an idyllic setting with truly incredible views!
Anonymous, South Africa - 12 January 2010
As of Jan 2010 - You definitely need a 4x4 to access the road to the lodge (and the public road into Inhambane was in terrible condition - if you're in a normal sedan you'll need to take it very slow). The lodge was in some ways unfinished - but hopefully the owners will attend to the teething problems asap, as this will be a truly special site once it complete. There is no beach within walking distance (you pretty much need to drive anywhere), but this does make the lodge nice and private / secluded


Barra Lake and Sea
Barra Lake and Sea Resort is situated on the banks of the Inhambane Estuary and has got perfect views and sunsets . The Resort is not on the beach , but surrounded by Mangrove forests that covers the banks of the Estuary . Our wooden walkways onto the water leads to endless experiences into the water , with higher tides, and onto the estuary floor with lower tides .

Mozambique , Inhambane , Barra Lake and Sea Resort is situated on the periphery of the Inhambane estuary . Quiet surrounding , comfortable accommodation , picturesque views and friendly people . New we also now offer Romantic weddings at affordable prices . Make your stay fun filled with the lots of activities that we offer . Swimming , Sea-horse snorkeling , Dhow trips , Foefie-slide , paddling , wind surfing ,walking trials and much more.

We offer a relaxing atmosphere and a paradise for nature-lovers who want to share in all the excitement that the area offers, and want to relax with perfect views and surroundings back at the resort. Accommodation is offered in self-catering chalets, above the normal standards for the area, and well-built with tiled floors and glass showers.

The roads leading to the area are of a high standard . The last 3 km to the Resort is still a sand road and you would need assistance when you drive this road for the first time .


/go/BarraLakeandSeaPraiadaBarra/