All Comments for Big Creek Guest Lodge

Reviews 19 of 19
Ralaxed stay
Jacqui Malepeng, South Africa - 25 August 2014
A place to unwind and relax, friendly crew. Really feel refreshed. It's unfortunate our stay was short, it would have been great to stay longer, which is what we will do next time.
Great Stay
Rafael Barnett, South Africa - 14 July 2014
Very reasonable price. Beautiful. Peaceful. Not far from Jhb.
Gugu Kheswa, South Africa - 26 May 2014
Our stay at Big Creek lodge was fantastic. The place was so remarkable, the supper was so delicious and mouthwatering. We had a wonderful and a peaceful time all thanks to Arno, the hospitality and friendliness was beyond our expectation. if you're planing a perfect getaway with your loved ones, Big Creek is the place to be.
Family weekend away
Heidi , South Africa - 05 May 2014
We had such a lovely time. Arno is friendly and helpful and the lodge is really great! My only complaint would be that the units are not serviced.
Awesome Easter
Charmaine , South Africa - 23 April 2014
Thank you Arno, we will definitely be back. Your hospitality was fantastic!
Relaxing stay
C de Wet, South Africa - 23 December 2013
A lovely guest farm in a peaceful setting. The ideal getaway to do absolutely nothing but relax! The owners of Big Creek are welcoming and friendly and add to the enjoyability of the stay.
Wonderful
WERNER GELDENHUYS, South Africa - 22 October 2013
Its a wonderful place. Clean and great staff.. definitely recommend it. Will go back soon. Thanks.
Awesome family getaway
Alexia de Beer, South Africa - 08 October 2013
Awesome experience, friendly host, perfect family spot, and a lovely laid-back environment, and the kids had loads of space to run and play freely.
Mediocre experience
Jyothi Reddy, South Africa - 18 June 2013
10 out of 10 for the rooms being clean. We had the family unit - I was expecting something similar to the pictures on this website but we got 2 interleading rooms, with a view of the wall separating us from the pub. You enter into the one room which serves as a bedroom and kitchen, with the second room leading off from the kitchen side, and 2 single beds in each room. there is no space for a table/ chairs (2 barstools and high table present) so we ate sitting on the beds because it was too cold to sit outside - which had a table but only 2 chairs. this would be awkward for a family of 4, for sure. there were no oven or microwavable dishes. Not sure if this is not done anymore but there was no soap to wash your hands in the bathroom. the hosts were friendly. For the price we paid, this was not really what I was expecting. Not a place to relax for the day. Its great if you want a clean place with friendly hosts to sleep, shower and head out.
Our experience
Jonelda Sutherland, South Africa - 25 February 2013
We had a pleasant, peaceful experience.
Lovely
Holly Swanepoel - 14 January 2013
Relaxing, peaceful, quiet. There was ample hot water, little things like a wine opener and diswashing liquid were thought of. They even had the aircon on so we arrived to a cool cabin which was lovely. We had a drink with Arno in the bar, he's a wonderful host. Will definitely return. Thank you.
Awesome time
Emma Roberts, South Africa - 29 October 2012
What an awesome time my girls and I had at Big Creek Lodge. The warmth and hospitality from Arno and Willie was lovely. We had a beautiful time and will definitely be back.
Lovely place to stay
Sarah Jones, South Africa - 10 September 2012
The scenery is beautiful, the people are very friendly, it has the most wonderfully relaxing atmosphere. My only criticism would be that the beds were uncomfortable. But that said, I would definitely go back.
Peaceful and private
Lucinda George, South Africa - 04 January 2012
Great place to stay, peaceful and private, cabin very nice and well equipped. The lodge is beautiful and well kept, surrounded by great views of the mountains.
Peaceful
Reagan Matthews, South Africa - 12 December 2011
We had a lovely time, it was so peaceful and the staff were very friendly. We will definitely stay here again.
Excellent
Hillary Maytham, South Africa - 03 October 2011
Excellent venue to get together with friends. You have your own privacy when the fun is over.
Lovely
Reagan Matthews, South Africa - 27 September 2011
We had a lovely time. Definitely will stay there again. It is breathtaking. Thanks to the staff at Big Creek. You made us feel at home.
A lovely place!
Lydia starky, South Africa - 03 May 2011
We had a great time at Big Creek! The friendly people and peaceful surroundings made for a great getaway from the rat race in Johannesburg. Thank you so much for that personal touch. Would recommend anytime!
Big Creek Guest Lodge
Melani Snyders, South Africa - 17 August 2009
Arno en Fam Baie dankie vir 'n ongelooflike wegbreek - ek en die kinders het dit baie geniet. Dit is verseker bederf!!! Dit spel nog!!!! En nog!!!! Groetnis Melani


Big Creek Guest Lodge
Some 13 kms from Magaliesburg and 300m off the R24 to Rustenburg, situated in a tranquil valley facing the Magaliesburg Mountains, an hour from Johannesburg and Pretoria, is the peaceful and picturesque Big Creek Guest Lodge. Built on a 17 hectare portion of the original Boschfontein farm, which varies from rocky kopies to a quiet stream under weeping willow trees.

The Lodge has a 3 star rating by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa, with a beautifully appointed double and family on-suite self-catering units. These units lead off a large court yard with unique fire place. A self-catering two sleeper fisher-mans Log Cabin has an open kitchen and overlooks a small dam.

The courtyard can also be a convenient get together area if the lodge is booked as a block booking for extended family weekends, birthday parties etc. Either way you will receive all the care and attention you deserve from our friendly staff and assured of a quiet and peaceful stay.

Facilities and activities. A rustic furnished lounge with DStv is available to those that enjoy their news and sport. Games room with a full size Snooker table, dart board and bar, residents only. Conference and function area seating 100 guests with own Bar, Boma and ablutions. A pool set in a lovely garden with rolling lawns over looking a small dam is the perfect place to unwind.
The above facilities are ideal for Team building events, conferencing and weddings.

Fishing is on farm as well as Trout fishing in well-stocked dams within walking distance on neighboring farm. Excellent horse riding available on equestrian farms close by. Cyclist's can enjoy both on and off road with a spectacular mountain bike route over Breedtsnek Pass.

Walk the 17 hectare property through open grassland on the higher ground, to the forest and wetland area along the river. The farm is also an excellent birding venue.

Being in the heart of the Magalies Meander, there are many shopping and adventure activities from which to choose. Game drives with the Big 5, Lion fence only 3 kms away, Micro light flights, Gliders, Canopy tours and Hot air ballooning and much more are available for you to explore.


/go/BigCreekLodgeMagaliesburg/