Call us: +27 21 710 5800

All Comments for AshTree Guest House

Reviews 29 of 29
Very good overnight stay
Maureen Arkley-Romer, South Africa - 05 March 2014
We enjoyed a peaceful overnight stay at AshTree Guest House. The owners were very friendly and helpful.
Lovely
Stephanie Els, South Africa - 26 November 2013
Lovely little guesthouse, Owner's are wonderful, friendly people. We arrived late and Mrs Van Heerden was friendly and very welcoming. Great place for a stop on your way to CT/PTA. Will always remember this place and friendly owners of the guesthouse.
Clean and comfortable
Michele Brickhill, South Africa - 25 September 2013
Mrs B was very hospitable. The accommodation was clean and comfortable for a stop over. Would have been nice to have a breakfast offered. We went to the local hotel for a drink and supper. People are very friendly and the supper was good.
Comfortable
Margaret Maker, South Africa - 26 August 2013
The Guest House is comfortable, pleasant and somewhat quaint. We received a warm welcome and lovely attention. Over the road is an excellent pizza restaurant and bar, a surprise to find in so small a town. It was very cold, but we slept warmly.
Andriette en Madelaine
Andriette Esterhuyse, South Africa - 25 June 2013
Ons is baie gasvry ontvang en hetlekker warm geslaap. Baie dankie!
Oulike plek
Herman Schoeman, South Africa - 08 January 2013
Baie aangename mense. Oulike plek en heerlike boerekos. Beslis aan te beveel.
Oasis
Sibongile Mbatha, South Africa - 08 January 2013
AshTree was an oasis in the middle of nowhere. My husband and I enjoyed our overnight stay there. The rooms where clean and homely. Sure to stop over there on our way to the Western Cape. Thanks Baby for your hospitality.
Thank you for lovely stay
Elma Haasbroek, South Africa - 16 December 2012
My husband and I had such a pleasant overnight stay at Ash Tree Guest House on 09 December 2012. We stayed in the double room with lovely white linen and en suite bathroom with shower with clean white towels and clean amenities. We can recommend Ash Tree Guest House to every one. Thank you Baby and Danie for creating a lovely overnight facility en route to the Cape (and back home).
Dissapointing
Frikkie and Desiree van Tonder, South Africa - 04 December 2012
The bathroom was dusty and in front of the bathroom window was a noisy crackling piece of paper? The bed made a creaking noise at every little movement, with the result that one couldn't sleep and we got up at 4h00 and left at 5h00. We will not recommend this place and neither will we stay there again.

Establishment's response

As with all my other guests I went out of my way to make Frikkie and Desiree vanTonder feel welcome and relaxed. While I welcomed them at the car, we talked about the bad wind and dust storm that specific day , it only started raining that night. I got them settled and then gave them my card with my cell number and told them to please phone me should they need or want or discuss anything. (That is if I am not at my desk at reception) We stay on the premises across the courtyard and I am usually in the guesthouse or busy on the computer at reception, most times till 11 o clock at night. They went to their room early and had ample time to discuss any needs with me. Mr van Tonder told me about the bed the next morning and said that he was not upset, but there is a note behind the door asking my guests for comments, remarks and recommendations and are mentioning this to me because of that. I told him I am glad as we were away for more than a month, and the person in charge did not mention anything to me about the bed. We replaced the bed that very day. We painted the bathroom walls above the tiles as well as the ceiling the previous week and everything in the window ( a dry arrangement with pottery pots etc.) was removed, washed and replaced. I replaced the curtain. A piece of cellophane paper, in the dry arrangement, was making a noise which we also did not notice. Mr van Tonder was very friendly and even gave us a blessing before he left. I was very surprised and shocked when I received such a harsh review. I Phoned Mr van Tonder and I was told that his wife was not part of our conversation and they decided to send the review because people gets "swindled" out of their money. And THAT seems to me to be the real reason. They paid a reasonable tariff and after your commission we only receive R203pp. Oh yes and he told me they are sleeping on a R15,000 bed and are having problems with that.....Need I say more! Most of the comments in my guest-book (which I can send you a copy of) mentions "Baie lekker nag-rus" "I Felt like beign at home" " Wonderful stay, home from home" "Lovely Hosts" "Not a stop-over but an Oasis" "Service is beyond hospitality" etc.etc. Also check my reviews on the Safari and Rooms for Africa website.
Gracious hosts
colin Wagner, South Africa - 31 August 2012
On approaching the town one is worried about your decision to stay at Ash Tree, but don't let external appearances fool you. Whilst the town appears to be a ghost town it is indeed charming with lovely warm people. We were welcomed by gracious hosts who went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and had a super breakfast before our departure the next morning. The small pub next door provided our dinner which was freshly prepared and delicious. We wish Ash Tree all the very best!
Warm and caring
Terrence Pemba, South Africa - 27 August 2012
Totally enjoyed my stay at the AshTree Guest House, the management gave full attention to my requests and they were friendly and made me feel at home. The place is safe, clean and comfortable.
Well rested
Petrus Fanqa, South Africa - 09 June 2012
I went there to get some rest and that was exactly what I got. The owner is very friendly and she made us feel at home and that lady can cook.
Very convenient
Carol Wilson, South Africa - 24 April 2012
Reasonably priced and very convenient stopover.
Wonderful hospitality
Donna McCallum, South Africa - 17 January 2012
This was my second stay at the AshTree Guest House which is now my regular stop between Jozi and Cape Town. It is clean, neat, super affordable and the owners are very caring and hospitable.
Comfortable
Ben ash, South Africa - 14 January 2012
The room was comfortable and the owners were friendly. There are beautiful ash trees in the garden. It is very secure, and the town is interesting.
Well cared for guest house
Andre Barlow, South Africa - 31 October 2011
Die mense was vriendelik en hulle het uit hulle pad uit gegaan om dit vir ons aangenaam te maak. Die kamers is netjies en skoon. Gaan kuier gerus daar. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay. The rooms were neat and clean. We recommend a visit to the guest house.
Nice
Girland Chibaya, South Africa - 06 August 2011
We got to the lodge late and it was pleasing that there was someone waiting for us.
Homely and private, good value for money
thomas Groenewald, South Africa - 30 May 2011
We drove from Johannesburg and were tired after an early start and prior stress. We welcomed the break and found AshTree welcoming. We took an afternoon nap, got up later and found our hosts most hospitable. We went to bed early and slept well. The bed was comfortable, the en-suite facilities satisfactory and the place good value for money.
Wonderful
Marcus Diedericks, South Africa - 20 April 2011
I had a wonderful stay at AshTree Guest House. Warm and kind, with everything you need. Thank you very much!
Highlights of our vacation
Erika Rossouw, South Africa - 24 January 2011
Ons het baie lekker gekuier en was een van ons hoogtepunte van ons vakansie. Die dorpie en sy vriendelike mense het ons beslis beindruk. Baie skoon en netjies in die gastehuis gewees. Kamer was ook baie netjies. Ons sal beslis die plek aanbeveel vir ander gaste. Groete We had a very nice stay, this was one of our highlights of our vacation. We really like the town and its friendly people, we definitely impressed. The unit was clean and tidy at the Guest House. We will definitely recommend the place for other guests.
Great stay
Michelle Van Wyk, South Africa - 01 January 2011
Would just like to thank everyone at Ash Tree that made our stay there so great. We really enjoyed their warm welcome and willingness to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Will definitely return soon!
Very welcoming
Anonymous, South Africa - 30 December 2010
Good stop over during our journey from Cape Town to Joburg. Very friendly. Allowed my cat to stay as well. Home cooked dinner - an optional extra - was delicious. Room was comfortable with fresh cotton sheets and duvets. We enjoyed our stay. Thank you.
Karoo feeling and friendly
Karen Richards, South Africa - 24 December 2010
Ash Tree was clean and tidy and excatly all we needed for an overnight stay. We will go there again if we want to stay over in Hanover.
A good Karoo location
Cecil Rose, South Africa - 10 June 2010
We were very well received we were served with an excellent meal within two hours of arrival. The breakfast was also very good and tasty.
Pleasant.
Hazel Pearson, South Africa - 24 April 2010
Danie was a good host and saw that we were made comfortable. Breakfast consisted of cereals, choice of yoghurts, fruit juice, toast and a selection of jams and tea or coffee to follow. Bathroom could have been bigger, but as a generality the room was very comfortable for the one night we stayed there.
Extremely comfortable
Terry O'Brien, South Africa - 21 March 2010
This was an ideal stopping point for us between KZN & Cape Town the people were incredibly helpful & very pleasant & our bed & room extremely comfortable affording us an excellent night's sleep.
Hanover Hospitality
Taflin Gebhardt, South Africa - 19 January 2010
Hanover was a pleasant surprise for us, the hospitality was friendly, the accommodation great, value for money. Above all a walk in the town was historic, quaint and the historic NG Kerk a beautiful piece of architecture!
Ash Tree Guest House
May Dixon, South Africa - 04 January 2010
From my arrival I was welcomed with great warmth at this family-run B&B. The accommodation was lovely and although I hadn't requested supper, a hot, home-cooked meal was made available to me. A full breakfast was also prepared for me. The diningroom is stylish and there is a large comfortable TV lounge. The rates are very reasonable and I have no hesitation in recommending this B&B.
Forget Colesberg
Andre Coetzee, South Africa - 28 December 2009
A really comfortable, quiet and friendly alternative to staying over at Colesberg on the way to the Cape


AshTree Guest House
Are you in need of a well deserved break. Come and visit our bright and spacious guest house, where you can enjoy a wonderful relaxing atmosphere. Guests can just unwind and breathe in fresh Karoo air. When last did you see the night skies explode with thousands of bright shining stars, have you ever seen a summer sky filled with clouds of falcons flying in all the way from Siberia.  AshTree Guest House offers comfortable accommodation in spacious double and single bedrooms.

All the rooms are equipped with various facilities including en-suite / private bathrooms, roof fans, heaters, electric blankets and hospitality trays.  Take a walk down a quiet country lane in a lovely historic village, or even stroll at midnight without fear of being mugged. Stop along the way for a chat with the locals and experience true Karoo hospitality, here your time is your own.

You can decide what time you'd like to have delicious breakfast or dinner, dinner served on prior arrangements. You can even do your own braai (barbecue), sleep late if you feel like it, there is DStv available in the lounge. The chances are you won't want to leave, and if you don't want to, you are more than welcome to spend the rest of your holiday with us.


/go/ashtreeguesthouse/