All Comments for Hollybrooke Farms

Reviews 16 of 16
Stay 26 - 27 Dec 2014
Lizette van Wyk, South Africa - 29 December 2014
We enjoyed the beautiful nature, the birds, swimming pool and lovely trails along the river. The toasted sandwiches, hamburger and chips we enjoyed at the restaurant was delicious. The children enjoyed the horse rides and quad bikes very much. Swimming in the river and swinging into the water, was a highlight. However, I would like to comment that we found the accommodation very unattractive, neglected and a great disappointment. The rusted fridge without a light inside and broken tray and door, The dustbin with broken lid, The bedside lamps that were falling apart and not working, The piece of old soap in the bathroom and The light above the zinc filled with dead moths and insects, and could not find the switch, The bathroom door was not working properly – off rails. The notice about the cleaner coming at 10h00 lying on the counter, (the cleaner never came – dustbin not emptied) The notice of the fire extinguisher pushed in behind the switchboard – looked terrible. The bedding was not ‘inviting’ in the sense that the ‘quilt’ on the ‘couch’ was not fresh and clean and no clean sheet to use. Cushions flat and horrible. The chairs next to the TV looked dirty. Some of the curtains were dirty and the variety of colours an material combined, very unattractive. The candlestick holders with golf balls in it looked as if no one cares what impression it makes. We expected a “ Four sleeper Self Catering Country Cottage” and found only 3 big plates an 1 small and 3 mugs and a cup, 3 bowls, etc. The cutlery was a variety: some hanging, some in a drawer. The place-mats were so dirty that we rather not use it. One does not expect accommodation like this when you pay R1200 per night. In high season, at the coast, this is the rate for a fully equipped self-catering house. We did not expect luxury at all, but just basic well maintained, clean, working facilities. The Kingfisher chalet was a great disappointment. It seems as if the place was greatly missing a caring touch and does not deserve the 4 stars as indicated on the website. The reviews on the website indicated similar problems but it seems not to have been fixed – a pity. Unfortunately I will not recommend friends to stay over. May these comments help you to improve and reach the full potential of your beautiful property.
Megan Mills, South Africa - 01 December 2014
We really enjoyed ourselves and had a great relaxing time. Thank you!
Overnight stay
Carey-Ann Badenhorst, South Africa - 30 September 2013
We did battle to find the farm as we were driving at night and the signage as well as the directions were not very clear. Also for one night stay I thought it was a bit pricy, considering there is no tv and 2 people have to sleep on the floor. If you are looking for a really rustic escape then it would be ideal, beautiful morning views. But don't think we will be going back.

Establishment's response

We have a very adequate directions page that is copied from my neighbour Bill Harrops Hot Air Balloon Safaris….and is adjusted for our last mile distance.

There is a google map position on safari now site

There are correct GPS coordinates also on the site

We have suitable and numerous direction signs within a 15klm radius on our access roads.

Cell phone call made would assist with directions.

We do not have people sleeping on the “floor” …..how the client describes sleeping on a sleeper couch as “floor” is way off from truthful.

We are a farm and it can be a challenge to find us after dark, but with correct planning and preparation this should not be an issue.

We do not have TV and this is depicted on the Facilities page on safarinow

This client arrived at 11pm and left at 6.30 in the morning for an adventure race.

Giving us a thumbs down on just about everything without having experienced or even looking at, is severe and I would ask that this review be removed as it is inaccurate and unfounded.
Pleasant
Tammy Hodgskiss, South Africa - 26 November 2012
Very friendly welcome and beautiful setting, right next to a lovely river and bicycle path. The chalet was clean and quaint, but there was little attention to detail - bulbs in lamps missing, no toilet paper.
Great escape
Poelo Tlaba-Mokoena, South Africa - 05 November 2012
Nicely spaced out chalets. Lots of fun outdoor activities to do.
Rustic
Leanne Alexander, South Africa - 01 October 2012
A little more rustic than what we were expecting but ended up to be a really fantastic weekend. Hardly saw our kids for the whole time we were there as it was secure enough for them to wonder and play with the animals. The one disappointment was that the bathroom doors don't close properly and lights in toilet sections weren't working so really dark when door closed. Over all we were really happy with the accommodation.
Exceeded expectation
Frans Rantsolase, South Africa - 07 November 2011
What peace one can experience. The reception was awesome and it exceeded our expectation.
Wonderful stay
Linda Van Zyl, South Africa - 04 January 2011
Was a wonderful stay. Relaxing. Beautiful view. Was just lekker!
Hollybrooke
Angelika Murray, South Africa - 06 September 2010
We had one of the best weekend getaways ever and would return in a heartbeat. I loved the personal touch and felt like I was part of the family from the minute I got there. My children wished they could have stayed longer. Thanks so much for such a wonderful experience.
Farm life
Evanti Sims, South Africa - 28 April 2010
Friendly people, beautiful views. Quads are a must!
Lovely views
Anonymous, South Africa - 16 March 2010
We enjoyed our stay, with lovely views!!
Felt so welcome
Jeanette Bothma, South Africa - 16 February 2010
The accommodation was wonderful. The outlook to the mountain breathtaking. Friendly people Betsie and Steve.
Excellent
Benita Guelpa, South Africa - 04 January 2010
We enjoy the stay, very nice will see you again
HOLLYBROOKE FARMS
Leon Moonna, South Africa - 18 September 2009
Excellent, very relaxing and peaceful.
We had a lovely time.
Lynette Henrico, South Africa - 11 August 2009
It is so peaceful and tranquil. We could relax completely. Our grand children loved the farm atmosphere.
The stay was wonderful
Magda Pienaar, South Africa - 03 August 2009
We arrived on Friday midday and stayed till sunday midday. We wanted to get away from home for a family weekend. Hollybrooke was the ideal place for this at the end of the stay. The kids enjoyed the cottage, horses and bike rides. My husband enjoyed the "braai" and nature, I enjoyed the peace and quite and fire place in the cottage. Although the weather was bad, the stay was wonderful. Sure to return for another great relaxing family break-away


Hollybrooke Farms
Hollybrooke Farms are an adventure and accommodation guest farm. We offer Self-catering cozy thatch chalets and a commune Bunkhouse Lodge. Couples, family and groups can enjoy our on-site adventure activities of horse trails, quad bike trails, paintball, archery and target shoot. Hollybrooke Farms is set in the beautiful Skeerpoort Valley surrounded by the Magalies Mountains and alongside the Magalies River.

We are a working farm with cattle, crops and pecan nuts. A variety of farm animals will interest the children. Horse trails and quad bike trails, official Suzuki Partner and are guided and accommodate the beginner and experienced riders. Our trails follow pathways through the natural bush and river bridle paths.

Paintball is enjoyed on three Maps along the banks of the Magalies river. Tipp-man Markers supplied. Archery and Air rifle target shoot are conducted within our safe Shooting range under supervision. We have now opened a Small Restaurant and Coffee shop on the farm.


/go/HollybrookeFarms/