All Comments for Rooipoort Gasteplaas

Reviews 12 of 12
Rooipoort Gasteplaas
Margie Pieterse, South Africa - 15 January 2014
Our stay at Rooipoort was everything we expected. True Karoo hospitality, beautiful landscape,bright stars at night and the silence of the night that ended the day... Thank you Dries and Josef for the great vine wood to start our country braai... made for a great atmosphere.
Rooipoort
Johann Penning, South Africa - 12 August 2013
A very relaxing stay. Excellent accommodation. Great hiking!
Good service
Juriaan Douglas, South Africa - 18 February 2013
Owners' friendliness = 5 stars. Please repair pool. Weekend stay, great!
Thank you
Loretha Kennedy, South Africa - 19 December 2011
Thank you Kay and Andries and Max. We had a great stay, wonderful supper and breakfast. Can recommend Rooipoort not only as an overnight stop but I think one could spend a week here and relax totally. The Bushman engravings were a highlight.
Excellent
Andre du Toit, South Africa - 11 July 2011
Excellent accommodation in beautiful rustic surrounds. I would wholeheartedly recommend it.
A very pleasant overnight stay,
M Osborn, South Africa - 03 December 2009
- also good value and the dalmatian dog Max was a bonus
Very quiet place
Edgar Blatt, Germany - 28 April 2009
Stayed only 1 night at Rooipoort Gasteplaas on our way from Kimberley to Cradock. Felt very private in the small cottage we got, even though we booked an ensuite room.
Rooipoort Gasteplaas
Dave Miles, South Africa - 25 February 2009
It was most enjoyable and relaxing. The hospitality was excellent and Kay Fourie's Artwork was an added bonus.
Peaceful
Richard Truran - 22 February 2009
Lovely to stay on a peaceful Karoo farm and enjoy the birds, the bush and animals. We were given such a nice welcome and the hospitality was great - many thanks.
October 2008: 2 nights self-catering
Anonymous, South Africa - 27 October 2008
Very basic accommodation (self-catering unit) but comfortable and adequate - worth it at the price!. Tin opener would have been useful. But owners very helpful when asked. Free steaks on arrival for braaing were excellent. A green shady oasis.
Great
Anonymous, South Africa - 11 October 2008
Great place to stay for a halfway stop through the Karoo. Kay is a 'gracious host in a 150 year old farmhouse in the middle of nowhere'! Enjoyed our brief visit immensely.
Most amazing experience.
Richard Wade, South Africa - 06 July 2008
Was the most amazing experience in many years that I will ever remember. A real Karoo farm with bleating sheep, jackals, clean roads and unbelievable real people with no pretences. Cannot wait to find an excuse to go back. Maybe for some more of the finest biltong and meats I have tasted. The most photogenic area in many.


Rooipoort Gasteplaas
Rooipoort Guest Farm nestles near Philiipstown in the Upper Karoo. The graceful farmstead reflects typical Karoo architecture with wooden floors and ceilings. The 14 inch thick walls keep out the heat in summer and the cold in winter. The Fourie's are the seventh generation on the farm. Rooipoort is the third oldest farm in the district and is a crown farm (never bought or sold). Four generations have been living on the farmstead.This is a 4 000 ha working sheep farm with various game species, rock engravings and the most beautiful walking routes. Almond orchards have been established. There are ample opportunities for bird watching as there are a Black Eagle breeding pair on the farm as well as Blue cranes and various other species. Delight yourself in a large collection of art on display inside as well as outside in the tree-filled garden and the thrill of feeding the Koi fish. The swimming pool has a stunning view on the almond orchard.

/go/RooipoortGasteplaas/