All Comments for Stanford River Lodge

Reviews 13 of 13
Onvergeetlike Wittebrood - Memorable Honeymoon
Riette Nel, South Africa - 30 August 2014
Baie dankie vir julle bydrae om ons wittebrood onvergeetlik te maak!! Ons het so spesiaal en bederf gevoel! Sal julle beslis aanbeveel! Thank you for your contribution to making our honeymoon an unforgettable experience!! We felt very special and pampered! Will definitely recommend you!
Wonderful stay
Cecil Rose, South Africa - 09 August 2014
Great accommodation and a lovely view across the valley to the mountains. Strongly recommended as a wonderful getaway location.
Self-catering holiday
Sally Tonetti, South Africa - 13 January 2014
Thank you for a very enjoyable stay. The accomodation was clean, spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately WI-FI did not work in our room. The water pressure in the bathroom was inadequate.
Bliss
Annalize Heyns, South Africa - 22 October 2013
If you are considering Stanford River Lodge, don't think twice. We stayed three nights and it felt like an eternity in paradise. Absolute bliss to wake up with the Kleinrivier 50 m away from your door, 180 degree view of nature and birdsong surround sound. Very tasteful interior and super hosts. Perfect peace.
Stanford River Lodge
Michaela Kaim-Schoby, South Africa - 30 September 2013
Very nice and friendly.
Beautiful location
MARGARET ANDERSON, South Africa - 19 February 2013
A beautiful location - endless vistas with peace and quiet - well appointed accommodation but not really equipped for s/c as had been anticipated. John and Valda are very friendly.
Lovely stay
Claire Sadie, South Africa - 19 January 2013
My husband and I stayed at the Stanford River Lodge for our anniversary. We had a peaceful, relaxed stay. There's a canoe to paddle down the river on and a nice swimming pool. The owners of the lodge were friendly and helpful. We would happily stay there again.
Lovely site and friendly hosts
G Michael Berger, South Africa - 17 March 2012
I would have given it a full 5 stars (location, cleanliness, comfort) except for a few hiccups and slightly peculiar actions on the part of our otherwise friendly and pleasant hosts. Eg. gave us the wrong room till we pointed it out; no hot water for first 24 hrs - corrected when pointed out; recommending the less popular restaurant in Stanford while we saw them dining at the more popular; asking for full payment (I had paid the 50% deposit) BEFORE arrival but then backing down when I objected. Since they came across as friendly and efficient we were puzzled by these lapses. Hence 4 stars and not 5.
A great getaway
Paul von Zwiklitz, South Africa - 14 January 2012
We spent a wonderful couple of nights at the lodge. The accommodation was comfortable and the setting beautiful.
Perfect getaway
Carey Taylor, South Africa - 11 July 2011
What a beautiful spot! Couldn't have asked for a more perfect setting for a little getaway from the city. The riverfront is only a couple of paces away from the private patio.
Fantastic stay!
Nico Grobler, South Africa - 25 October 2010
Staying in the river lodge was very nice. Everything was spotless, service friendly and the beautiful surroundings made it even better. We will definitely go back!
Lovely location
Sharon stubbs, South Africa - 30 December 2009
Serene setting, beautiful bird-life, fabulous facilities, great accommodation.... we will definitely return.
A Wonderful Stay!
Tanya de Vries, South Africa - 19 July 2008
John and Valda made us feel very welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was a magnificent breakaway with beautiful surroundings and very clean, luxurious and comfortable accommodation. The accommodation unit was very well-equipped - it had everything we needed. Beautiful views of the river with a variety of bird species for bird lovers. Great value for money - we are definitely returning in the not too distant future!


Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge is situated right on the exquisite natural beauty of the Klein River, with uninterrupted views of the Klein River Mountains that run parallel to the river. B&B or self-catering rooms are available, each with en-suite bathrooms, covered patios with barbecue facilities, and views of the river. The upstairs Honeymoon Suite also boasts stunning views both from the bed and bath.

The area is ideal for paddling, rowing or boating, with a bird sanctuary on the river the one way and Stanford town on the other, or just swim in the lazy, tranquil, inviting and safe river. We offer DStv, fans for summer, underfloor heating for winter, heated towel rails, pure cotton linen, swimming pool, use of canoes, and secure parking.

We are located next to Springfontein Wine Estate, open for tasting and sales, and within close proximity to the Walker Bay Nature Reserve and new fishing trail from where excellent fishing and whale watching can be enjoyed. Hermanus, famous for its whales, and Gansbaai, renowned for its great white shark tours and cage diving, are a short drive away, as are many places of interest and other activities such as 4x4 and quad biking trails, wine estates, horse riding, mountain biking, bird watching, hiking in the mountains and many excellent restaurants, not to mention Stanford's famous river tours on the Platanna or the African Queen. Stanford River Lodge does not have facilities for children under the age of 12.


/go/StanfordRiverLodgeStanford/