All Comments for Sundays River Mouth Guesthouse

Reviews 11 of 11
S.A. van Emmenes, South Africa - 08 September 2014
Well finished! Everything needed was available. Unfortunately the add is misleading, no mention is made of the very steep stairs to reach the unit. Very unfriendly to senior citizens! Will never visit again!
MURIEL BETRIX, South Africa - 14 April 2014
We had a very enjoyable evening with a braai on the deck. The complimentary Whiskey was also a special treat - thank you, Robin. We could see that a lot of thought was put into making sure that guests felt welcome and comfortable. Overall a lovely stay. We will be back.
Highly recommended
Jacky Bellengere, South Africa - 17 December 2013
My family and I really enjoyed our two night stay at the Sundays River Mouth Guesthouse. We chose this accommodation because of its close proximity to the Addo Elephant National Park and it didn't disappoint. It literally takes you just a few minutes to get to the southernmost gate of the Addo park (just ask Robin to direct you as the signage is not easily visible). Robin is a wonderfully welcoming host (even though we arrived after dark) and the self-catering family suite we stayed in was spacious (huge actually) with lots of attention to detail and little extras such as tots of sherry and brandy on the house and complimentary rusks. The bedrooms are very cosy and well ventilated and we had excellent nights sleep. The bathroom is extremely large with beautiful towels and a luxuriously large bath. The only thing that detracts from it, especially if you prefer to shower like we do, is the small size of the shower. It is disproportionately small which results in the shower curtain clinging to you whilst you trying to shower. This is a minor inconvenience though in relation to all the pros this accommodation offers. I would highly recommend this accomodation.
Great value
George Clipp, South Africa - 12 February 2013
Secure offstreet parking, huge amount of room. Husband and wife very accommodating. Bathtub under the stars. Great place for starting your Addo safari.
International visitors to Sundays River
Donna-Marie Bronkhorst, Australia - 08 April 2012
We arrived at 15:45 and the previous occupants were still in the guest house, we were asked to wait while they move out so we elected to leave our luggage behind in the one room as we were not allowed into the another whilst we went into PE to collect someone who would have joined us later. They are totally self-catering in the sense of no personalized items such as hand soaps and dish-washing liquid, and we had to ride around trying to find these as we only realized this much later after we were able to check in - once the previous occupants had left and the unit had been cleared out. On our check-out morning, we had to ask for a car to be moved which was parked in front of our garage to enable us to move forward and pack our luggage. While we were still packing up, the cleaner came in to fetch towels and clear up long before our check-out time of 10:00. It is a lovely place and whilst we otherwise enjoyed our stay, it's the finer details they need to look into and take care of to take them to the next level. They did allow us use of the spa for one night, which was great and much appreciated!
Don't be fooled by the add
Anita Lotter, South Africa - 10 January 2012
Large and modern unit, but very far from beaches etc. If you don't have a boat to use on the river, don't bother to go. (No riverview either) And don't be fooled by the jacuzi, as per photo in add. We were very rudely informed that it is R400 per day extra to make use of this. We stayed at 5 places over December and this is the only one where I never want to go back to.
Fantastic
greg Bertram, Australia - 18 August 2011
The best place we have stayed in South africa. Beautiful bathroom, full kitchen, two bedrooms. Free fishing rods and complimentary scotch. Absolutely recommended.
Nice place
Bruno Meli, Reunion - 26 November 2010
Nice apartment, super jacuzzi.
Excellent
Charles Kleinpenning, South Africa - 14 April 2009
Accommodation excellent
Highly recommended
Valerie Burns, South Africa - 06 May 2008
Our stay was great. One of the best I have come across
It was a nice stay.
Carsten Allhorn, Sweden - 12 January 2008
Good location, close to Addo and other game parks as well as the wonderful coastline at Sundays River mouth.


Sundays River Mouth Guesthouse
Sundays River mouth Guesthouse is a luxury Self-catering Guesthouse is situated on the banks of the Sundays River, in the sleepy holiday village of Colchester. With the Guesthouse located approximately halfway between Cape Town and Durban, it is ideally suited for the weary guest wanting to break their journey as well as those wanting to break away from the city rush and spend some time enjoying the activities the village has to offer. Perfect for tourist wanting to visit the Addo Elephant Park, as the Southern entrance is only 4 km away.

Enjoy activities like water sports, fishing, horse rides, walks on the 38 km of deserted beaches and swimming in one of South Africa’s largest tidal rivers. Come relax in a fully-equipped guesthouse, consisting of two tastefully decorated bedrooms, furnished with brand new Simonz beds, and a double sized open-plan lounge, dining room and fully-equipped open-plan kitchen. It can accommodate seven adults. The main bedroom is furnished with three single beds, with two being against each other to form a double bed. This bedroom opens onto the wooden deck with a direct view of the River. The second bedroom consists of two single beds. A separate king sized sleeper couch can be found in the air conditioned lounge.

The Guesthouse features a brand new, under-African-skies bathroom with a glass roof and newly installed jacuzzi. Take an unwinding bath with a glass of champagne while watching the stars or splash around on the private open air jacuzzi, located on the deck. This is designed to provide the ultimate comfortable stay, and take the already luxurious ambience of Sundays River Mouth Guesthouse, to yet a new level.

Huge LD-LCD 40 inch flat screen TV, with HD-VCR player for your convenience. When stepping out to the wooden entertainment deck you have a direct view of the Sundays River. Perfect for sipping sundowners or having a braai while watching the sun sets. Facilities on the deck include a Cadac Kettle Braai as well as a small stainless steel braai, braai wood and charcoal not provided.

An honesty bar, stocked with Whiskey, Brandy and Vodka is offered. There is also whiskey available for tasting with compliments of the house. Regret no Children under eight years old, due to the breakable equipment.

Safe undercover parking is offered. Should you only want to stop over, or spend some time exploring the Sunshine Coast, Sundays River Mouth Guesthouse would cater for your specific need. At our prices, anyone can afford luxury.


/go/sundaysrivermouthguesthouse/