All Comments for Blue Jay Lodge

Reviews 49 of 49
Paradise!
Courron Pierre-Aryel, Reunion - 17 March 2012
We spent 2 days at Blue Jay Lodge in february, everything was wonderful! Our room was at first floor, very comfortable, clean, quiet, we had all kind of amenities in the large and relaxing bath room. The terrace commanding a view of the beautiful garden and a pool. They served us a lovely breakfast on the terrace with welcoming atmosphere. Above all, we loved owners who are deeply kind-hearted and open-minded. We were touched by their kindness providing us informations about our activities, restaurants, routes, and advices/tips for our trips. Nice located from Kruger Park(Phabeni Gate is the nearest), easy access to Blyde River Canyon. We'd like to recommend this place especially for a couple, those who wants restful and leisurely time around Hazyview. We would like to thank you Phil and Margi for your warmhearted hospitality. We will come back one day for sure!
Magical and peaceful
Carrie Petrie, South Africa - 24 May 2011
What a stunning place to stay. The accommodation in the self-catering Kingfisher Lodge was 5 Star. Hosts Margi and Phil are the most stunning, sincere people you could ever meet and made us feel so welcome sharing this little piece of paradise. I would recommend Blue Jay Lodge to anyone, local or vistor to South Africa, as an excellent place to stay whilst visiting the Lowveld or Kruger Park.
Blue Jay Lodge
Tarryn Mocke, South Africa - 13 December 2010
A truly peaceful location, away from the busy city life. With a warm welcome from Phil and Margie, a true home away from home.
Fantastic stay at Blue Jay
Johnita Robins, South Africa - 20 September 2010
Blue Jay provided everything we needed. From the luxury room in a beautiful setting (tranquility amongst the trees)to a great breakfast and also the real friendliness and great hospitality from Phillip and Margie. We are already looking forward to our next visit.
Excellent Accomodation at Blue Jay Lodge
Kavish Mohunlal, South Africa - 26 July 2010
The accommodation suited my wife's and my needs perfectly. Its a STUNNING Location, away from the "hustle & bustle" of city life and is peaceful of where it is situated. Waking Up at 6am to have breakfast on the Patio facing the gardens, watching and listening to the birds are truly unforgettable. Phil And Marg are are very warm hosts, with a vast knowledge of their surroundings. Definitely Going Back There !!!
Beautiful atmosphere.
Danie Koekemoer, South Africa - 17 April 2010
Thank you so much for your hospitality. Great set up and what is most relaxing are the trees and plants surrounding the place. Another thing that was very nice is the welcome drink after the ling trip ... Thank you once again
WOW!
David Jones, South Africa - 08 April 2010
The lodge is well situated in a quiet part of town, yet still close to everything. It is beautiful, stylish, luxurious and if anything, is better than in the pictures, not something you often get the pleasure of saying. The lodge's peace and tranquillity adds so much to the holiday experience! The hosts are really warm and friendly and made the stay that much more enjoyable. We had a truly wonderful stay and will definitely be back again! Its rates are really affordable and for them you receive beyond 5 star accommodation. We loved absolutely everything about it! WOW!
Recommended
Lettie Britnell, South Africa - 04 March 2010
lovely garden & surroundings enjoyed
We had a wonderful stay there.
Linda Lynch, South Africa - 23 August 2009
The rooms were appointed beautifully and the hosts very gracious - everything was great, the lodge is tucked so privately into it's garden and the anticipation of driving into Kruger from there made the stay delicious. We tried to stay again on our way back to Johannesburg, but they were - understandably - booked. I would absolutely stay there again.
Blue Jay Lodge is a MUST
Anonymous, South Africa - 23 July 2009
After traveling for basically two days to get to Kruger from United States, arriving at Blue Jay Lodge was the most comforting experience. Both Phil and Margi were the perfect hosts and made our entire group feel welcome. The lodge itself is serene and beautiful. Phil and Margi were very hospitable and gave us really great tips and suggestions from a locals perspective. I highly recommend this lodge to anyone who wants to visit Kruger. It is just a stones throw away from the park. Thank you for a wonderful experience!
Wonderful stay
Helen Maher, Ireland - 17 June 2009
We received a warm welcome from Philip when we arrived to Blue Jay lodge and were so pleased to find the lodge was what we had hoped for! we enjoyed a wonderful stay. our only complaint was we couldn't stay longer
The peferct paradise!
Leanne strover, South Africa - 17 May 2009
Perfect. Phil and margi were the perfect hosts! An absolute paradise!
The perfect paradise!
Leanne strover, South Africa - 17 May 2009
Perfect. Phil and Margi were the perfect hosts! An absolute paradise!
Enjoyable stay
Les Douglas, United Kingdom - 22 March 2009
Yes indeed we did enjoy our recent stay at Blue Jay Lodge, from the ease of finding the establishment following Phillips instructions to the hospitality shown throughout our stay. Phillip and Margi are wonderful hosts and their knowledge of the area and advice invaluable, and the GH is as wonderful as described. Would recommend anybody to stay there and enjoy as much as we did.
Just perfect!!
Aneta Czapla, Poland - 16 February 2009
The Blue Jay Lodge is fantastic place to stay in Kruger Park!!! Very beautiful place, so quiet, amazing nature around, perfect location, very friendly owners, just perfect place!!! Recomend to anyone who want to have a great holidays near to Kruger! Aneta Czapla, Poland
Blue Jay Lodge Rocks!!!!
Hlalifi Kgooa, South Africa - 13 January 2009
Our stay at blue Jay Lodge was FANTABULOUS…! It is so unfair receiving a 5 Star service and treatment on a 4 star establishment….
Great stay @ Blue Jay Lodge
Anonymous, South Africa - 09 January 2009
We visited the Blue Jay Lodge for 2 days in October. Mainly to take the Panorama Route and from there visit the Kruger Park. Our stay was great, rooms were very very nice and comfortable. Staff was friendly, breakfast was great! We loved it there!
Great hosts and perfect rest in central location
Alexander Schneider, Germany - 10 November 2008
Phil and Margie are hosts by example. They were a great help in getting trips organized and you feel personally valued by individual service. If you stay there don't miss to have a braai with them, sitting beside the pool and have a great conversation with a nice glass of wine or a cold Windhoek beer (which was my preference:). Was great to meet you guys and a perfect start for my holidays -thank you!
Beautifully landscape surroundings,,,with beautifully detailed guest rooms! Great breakast!
Anonymous, South Africa - 05 November 2008
We were kindly greeted and received at this beautifully landscape lodge. Had a little misunderstanding, regarding our rooms. But, all worked out fine. Philip and his wife gave us great service, with wholesome breakfasts,,, which included bacon, eggs and homemade orange juice and jam,,,,just delicious! And made for us wonderful reservations for our wild country safaries,,which was fantastic! We caught the Big Five!! Very helpful with our car problems,,,,assisted us with directions,, and even made us breakfast to go for our morning safari! And we appreciated them giving us the use of the internet too! So, all and all thank you kindly,,, Blue Jay Lodge for our wonderful stay!
The Blue Jay package is simply the best
edward geddes, United Kingdom - 28 September 2008
Marvelous accommodation, Delicious breakfasts, Fantastic location and Margi and Philip genuinely make you feel like friends and really help you get the best out of your stay - You will not find better!
Amazing place
Mark Heyhoe, United Kingdom - 19 September 2008
We stopped over in Hazyview on the way down from Blyde river area. Phillip and Margi were fantastic hosts we were made to feel like new found friends rather than customers. Would definately stay there again. The rooms are very luxurious. Extremely good value for money. And what can one say about breakfast- yummmy! The best we had in South Africa. Our only regret was that we were only able to stay one night!
Simply perfect !
Silvio Codini, Italy - 26 August 2008
Mr and Mrs Nichols were really friendly and we wish to thank them for the pleasant stay at Blue Jay !
So far the best in Hazyview
Bill Van Geert, South Africa - 21 August 2008
The stay was exceptional with friendly people all making you feel at home. A definite must for those seeking a little peace and quite and of coarse for those that enjoy a huge bed and lots of rest.
Wonderful stay
Heidi Ekberg, South Africa - 13 July 2008
Thanks for a wonderful stay, it was really much better than we expected. The braais in the evenings were really a perfect end to our fantastic days in the Kruger park (just 10 minutes away). Our hosts Phil and Margie were really friendly and helpful with everything from booking a guide for Kruger to booking a restaurant and showing us the best roads in the Kruger park. The luxurious rooms and nice breakfast just added to the great experience. Thanks so much, we will come back! Kind regards Heidi, Peter, Eivor and Hasse Johannesburg and Sweden
Great
Marc Geelen, Netherlands - 12 May 2008
The pool is very small... but everything else is very great. Extremely friendly people. Nice rooms
Fantastic
Tamaryn Du Plessis, South Africa - 06 May 2008
It was very nice and the unit was stunning, all the small detail made it perfect. Phil and Margi was so friendly and helpful. They will definitely see us again. They need an extra star - to be 5-Star.
Blue Bay Lodge a MUST!!!
Bill Van Geert, South Africa - 05 May 2008
Our stay was impeccable and I will definitely recommend this lodge to a lot of people. Thank you for the great stay!!!
A pleasure.
Bill Plender, United Kingdom - 30 April 2008
Beautiful accommodation, clean and modern. Philip and Marge helpful arranging trips and where happy to share their time with us.
Fantastic
Chris Beardmore, South Africa - 30 April 2008
A wonderful little retreat hidden away from the outside world. The rooms are just stunning. The hosts were wonderfully attentive and a great source of local knowledge as well.
Recommended
Mariska Joubert, South Africa - 13 April 2008
We enjoyed it very much. We would recommend it for anyone. Thank you very much!
It was a pleasure to stay at Blue Jay Lodge.
Brian Tattersall, Australia - 11 April 2008
Philip and Margi are very welcoming hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We were recommended to Blue Jay by friends and attracted by the website which we found (unlike others) to represent the lodge in true form. The rooms are spacious, well decorated, well serviced and very comfortable. Happy hour on the terrace was a good chance to talk to other guests and Philip and Margi who were happy to recommend local restaurants and places of interest. We would recommend Blue Jay as a great place to stay and relax. We should have stayed longer but ran out of time before returning to Australia.
Recommended
Kai Naether, South Africa - 27 March 2008
We really enjoyed our stay and can only recommend Blue Jay Lodge to everybody!
Brilliant!
Jan Furstenburg, United Kingdom - 09 March 2008
The owners were very welcoming and the accommodation beautiful.
Absolutely fantastic
chris knight, United Kingdom - 06 March 2008
Phillip and Margi were the most amazing hosts and the standard of decor, cleanliness and design was the best accommodation we had in 6 weeks of travelling. This is a must for anyone who appreciates the finer things in life and loves those special touches. We will certainly return and recommend to our friends.
Our stay was fantastic
Wezi Shezi, South Africa - 25 February 2008
Its a beautiful & relaxed environment which is perfectly situated for site- seeing ! The accommodation was superb !
Fantastic
Anonymous, Czech Republic - 24 February 2008
Our stay at the Blue Jay Lodge was fantastic! The location was perfect for our trip to Kruger National park, and our hosts made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable. We were sad to leave! We will definitely be back and will recommend the Blue Jay Lodge to our friends.
Very good
Katherine Mann, United Kingdom - 20 January 2008
Weather aside,(It Poured down in torrents) it was everything we had asked for - A lovely rest and recuperation after a month on the road, before our return to England. Phil and Margy Nichols were so friendly and welcoming and I'm sad we didn't have longer with them.
The experience was fantastic!
Anonymous, Botswana - 07 January 2008
The surroundings were fantastic and the Kingfisher beautiful. Thanks to Phillip and Margie for making our stay something to remember.
Super breakfast!!
Rialene Burger, South Africa - 07 January 2008
Very nice and relaxing!! Nice and quiet, just what we needed!!
We had a superb visit
Briony Liber, South Africa - 07 January 2008
Could not have asked for anything better - the accommodation was beautiful, the service was excellent, Phil and Margi were genuinely friendly as well as knowledgeable on the area, and the birds and animals. Blue Jay Lodge is also well located with the Phabeni Gate into the Kruger Park only 10 minutes away. We had a superb visit and hope to be back soon.
Great place to stay
Anonymous, South Africa - 30 December 2007
Extremely comfortable surroundings - Easy access to Kruger and also the wonderful Blyde River Canyon Couldn't have asked for anything more - excellent
Very Nice
Anonymous, South Africa - 17 December 2007
Very nice, enjoyed it from when we arrived until we left. Our stay was unforgettable, did a self tour around the area, Sabie, Graskop, Pilgrims Rest, Kruger Park and much more, Blue Jay is very centralised
Really outstanding
Tobias Wirtz, Germany - 02 December 2007
While staying in SA for 3 weeks we "rated" each B&B: The Blue Jay Lodge is truly on the podium. Rooms will get the gold medal. Such tasteful luxury in combination with "Africa"-style architecture was really outstanding and worth 5 stars. Philip was giving us a very friendly and warm welcome as well as valuable suggestion during our 2-day stay. Breakfast was served on the terrace looking towards the dense forest of Hazyview. Hoping that positive feedback will not lead to make this place overcrowded in the future.
We loved every minute of our stay there.
Angela Calero, United States of America - 30 November 2007
Philip Nichols made us feel more than welcome and at home during our stay at Blue Jay Lodge. He even went out of his way to greet us when we arrived very late in the evening. That thoughtfulness and care and the advice he provided us during our stay was priceless. The room and amenities were absolutely beautiful. The lodge is strategically located near many shops, sights, and Kruger Park. We loved every minute of our stay there. The only bad part was leaving because we grew so attached to the place and Philip. When we decide to re-visit South Africa, we will definitely come back to Blue Jay Lodge.
5 out of 5!
Francois Lombaard, South Africa - 26 November 2007
Philip was an excellent host and made one feel comfortable and relaxed from the moment that one arrives until one departs. The accommodation is top notch and the photos on the web do not do justice to either the rooms or the surroundings. 5 out of 5!
Ten out of ten!
Nicci Earle, South Africa - 23 September 2007
I must say that Blue Jay Lodge really exceeded my expectations - it is extremely good value for money! It felt like staying at a 5-star lodge with prices just slightly higher than for your basic B&B. The building is very well designed, externally to maximise the feeling actually being in bush and surrounded by trees, and internally to give you the feeling of staying in a luxury lodge. It is very tranquil and Philip and Margi are wonderful hosts. I would recommend this establishment to everyone! Ten out of ten!
Fantastic Stay at Blue Jay Lodge
Belinda and Juan, South Africa - 20 August 2007
We had a fantastic stay at Blue Jay Lodge. The setting is so tranquil and the rooms are very luxurious. The breakfast kept us going late into the afternoon. There is no doubt about it . . . . we will be back, VERY SOON !!!!!
Fantastic Stay at Blue Jay!
Marieke Brauer, South Africa - 23 July 2007
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Blue Jay Lodge. Phillip and Margi are wonderful hosts (and really know how to put together a hearty breakfast!). The rooms are exquisite. We will certainly be back!
A weekend to remember!!
Thulani Songo, South Africa - 15 July 2007
It was a beautiful quiet weekend. We enjoyed the natural peacefulness of the environment yet having the classy modern feel in the rooms. The hosts were very friendly. Will definitely like to visit there again!!


Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge is nestled in a magnificent subtropical estate just 10 minutes away from the Kruger National Park where you can view the Big 5. Blue Jay Lodge offers luxury accommodation surrounded by indigenous forest in a spectacularly private setting filled with the sights and sounds of over 80 strikingly colourful bird species.

Affording the discerning traveller a tranquil haven away from home, walkways meander past the main lodge through the trees to reveal four exclusive suites as well as a self catering lodge, each under thatch offering a harmonious combination of local craftsmanship and the luxury of modern conveniences. Choose from the Paradise, Shrike, Sunbird or Loerie Suites on a Bed and Breakfast basis or select the Self-catering Kingfisher Lodge, with its master en-suite bedroom, kitchen and open-plan lounge and dining area accommodating two guests.

Alternatively, book the Kingfisher Lodge together with the Suites as an entire self-catering facility accommodating up to 10 guests. Our accommodation exudes refinement and supreme comforts such as fully stocked minibars, beverage trays, DStv, air-conditioning, overhead fans, bathrobes, private decks, fine linen, mosquito nets, and king-size beds or single beds if preferred. Relax on your own private veranda or cool off in the secluded rim-flow pool while sipping refreshing drinks and watching the birdlife amongst the trees.

As Blue Jay Lodge is centrally located in Hazyview, on the edge of Kruger National Park, an early morning game drive is within easy reach. Phabeni Gate is a mere 10-minute drive away and Kruger Gate is a 30-minute drive away. The wonders of the Lowveld Panorama sights such as God’s Window, Blyde River Canyon, Bourke’s Luck Potholes, The Pinnacle, and Pilgrims Rest are all within day trip tour distance from this very central location.

For the more adventurous, there are a variety of other activities in the area such as abseiling, river rafting, horse riding, aerial cable rides, kloofing and walking trails, microlighting, as well as hot-air ballooning. For the avid golfer, there are two excellent golf courses nearby, not to mention a variety of restaurants and retail shops within a 10 km radius of Blue Jay Lodge.

We kindly bring to your attention our Child Policy which is one of accepting children 14 years or older. This is in the interest of their safety as well as our guests’ comfort Our facilities are specifically designed to be extremely adult friendly and regrettably we are not able to accommodate children below 14 years of age.

Your hosts, Phil and Margi Nichols look forward to welcoming you and ensuring that your stay at Blue Jay Lodge is luxuriously comfortable as well as truly memorable.


/go/BlueJayLodgeHazyview/