All Comments for Far Hills Country Hotel

Reviews 31 of 31
Happy
Andrew Bleeker, South Africa - 15 July 2014
Whole family enjoyed their stay. Relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff. Value for money.
Garden Route holiday
Roscoe Kleinsmidt, South Africa - 19 March 2014
Far Hills is a very charming hotel, in a beautiful setting. We stayed for 5 nights. There are not many places that can boast an impressive view as the Far Hills Hotel. The rooms were an impressive size, and the staff were fairly helpful. Breakfast options could be better though, as we did feel the options were limited. Supper menu was impressive, and the food was a good standard. The only small issue was that dstv was advertised, but there is only 1 channel, and is linked to whatever is playing in the bar. However, with so much to do in the Garden Route, we were more than occupied. All in all, we had a very enjoyable at Far Hills.
Very good
Chrizelda Louw, South Africa - 17 February 2014
We had an absolute great stay at Far Hills. The food, staff and accommodation was excellent. I will make use of them in the future again!!
Very enjoyable
John Abrahams, South Africa - 06 January 2014
We had a very enjoyable stay at the Far Hills Country Hotel. Mountain views are great. Hotel room very neat and spacious.
A Good Night's Rest
Jennilyn Bester, South Africa - 05 January 2014
We were stopping over on our way to PE. We had a very good night's rest and nothing to complain about. Even though we arrived quite late our hosts were very friendly and welcoming.
Breakfast was great :-)
Great Location for a good price
Samantha-Lee Smith, South Africa - 24 January 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This hotel provides good value for money. The only thing I missed in the room was a fridge. The location and views are great. With just a little bit more attention to detail, they have the potential of becoming a great competitor in the hotel business.
Neat and beautiful
Johan Smit, South Africa - 23 January 2013
Neat and beautiful. Good value for money.
Simply a good feeling
Ronel Crouse, South Africa - 14 January 2013
We stayed at your Hotel again on the 7th January 2013 and once again had such a wonderful time. Many thanks for making us feel at home.
Value for money
ingrid luyt, South Africa - 28 December 2012
Although the overall impression of the hotel is that it's a bit neglected and needs some upgrading rather sooner than later, our stay was well worth our money. The unit was clean and comfortable, although the roof in bathroom leaked after some rain [maintenance]. We saw some bad reviews about the breakfast [included in price]. Although not the best we've ever had, thought breakfast sufficient compared to our price paid.
Sweet spot
Keith Griffiths, South Africa - 22 November 2012
Very comfortable room, friendly service on arrival and throughout stay. Good to have eating facilities on site. Varied menu and well prepared. Large room with well appointed en suite.
Far Hills
Gordon Ross, South Africa - 06 November 2012
We stayed in a standard double room, and asked for a baby cot for our little one. In the room was a double bed and a single bed and the cot. The cot was so rickety and wobbly that we decided to let the little one sleep in the double bed with us. The double bed was old and not very comfortable, with very old bedding, although it was clean. The TV cabinet was dangerous for any child to say the least. It had three doors opening left and right, and a door dropping down. The clip didn't work too well and fell open many times. If a child were to be standing close it would hit them. The bathroom is old, but clean, except the toilet, which you could see was used recently. Under the beds was dirt. The photos on the website were most probably in the time when the hotel was in its prime, but our rooms and the rest of the hotel do not look like that any more. Quite disappointed!
Great
Nick Vermaak, South Africa - 27 October 2012
Very friendly staff, great service and a wonderful setting. Will visit again.
Lovely
EUGENIA BRUINERS, South Africa - 02 October 2012
I stayed at Far Hill Country Hotel for one night only but it was so lovely. The room was big and clean, the staff is friendly and the food was good and value for money. I enjoyed the relax feeling the hotel had to offer and the view from our room was breathtaking. You will surely see as again and we will market the hotel to all our friends and family.
Dirty bathroom, unfriendly management
Stéphan Human, South Africa - 26 September 2012
We did not have a good experience staying at the Farhills Hotel. We chose to go there because of its location. My husband took part in the Karoo to Coast race. And the location is perfect. It is a lovely rustic hotel. And the view out of our room was beautiful. Upon arrival, Sharon, the manager (?) apologised profusely for the state of the grounds (actually we thought it looked fine)…. She carried on and on about the shortage of staff, due to a strike. We asked about breakfast the next morning (we had to leave at 5 to drive to Uniondale). She told us she would ask the chef, but it would not be a hot breakfast (obviously, this was not what we had in mind, we would have been happy with a few rusks). She took us to our room (we booked the luxury room). She mentioned that it was cold the previous day and the gas for the fire place might be finished. As it turned out, it was. I saw her walking past our room, and mentioned that there was not gas. She replied that since it was a Saturday, there would be gas to refill. I must admit, I found this a bit strange. However, someone did refill the gas bottle a bit later. We went out to dinner, and decided it might be easier to buy our own food for breakfast the next morning. We returned to the hotel and there was a couple at reception. They said that Sharon left a note on our door regarding breakfast. I told them that we bought our own food, so not to worry. My husband went back to them later and asked if we could have some plates and cutlery. The next morning my husband had a shower, and the shower head broke (it fell on him) We are not upset about this – these things happen. We left at 5am. I saw Sharon at reception and told her that since they are experiencing staff shortages, not to worry to clean our room. I returned to the hotel, (and this is where it all went wrong), knowing that the shower is broken, I decided to have a bath. The bath was not clean (it had several old dirty rings around it. I went to reception. And told Mr du Plessis that the shower is broken and the bath is dirty. He was not very friendly. And told me not to expect Fan Court! And then asked me if I want to check out. I could not believe how rude he was. He then asked me what I want his to do. Surely he as the owner should know how to deal with complaints). I asked for an apology and to have my bathroom cleaned. He then said he would move us to room 2. I was happy with his suggestion. We returned to the hotel after the race. At reception I asked for the keys to room 2. My husband wanted to speak to Sharon. She was rude, argumentative and insulted me. She took us to room 2 where Mr du Plessis has put a bottle of wine and a voucher for dinner. She told me I am difficult. When I offered to show her the dirty bath in room 1, she told me she is not interested, walked away from me and called me difficult and rude, in front of other guests. I must say I am not used to such unsophisticated and unprofessional behaviour! Needless to say after that response we did to make use of the voucher and not even stayed for breakfast the next morning. To summarise….if you are looking for a clean hotel, with friendly staff/management, The Farhills Hotel would not be the best place to stay. I would say the best part of it all, was Mr du Plessis advise. Next time I am in George, I would make a reservation at another I would rather consider Fan Court (or any other establishment).
Stay at Far Hills Country Hotel
Gertjie Coetzee, South Africa - 13 August 2012
Had a pleasant experience at the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the gas fireplace ran out of gas and they could not replace the gas bottle.
Thank you
michelle banks, South Africa - 09 July 2012
It was satisfactory and should be lovely in summer.
Great view and value for money
Dirk Myburgh, South Africa - 07 May 2012
This is a clean establishment with a cosy bar, efficient restaurant and nice décor. The huge bedroom had a great view of the mountains and the bathroom was big and reasonably modern. Will definitely stay there again.
Most welcome feel
Ronel Crouse, South Africa - 07 May 2012
Thank you to the staff of the Far Hills Country Hotel for your efficient and friendly service. We will definitely come and visit you again.
Awesome
Henk strauss, South Africa - 05 April 2012
It was so awesome to spend a bit of time at Far Hills. It is so good for the soul.
Nice
Louise Le roux, South Africa - 24 February 2012
Very nice.
Very nice room
marcel damad, South Africa - 16 January 2012
We had a very nice room, and the garden and the view were great. We left feeling good.
The best
Henk strauss, South Africa - 09 January 2012
We have stayed at many establishments, but this was just awesome. You owe it to yourself to spend a few days here. It will be good for the body, mind and mind. We will be back.
Thank you
Karlina Arlow, South Africa - 09 January 2012
We booked in a Standard Room but decided to upgrade to a better room and was given a beautiful room with a stunning view. The atmosphere at the hotel is very relaxed and the food is excellent. This is a jewel of a place!
Happy
Ulrike Wilhelm, South Africa - 09 January 2012
Absolutely wonderful. Setting is fantastic. Staff friendly and helpful. Very relaxed atmosphere. Food is great. Not too far from town and not too far from the sea.
More than I expected
JINHO KIM, South Africa - 05 November 2011
You get more than you pay for. No regrets.
Stay over
Arthur Easton, South Africa - 26 October 2011
This was one of the most enjoyable stays we had. Everyone was friendly and the place was well set up. They say that a new broom always sweeps clean I really hope this broom will continue to do so. Prieur and Izak made us feel welcome and the personnel were all great trying to cater to our strangest needs. Keep it up guys. You were great.
Nice!
Chantelle Duane, South Africa - 09 August 2011
When we arrived it looked a bit odd as we've never stayed at a hotel before. Was like home away from home. I have two toddlers and usually it's quite a mission with them, but we all really enjoyed it! The chocolate cake was to die for; I have never in my life had such an awesome slice of cake! Pierre was so nice and very accommodating. Staff was also very friendly. As I've said, home away from home. Would have loved to have stayed longer. Thanks Pierre and staff - you were great!
Far Hills Country Hotel
Jeanné Venter, South Africa - 06 April 2010
We had a superb stay Easter weekend at Far Hills Country Hotel
Fantastic
Liza Human, South Africa - 07 April 2008
My parents phoned me from the hotel on Saturday. Was very impressed with everything. Will definitely stay there again. Well done.
Enjoyable
Etjan Genis, South Africa - 31 January 2008
WE had a very enjoyable stay, pity it wasn't longer. The staff were always willing to help and always smiling.
Reservation
Patrick Nightingale, South Africa - 29 August 2006
Staff extremely friendly and attentive


Far Hills Country Hotel
Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquility of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 years old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter.

Our guests love the relaxed and informal homestead atmosphere and leave feeling recharged and valued. Breakfast is R45 per person per day.


/go/FarHillsCountryHotel/