All Comments for The Old Trading Post

Reviews 9 of 9
Very nice place
Mariam Ubilava, South Africa - 14 December 2014
I am giving five stars as this place definitely deserves five stars. Big room with fully equipped kitchen. The host is very nice. I and my husband stayed with our dog. If you are traveling with pets - definitely try to book this place.
Fantastic
Celeste Beykirch, South Africa - 11 November 2013
Absolutely fantastic. Very friendly welcome and dog loving.
Fantastic
Celeste Beykirch, South Africa - 07 July 2013
Absolutely fantastic. Very friendly welcome and big dog lovers. A must for people traveling with dogs.
Nice
Albert Theron, South Africa - 07 February 2013
The stay was okay, but will in the future look a place that include breakfast.

Establishment's response

We offer Bed and Breakfast and Self-catering accommodation, our rates differ depending on the room and option chosen. Mr Theron asked for a quote for Strelitzia Cottage - our self-catering cottage. We quoted accordingly @ R410 per person per night self-catering with breakfast optional @ R70 per person extra. The quote was accepted and the guest booked. On arrival we offered the guests breakfast at the additional fee and they declined. Our double bedrooms are R410 pppn including breakfast, had the enquiry specified a double room or B&B we would have quoted accordingly. We charge a little more for the cottage - R70 (the cost of breakfast) as it offers more for guests ie: spacious living room with full kitchen, lounge and dining areas.

We are sorry the guest gave such a low overall rating, with over 100 establishments in Wilderness listed on Safarinow to choose from, there must be something to cater for all tastes and budgets. Mr Theron must have had something else in mind. A tip for all tourists: research your accommodation well (where it is located and what it offers in: style, luxury, value, experience, pricing, etc.) before booking, this is certain to avoid any disappointment We have so many guests who love it here, some have returned as many as 31 times, their reviews and comments rate us very highly.
Old Trading Post
Heather Pfister, South Africa - 27 September 2012
What a beautiful old home and what delightful rooms. We had a super one night stay and Mike and Harja could not have done more. The breakfast was first class - thank you both so much.
Lovely location, lovely accomodation
Keith Godwin, South Africa - 04 December 2010
We had a one night stay in this fantastic guest house set at the side of a beautiful lake. Ideal for bird watchers having two great hides in quiet locations. The accommodation was exceptional. We had the Garden Cottage - the welcome and service and food were also second to none. We highly recommended this superb guest house.
Wonderful setting !
stephen Quatember, South Africa - 23 March 2010
We had a fantastic long weekend stay at the Old Trading Post. Mika and Harja are fantastic hosts, the accommodation and location are beautiful , we will definitely stay there again when visiting the Garden Route.
Old Trading Post - Garden Room
Anita Rama, South Africa - 05 January 2009
My husband and I loved staying at the Old Trading Post in the newly renovated Garden Room. We had a wonderful time. The Old Trading Post is located in a quiet but tranquil place in Wilderness and the Garden Room is perfect for a couple. The open courtyard is perfect for braais which we made use of daily! Mike and Harja, thank you for your hospitality and kindness. It was a wonderful stay and hope to visit again soon.
Wonderful Stay
Penny Hinde, South Africa - 16 July 2008
We enjoyed a wonderful stay at “The Old Trading Post”. We stayed in the newly refurbished self-catering Garden Room and it was exceedingly comfortable and homely. Mike and Harja are lovely hosts, very warm and welcoming. We definitely suggest The Old Trading Post if you are looking for accommodation in the Wilderness area and surrounds. We will be back.


The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post is situated about 6km from Wilderness in a rural setting in the heart of the Lakes District. We offer fully equipped self catering or Bed Breakfast accommodation in peace natural surroundings with abundant bird life. The Old Trading Post is a historical home which served as a General Dealer Store for many years.

It is an ideal place to stay whilst your discover and enjoy the Garden Route's natural beauty and all the popular tourist attractions and beaches, it is centrally situated for golfers to try out at the local golf courses from Mossel Bay to Plettenberg Bay. Wilderness National Park surrounds The Old Trading Post and offers bird watching, hiking, canoeing and power boats are allowed on Island Lake nearby.


/go/TheOldTradingPost/