All Comments for Catembe Gallery Hotel

Reviews 18 of 18
Good time
neerawathie govender, South Africa - 12 January 2013
It was not an experience I expected as I had a few minor hurdles, but I had a good time and the staff were very helpful.
Good
Jan White, New Zealand - 10 January 2013
Very remote as you need to catch a busy ferry from Maputo, nothing else around, just village. Hotel is okay but surroundings are very African. Wait staff were excellent and well trained. A pity that they kept running out of some food and alcohol as the city is just across the river. Lovely restaurant and bar on pier and pool was good. Would recommend if you want nice views and nothing to do but relax and eat. Marisol cocktail was good.
Rubbish
Mpho Khalema, South Africa - 05 January 2013
This was a waste of our money and what a headache. Ferry business was such an inconvenience. Bed was broken. Place is old and needs a lot of work. Very very dirty. Smells. Gave such a bad impression of Mozambique. Advertisement was so misleading. Feel robbed!
Loved the atmosphere
Udesh Ramparsad, South Africa - 05 May 2012
Neat hotel, good value for money in comparison to other hotels nearby. Rooms can be better, especially the shower and toilet set-up - no shower curtain, can be messy. Loved the restuarant on the pier. The best experience by far, especially the breakfast was very good and the staff were excellent. Stayed for 2 nights instead of 1 night.
Our forth anniversary breakaway
thando Moiloa, South Africa - 03 April 2012
What a beautiful retreat nestled in a small cove. It was our little slice of heaven and just what my husband and I needed to make our forth wedding anniversary - memorable.
Hmmm... do your homework first
Jonathan de Magalhaes, South Africa - 11 February 2012
A very, very basic hotel. The only way to get to this hotel is via a ferry, which costs 270 METS one way if you are taking your vehicle. The ferry only leaves at certain times - be sure you aren't stranded for an hour.
Nice place
raymon kane, South Africa - 06 February 2012
We stayed in small room with air-conditioning, and was clean. It was small but fine. The restaurant staff was friendly.
Filthy hotel
Mthembeni Dlamini, South Africa - 01 November 2011
This was another experience. The hotel look great from the pictures. Getting there is the story. The taxi that fetched us was terrible. Travelling on a terrible gravel road. the hotel has some funny smell. The guy at the reception asked us to pay the balance, but we indicated that we were not happy about the place, but he insisted that we pay the balance wheather we sleep there or not. he even said if we like we can go to Maputo and collect four people from the street to sleep at the hotel for two nights. He was nutty. We took and shower and then left to look for a better accommodation in Maputo after paying the balance and we lost R2440 again.
Awesome experience!
Joyce Moremi, South Africa - 10 May 2011
The first trip we took out of the country, and it was amazing. The people there are so friendly and kind and always give a helping hand. It was a home away from home. The front office manager, Leo Chamussa, was so welcoming. The chef did wonders - we even took a second plate of prawns - fresh from the sea. The bartender offered us a brazilian drink - it was wonderful. The rooms were spacious and beautiful. The view of the sea and the bar being right in the water, was our biggest highlight of the hotel. The ferry rides were awesome, what a huge boat! Our next trip will be sooner than later and next time, with friends.
Great Stay
Joop Van Jaarsveld, South Africa - 28 March 2011
I wanted to take my wife somewhere exotic and relaxing for her birthday and Catembe surpassed my expectations! We were treated with such hospitality and service, it felt like we were the only people on their minds. The chefs prepared a cake for our dinner and we were overwhelmed with kindness. The managers were more than accommodating with our requests and went the extra mile on making us feel like VIP's, even though we were on a shoestring budget! It was one of the best hotel experiences I've had in the whole of Southern Africa!
The Johnsons amazing weekend
Muriel Johnson, South Africa - 20 October 2010
When we boarded the ferry for the first time, we thought that we made a huge mistake by selecting Catembe as a break away. It was the longest 3 kilometer drive of my life from Maputo to Catembe. But upon our arrival at the hotel, Leo and the other staff made us feel at home. We had a welcoming drink, and soon we felt more relaxed. We just stood on the balcony and got carried away by the amazing view. The food is out of this world, Big thumbs up to the chef. The experience we had in Maputo with our tour through town were exceptional, since we visit a number of historical buildings. I will most definitely recommend Catembe Gallery to friends and family. And yes I will visit again soon.
Quick breakaway
Anonymous, South Africa - 11 August 2010
This was a very exciting and learning experience for us as this was the first time we visited Mozambique. To get to the hotel by car was not as easy as I thought but when we arrived at the hotel everything was of the highest standards, good accommodation with stunning views and any food ordered from the menu was of very high quality. The local beers are also recommended. The hotel is happy to arrange any activity that you want to do while visiting, and helped us with the transport and to get tickets for the boat trip to Inhaca Island. Just sad the long weekend is so short.
Good
Dineo Letswele, South Africa - 15 June 2010
Thank you for the great service with safari now, we will definitely use you often. The stay at Catembe was good, Leo the front man was superb. We however didn't have hot water in the room but we understand things happen and they made another plan. However I must be honest in adding that except the beautiful view and Leo's warm service, Catembe can do better, the linen is too cheap and blanket unpleasantly smelling. The towels and mats old and rough. When we told our fellow Moz friends we were coming up, they pleaded we dont come up, however we changed it to 1 night to get our own opinion. We would have liked to refer our friends from SA because it ìs away from the hustle of Moz city and supposed to be relaxing. Come on Catembe you can do better.
Lovely views
Anonymous, South Africa - 06 December 2009
The site and the views are absolutely lovely. The hotel is okay, nothing special, service and food is okay, but not more than okay.
Great
Marcel Breedt, South Africa - 09 November 2009
Great accommodation and staff went out of their way to make our stay as pleasurable as possible.
Not as good as expected
Anonymous, South Africa - 12 August 2009
The overall feel from the website that we got was that it will be like an island resort. But was a bit disappointed. There is really nothing to do in Catembe unless you drive 3km back to the ferry and go back to Maputo. The R600 'budget' rooms were tiny and the TV was not working. Bathroom facilities were not hygienic. However the Marisol restaurant was fantastic and the prawns were surpurb!
The Catembe Gallery Hotel is great.
Matthew Turner, South Africa - 02 May 2009
The rooms have a great view over the bay looking into Maputo. Rooms are a nice size and enable you to move around and do stuff. Everyroom had a balcony that was also great. The ferry crossing maybe a really long wait (we waited 2hours just to get on) but the way the guys pack vehicles on is incredible and quite an experience in the end. If you looking for a well priced place to stay (for one night or more) this is the spot. Clean, friendly and brilliant.
Catembe Review
Mike Levey, South Africa - 30 December 2005
Was very relaxing. Not too many things to do. Seems more of a stop-over place on the way to another destination. Rooms and the hotel are well decorated with some interesting local artwork. Staff very friendly and helpful


Catembe Gallery Hotel
Catembe Gallery Hotel features fifteen luxury rooms that are individually decorated by leading Mozambican artists. All rooms face the Indian Ocean and boast panoramic views of the Maputo skyline. As you enter your room, you will be amazed by the view from your private balcony, as well as the original African artwork displayed for your appreciation. All rooms feature an en-suite bathroom with a Jacuzzi. For the travelling corporate, two rooms have also been equipped with a separate work area. Wireless Internet and conference centre available.

For those who prefer a real home away from home holiday, we offer two penthouses that are ideal for larger groups, families or longer-term stays. They are fully equipped and serviced, so that you have the choice of self-catering or using the hotel facilities.

In Portuguese times, dining on prawns at Marisol was a must around Lourenço Marques, and we are proud to continue this long-standing tradition. Today, you can dine on the freshest seafood delicacies and Indian Ocean cuisine. For Sunday brunch, our chef will also tempt you with the best traditional Mozambican dishes. Domingo no Marisol is becoming a must in town for the Maputo residents and tourists picking up the vibe with locally famous live bands. The bar was designed and decorated by an inspired young African artist, who chose to design a surreal landscape. The end effect is a perfect antidote to the stress of city life and invitation to let your thoughts float away on an exotic journey along the shores of East Africa. Why not sample the famous "Catembe" punch that originated here, and check out the regular live art exhibitions and music performances. We pack picnic baskets for your excursions or boating trips, and when you return, our cooks will be glad to prepare for you the fish you have caught, while you watch. Or why not prepare it yourself at our outdoor barbecue while you enjoy a sundowner from the pool bar.

Most of our guests enjoy the opportunity to relax by the pool or stroll on the beach. However, Catembe is also an opportunity to discover a world of fascinating contrasts and natural beauty to the rhythm of the authentic village lifestyle. Attractions include hiking trails, birding trails and quad bike trails with local guides. A topper is our day trip to the Maputo Elephant Reserve where one can watch elephants, hippos, crocodiles, flamingos and the most stunning high dunes and deserted beaches. We will also be happy to arrange boating trips for game fishing, diving or snorkelling, or a picnic on a deserted beach on Inhaca and Portuguese islands. The marine life and coral surrounding these islands are among the most pristine in the world.

Catembe is the perfect base from which to explore the nearby Maputo Elephant Reserve that is famed for its bird life and elephants and slated as a potential Natural World Heritage Site. Catembe Gallery Hotel commits itself to help protect this amazing natural heritage and will tailor its excursions to meet the strictest environmental and ecological standards. For those who travel further afield, Catembe Gallery Hotel is a gateway to the renown game and nature reserves of Swaziland and KwaZulu-Natal, including the future Maputaland Transfrontier conservation area. The Maputo Special Reserve is one of the most beautiful and yet poorly known conservation areas in Southern Africa. The large variety of habitats includes mangrove forest, tidal wetlands, large treeless grass plains and dense sand forest. This mosaic of biomes supports an impressive diversity of plants, bird species, elephants, hippos, crocodiles and antelope. More than 200 elephants were recorded in 2002; on our trips we use local guides and rangers who have high sighting rates.


/go/CatembeGalleryHotelMaputo/