All Comments for Bushwise Safari Lodge

Reviews 60 of 60
konforti iris, Israel - 28 April 2014
All in all a nice place. Not enough attention to details that could make a difference. The staff were attentive and the sounds of hippos, elephants and other animals strolling outside the lodge is nice. A very interesting half-day game tour.
AMAZING experience in an AMAZING place!
Kaitlin Roach, United States of America - 11 November 2013
A group of us stayed here in early Nov. 2013 and had the best time. We did the four day/3 night special and it was such a great value. The food, the owners, the staff, the facilities, etc. were all so much more than we expected. Dinners took place in the boma outside under the stars and was such a great unexpected touch. Donald was our guide and he was fun to be around, and great at making sure we saw the Big 5 and SO much more. In addition to seeing so many amazing animals, we learned a lot on the tours, and also were able to really relax and enjoy the gorgeous views and wine from the veranda and pool. Highly recommend this place, the pictures do not do such a great place/people justice!
Great place
Caroline Schaer, Mozambique - 29 January 2013
Great place and very friendly staff.
Very good
matthews aphane, South Africa - 10 January 2013
Great location, nice view of crocodile river, nice clean rooms, plus the staff are both friendly and extremely helpful,the Kruger national park tour and explanation was excellent, would definitely recommend Bushwise Safari lodge to others.”
Excellent quality in a tranquil location
Steven Macek, Australia - 14 October 2012
We found Bushwise Safari Lodge to be a most relaxing place from which to spend a few days exploring Kruger Park and surrounds. The staff and guides were knowledgable and always happy to answer questions or assist with arranging activities.
Wonderful, relaxing stay!
Rachel Fouche, South Africa - 22 August 2012
Thanks, we enjoyed our stay very much. Falling asleep while the lions roar makes you feel you are really in the African bush. The game drive was also awesome!
Great escape to some peace!
Benita Van Aardt, South Africa - 12 July 2012
Great view! Great food! Met some nice people from all different countries. Very peaceful there. One way to find your peace there.
A perfect place to enjoy a sundowner at the beautifull terrace
Klaus Merckens, Germany - 04 April 2012
We stayed only one night after quite an extraordinary trip through Kruger Park. We enjoyed the place very very much and the wonderful dinner prepared outside was extraordinary as the views form the terraces into the park. A must stay for any traveller interested in the Crocodile River Park area.
Totally awesome
Alex Henderson, United Kingdom - 13 January 2011
We stayed here for our honeymoon and our only regret is that we didn't stay longer! Beautiful setting, the dinners in the boma are simply magical and all the staff first class.
Fantastic time
Raewyn Anderson, New Zealand - 08 July 2010
We had a fantastic time at Bushwise Safari Lodge and thoroughly recommend staying there to anyone! Annette has some great stories and jokes. We hope to return some day soon!
We loved our stay
Anonymous, South Africa - 06 May 2010
"We loved our stay here. Very personal and beautiful. Dylan was a fantastic guide, full of interesting information and always available and easy going. Great dining outside with the fire going, or having a cold beer in the pool looking over the river."
Recommended
Avelino Andres Alvarez, South Africa - 20 November 2009
excellent
Elegant Bush experience
Anonymous, South Africa - 30 August 2009
The lodge was absolute luxury. The rooms were elegant overlooking the crocodile river. we definitely recommend the upperdeck rooms. we had full 5 star service and Dylan our ranger gave us a cool early morning safari showing us the big 5 and cooked for us an awesome English breakfast at the waterhole. supper was great as well. all you need at this lodge are your clothes. everything else is provided here!
Our stay was wonderful.
Anonymous, South Africa - 14 August 2009
We were greeted by three zebra's at the front door. The house was comfortable and one feels at home. The meals were fantastic and we ate outside by a fire listening to the animals. Our room was great and had a nice view of the river. Dylan the ranger was wonderful and had a keen eye for the animals. We saw 4 of the Big 5 on the first day. His knowledge was enlightening. We made new friends and memories for life. I would recommend Bushwise to anyone.
Bushwise
Dave Deboer, United States of America - 08 August 2009
We had a great time ! The food was very good and we seen Zebra Hippo, monkey, warthog, waterbuck, wildebeest, impala around the lodge and walking the fence line. The best was the job Dylon did as our guide for the safari and all the animals we saw (12 lions and 2 cubs). Only negative was that the rooms were a little noisy.
Bushwise--great stay
Anonymous, South Africa - 12 June 2009
Great view of crocodile river from the upper deck (recommend trying to get the rooms on the second floor). In the early evening, saw giraffes, elephants, and even a hippo out of the water. Hosts are fantastic. Dinner under the stars was wonderful. We enjoyed using the lodge's own guide and vehicle for the daytime safari in Kruger. It was an excellent place to stay for a quick trip to Kruger.
Wonderful time
Kim Jury, South Africa - 28 April 2009
We stayed over at Bushwise for 3 nights and 4 days, and had a wonderful time. Everyone was very friendly, accommodation very comfortable and Anette was very helpful and accommodating. Deff a place to visit again. Love the homely atmosphere. Regards Kim
Absolutely amazing!
Lyn Watt, South Africa - 01 March 2009
Tim and Annette are wonderful hosts - the setting was perfect, the food fantastic and just the whole experience was unforgettable.
Loved it
Roger Carr, United States of America - 04 December 2008
We loved staying at Bushwise and will definitely consider booking again when we come back, which we will.
Location was fantastic
Jihee Ko, United Kingdom - 26 November 2008
Hospitality was first class. safari schedules were very flexible to suit every guest's need, which made a huge difference. Costs were nothing in comparison with what you can get out of here. we stayed 4nts and we really enjoyed it. Try their website to check out more offers Location was fantastic and it overlooks crocodile river in kruger part where sometimes animals come and drink water. also it is in the reserve area so we could see the animals grazing while we were driving to lodge. Thanks very much
Fantastic stay
Jackie Albasini, United States of America - 24 November 2008
Thanks Tim for a fantastic stay at Bushwise. From the Warthog greeting, to the sounds of Lion roaring at night, to the prolific birdlife, to the fantastic views from upstairs bar area to the yummy food and comfy bedrooms - we couldn't fault anything. We loved the family of visiting Mongoose as well....... I think the best is just being able to sit and look out over the Crocodile River and watch the animals come down to drink..... pure magic!
Very good
Nomasonto Sethusa, South Africa - 30 September 2008
Our stay was memorable and adventurous. We had a great time away from the city.
Traveling as a family of four adults
s butler, United Kingdom - 30 September 2008
Everything was even better than our expectations.
Awesome !
estelle van der horst, South Africa - 01 September 2008
Recommend Bushwise Safari Lodge
We had a wonderful time!
Anonymous, South Africa - 29 August 2008
The lodge is in a beautiful setting overlooking Kruger and we heard animals outside our door each night. The food was excellent. We saw plenty of animals on our game drive and our guide (Frank) was extremely knowledgeable.
My recommendation is 6 STARS!!
Washington Acioly, Brazil - 22 July 2008
All I have to say is that I am very thankful to all the staff at Bushwise for the wonderful warm welcome and how much they cared about every single detail so that my stay was the best as possible. I felt totally at home and I`m already missing being there. Ludovic (our guide on the day game drive) knew exactly where to go so that we were able to see the game ahead of everyone and for cooking a nice breakfast to all of us. I felt very much pampered with the dinners at the boma! Thank you all very much for making me feel very much at home. I`ll certainly go back again next year and will bring my friends along. My recommendation is 6 STARS!!
Very good
Gordon Huntly, Thailand - 20 May 2008
Our stay at Bushwise was excellent - Tim and Peter were perfect hosts committed to helping ensure that we got the most out of our safari experience given the time we had available. Nothing was too much trouble for them and their staff. Many thanks!
Great place
Eric Greenawalt, United States of America - 16 April 2008
Great place. Tim and his colleagues were very helpful. The game viewing was great--full day game drives were actually full day, Ludvig was an excellent guide, and I had several excellent sightings including all of the big 5 (I did the all inclusive package which included the night drive and bushwalk, which I´d recommend as those included some very good sightings including the lions). The lodge was very nice, not a luxury hotel but nicer than I expected for what I paid. Food was family style, very good quality and quantity. The place seemed to be a great value to me--I doubt you could stay anyplace nicer without spending much more. Two things that didn´t bother me, but you should be aware of--there is no TV in the rooms, and you have to be ready to leave by 5 am for the game drives or risk missing out (not necessarily a lot of flexibility there even if you are a group), and they last until 6:30 pm. So not the best place to arrive tired or directly from far away.
Recommended
Kim Harreskov, Denmark - 01 April 2008
The stay was excellent and did fully comply with our expectations.
Very good
jan Longnell, Sweden - 30 March 2008
A very nice stay at the Bushwise Safari Lodge. A welcoming atmosphere together with a well organized planning for the safari tours.
Very good
Bill Van Geert, South Africa - 25 March 2008
If you love the Kruger National Park and quietness of the bush then this place is a must.
Recommended
Henry Thom, United Kingdom - 16 March 2008
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bushwise, they were very good to us and they could not do enough for us. I would not hesitate to stay again.
Had the best time
Anonymous, South Africa - 13 March 2008
We had a fantastic time, saw the big five and the little five and all in between. The accommodation was great and we had just the best time ever.
Wondeful experience
Audrey Perino, United States of America - 01 March 2008
We really enjoyed the Bushwise Safari Lodge. Hein was a fantastic guide and it was a wonderful first safari experience.
I warmly recommend it!
Anonymous, South Africa - 14 January 2008
I had a fantastic two days at Bushwise Safari Lodge. It was a complete experience with a quite amazing atmosphere at the lodge, experienced and friendly guides, and a great safari experience. In the evening they cooked a fantastic meal, which we all sat and ate outside.
Great stay
DAVID LANCASTER, - 29 October 2007
Great stay Friendly staff - excellent accommodation and location. Brilliant game drives - will stay again.
Fantastic place to stay
Lisa Forknall, Australia - 16 October 2007
The room, staff, meals and safari trips into Kruger were outstanding. The staff are very passionate about the animals and the park and it really showed. The lodge was set out perfectly with lots of African knick knacks.
The location was wonderful,
Cathy Walker, Canada - 22 September 2007
As a single woman travelling alone, (and a vegetarian, to boot) I was absolutely delighted with the time I had at Bushwise Safari Lodge. The location was wonderful, right across from Kruger Park, so I saw 3 of the Big 5 on the first afternoon by walking along the fence! The guides were excellent so I saw so many more animals on the game drives than if I'd tried to visit the park by myself. The food was great and the room very comfortable. Thanks!
Bushwise
Lorella Coretti, Italy - 22 August 2007
Just simply AMAZING Everyone was so kind and so punctual All the safaris were done professionally and were really enjoyable
Perfect weekend
John Kemble, South Africa - 20 August 2007
The lodge, with its setting close to the river, allows you to view game in the Kruger park from the serenity of the pool deck, or to take a walk at your own pace along the river for several kilometres, obviously protected by the game fence.We enjoyed the independence and excitement of this walk and saw elephant, buffalo, waterbuck, impala, hippo, crocs, fisheagles, herons, monkeys and giraffe. Night and day drives in the park itself are just half an hour away and we saw a wide variety of animals. The southern area of the park around the lodge is to my mind more beautiful than the north section. The lodge itself is very comfortable, and small enough to create a personal ambiance, the staff are friendly, helpful,and arrangements are very flexible to enable you to do as much or as little as you want to. You wont find better.
Bushwise lodge-a very good time
martin kohlpoth, Germany - 09 August 2007
Fantastic game drive, very nice people and the lodge is wonderfully situated.
Great stay
Anonymous - 31 July 2007
Had a great time albeit too short. The hospitality was very welcoming, great location, clean and well appointed. Would definitely recommnend the lodge for people that want a smaller, more personal experience.
Very personal experience of Safari nowadays
Irina Hernandez, Germany - 20 April 2007
We had an enjoyable 4 nights stay at Bushwise Safari. Besides the great location and delicious dinner we would like to mention that the hosts Tim and Heinrich made us forget that we were their clients. They did not only share their broad knowledge and passion about wildlife during the trips into the Kruger Park but also spend a lot of time telling interesting stories and answering all kind of questions a foreigner may have at the bar or campfire. They also managed to integrate the different guests so that we were sad to leave and say goodbye to the new friends we made.
Great!
Luis Vizurraga, United States of America - 11 February 2007
Tim and his staff made the difference for me. The Lodge itself is nice, but the unsurpassed service of all the personnel was just wonderful. Would recommend staying here to my friends!
What and experience!
Scott Lakey, Sweden - 21 December 2006
My wife and I had the experience of a lifetime with the folks at Bushwise. Friendly and very knowledgeable. With the Jeeps and their knowledge we saw most of the big 5 in the first day plus much more. Great food and the rooms were fabulous. What was I thinking when I first considered going around in a rental car. Would have seen very little. I would highly recommend Bushwise to any of my friends and actually I already have and the also had a great experience. Scott
We recommend
lars ohman, Sweden - 17 September 2006
We recommend Tim`s lodge to all our friends who after our telling all want to make a safari tour.
Fab time at Bushwise Safari Lodge
Mr L Kelly, United Kingdom - 14 August 2006
Tim was the perfect host - nothing was too much trouble and the food and accomodation were of the highest order. Heinrich is a superb safari guide - the two drives we made into Kruger were outstanding. We are looking forward to the next time!
Fantastic
mirza saleem baig, Pakistan - 10 August 2006
Fantastic is the word that explains our experience of Bushwise Safari Lodge. Tim was a great host. Not many people see the big 5 in one day, but we did thanks to Henreich.
My stay in bushwise safari lodge
NORAZ serge, France - 25 July 2006
Was a great stay, enjoyed it very much and Tim is a very nice guy ! Will comeback for sure and when the swimming pool will be completed it will be like the Heaven. Serge (France)
Our experience at Bushwise Safari Lodge
Michael Conte, United States of America - 18 July 2006
Bushwise Safari Lodge was an unexpected surprise. During our three night stay, Tim and his staff were very friendly, welcoming and made our time at Bushwise extremely comfortable. Our room was clean and decorated with different African artwork. We had a balcony that overlooked the Croc. River and were able to see a group of elephants drinking in the river when we first arrived. The food was excellent and was accompanied by very good South African wines. The dinner was served in three courses per night. Since this lodge was more personalized than other lodges, when we took our safari drives, my wife and I were the only ones on the safari drive which made it feel like it was set up solely for us. We saw a ton of animals and Heinz was very informed about the park and it's wildlife. Tim arranges visits to the village, (which was a little cheesy), and night drives with the Kruger rangers. The only negative aspect of the lodge was that there was that we didn't have acces to a TV or radio, if that's even such a bad thing. It was a quiet, relaxing stay and we would recommend this lodge to anyone trying to leave the city for a nice relaxing vacation, game viewing and great food.
A grand lodge with personal attention
Robin Storer, Australia - 11 May 2006
The personal attention we received at the Safari Lodge complemented the very comfortable accommodation and interesting and delicious meals. The bar area is fun ...under a thatched roof one overlooks the crocodile river and a short walk from the lodge showed us a crocodile, a hippo and a buffalo!
fantastic !!!
Anonymous - 18 April 2006
We stayed at Bushwise Safari Lodge for 3 nights. Overall, the place is incredible, the rooms are lovely and hospitality is of the highest level (they even washed and ironed our clothes as a surprise !). Dinners by the fire were lovely, with our hosts dining with us and having wonderful conversations. I really recommend this place to anyone going to Kruger Park. The only disadvantage is that once you exit Kruger Park at crocodile bridge gate, you have to drive for 20 minutes to the lodge, most of them on roads which are in a very bad shape. Also, I would recommend giving out a price list in the bar. Other than that, the lodge was really magnificent, and we thank Tim and his staff for making this a great Kruger experience for us.
Bushing in style...
lerato sekgonyane, South Africa - 21 December 2005
Super, super establishment. The lovely hospitality of the Bushwise team (Cooking and cleaning staff, Tim and Heinrich) thanx guys. A true african feel in luxury, the view of the lodge is excellent, as for the game drive - was too nice.
Nice and personal stay
Rene Larsen, Denmark - 23 November 2005
The lodge was very personal and we felt like part of the family (or at least friends of the family) during our stay at the Bushwise Safari Lodge. Our hosts did everything to make us feel comfortable and get as many experiences as possible. They shared from their experiences in a nice and relaxed way. The eating outside in the evenings and having traditional South African food, was very interesting and made the stay even more interesting. We can warmly recommend this lodge to others, who wish a small lodge with a close and friendly atmosphere.
perfect stay
jeroen teijsen, Netherlands - 19 November 2005
The lodge was just what we expected. Everything was very nice and our host Tim is the man you want to have there, a really perfect host. The complete atmosphere of staying in the bush is what we wanted and what we got. Compliments to Tim
5-7 Oct 2005
Anonymous - 27 October 2005
Tim and Staff especially welcoming and very helpful. Accommodation very comfortable and relaxing, casual atmosphere. Meals good - tasty and well presented. Services - efficient and professionally carried out. Game drives - extremely good with very knowledgeable & friendly guide who is a good cook also! Would certainly return and recommend Bushwise.
Fantastic Lodge
viviane maquire, Australia - 24 August 2005
I can only highly recommend this lodge. it is absolutely value for money. The cuisine is fantastic, the lodge and the room is very clean and tidy. The Swaziland Tour is a must for everybody who wants to know more about the african culture and see something different. The trips into Kruger are very interesting and the guides have a lot of knowledge and are happy to share it.
Bushwise Safari Lodge
Georgina and Ian Ellis, New Zealand - 13 August 2005
Tim has a great thing going at Bushwise Safari Lodge. The food was simple but extremely tasty and lots of it. Our room was really clean and well appointed. Our driver/guide, Kinette, was superb and an asset to the Bushwise team. Tim's hospitality after the days drives was friendly and entertaining. We wouldn't hestitate to encourage others to visit this lodge to experience the ambience, charm and adventures we had.
Brilliant
Lyn and Werner Heystek , South Africa - 27 July 2005
We had a brilliant week-end with great food and a fantastic ambiance. Compliments to Tim and his team. Kinette and Heinrich made you feel comfortable and at home on arrival. The accomodation was comfortable and clean. I will recommend it and hopefully be returing next winter. Once again thank you for a really good week-end getaway.
Excellent
Anonymous - 05 July 2005
I had a wonderful experience at Bushwise Safari Lodge. The trip to Mozambique was the highlight of my trip. The Lodge and food were great!


Bushwise Safari Lodge
Situated on the banks of the Crocodile River overlooking the Kruger National Park, Bushwise Safari Lodge combines the real Kruger-safari experience with luxurious accommodation - boasting a unique ambiance true to the safari adventure you are seeking.

Watch the Kruger National Park and the Crocodile River, where a variety of wildlife often drink at the water’s edge, at your leisure from the comfort of your vantage point on the upper deck, bar area or swimming pool. Become part of the African night and hear the roar of lions, the call of hyenas and the grunting of hippos coming from the dark.

From our safari lodge base, we offer our guests the thrill of personalized safari excursions into Kruger in our open-safari vehicle to seek out the Big 5 and experience all the wonders of this unique eco-system. The south eastern part of Kruger, where we operate, is well known for its superb game viewing with frequent sightings of lion and leopard.

We offer a variety of safari activities as well as excursions to suit every taste, timetable and pocket - from walks with an armed guide, half day safaris, night safaris, birdwatching walks and tiger fishing on the Komati River, to excursions to places of interest in the area, as well as the neighboring states of Mozambique and Swaziland.

Guest may book our dinner bed & breakfast option of R980.00 per person sharing per night, or our all-inclusive package of R2180 per person sharing per night. Our all-inclusive package includes accommodation for one night, all meals and return transfer from the airport in Nelspruit as well as one activity for each night booked at the lodge.

The entire lodge can also be booked for the private use of eight to ten persons, with discounted prices on request. All rates exclude beverages and alcohol.


/go/BushwiseSafarisLodge/